HVAC Guys Quick Question w/Pic - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 20th, 2005, 10:45 PM   #1
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default HVAC Guys Quick Question w/Pic

Ok, first off, sorry for this crappy pic, drew it in like 5 minutes for a general idea...

We have an addition on the back of our house on the main floor (not the one labeled addition in the pic) The problem is that when the furnace is on, the heat just barely blows out. So tonight i went and got the Home Depot special, inline duct booster. For an 8" duct. I installed that (mind u this is like a 10" duct, and they didn't have anything bigger) .It helps out some, but not really. 500 cfm rating, which dosn't seem like that much to me, but maybe it is? I mean it does help out, but not like id hoped. Are there any ideas u guys have. This is the last duct in the trunkline so its already at a loss. Ive tried closing other stuff off just to see, and it really dosn't seem to help.



Thanx
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 20th, 2005, 10:54 PM   #2
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Outside of trying to get more cfm of supply air to the room, you need a good return. Does this room have a return duct? That is almost more important than the supply duct.

If a booster didn't help much, I don't know what will. But, I do HVAC/R on an industrial level, not so much residential.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 11:00 PM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no it dosn't, not that i know of anyways. It has a catherdrial (sp) ceiling too, which also dosnt help. So the return, does that kinda "suck" the hot air in?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 11:04 PM   #4
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Yes, really, it is just as important as putting air in.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 11:09 PM   #5
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yea the room really isn't closed up, so it can breath ok, but it gets so cold out there, we have a nice fireplace in the room also, but we go through a ton of wood
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 11:41 PM   #6
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,369
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Default

get rid of the flex duct and go with heater duct. Flex duct has a lot of loss. It may not cure the problem, but it will help a little.
JohnnyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 06:53 AM   #7
Cube
Captain of my pants
 
Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 4,158
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn
Outside of trying to get more cfm of supply air to the room, you need a good return. Does this room have a return duct? That is almost more important than the supply duct.

If a booster didn't help much, I don't know what will. But, I do HVAC/R on an industrial level, not so much residential.
word
Cube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 01:06 PM   #8
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,376
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

haha this is a problem That I have in the summer with my central air... I dont have it with the heat in the winter, only my problem is getting the cold air upstairs. I have 2 4" ducts to my upstairs, trying the booster in the summer. I hope it will work, It was a first that I had seen flex duct like that ran in the walls, I found it humorous when i took the covers off...

though my house was originally gravity heat :tonka:
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 01:44 PM   #9
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81
haha this is a problem That I have in the summer with my central air... I dont have it with the heat in the winter, only my problem is getting the cold air upstairs. I have 2 4" ducts to my upstairs, trying the booster in the summer. I hope it will work, It was a first that I had seen flex duct like that ran in the walls, I found it humorous when i took the covers off...

though my house was originally gravity heat :tonka:
Cold air is heavier than hot air, so you will have an easier time heating a 2 story than cooling it. In this case, this is where booster fans help the most.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:38 PM   #10
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,354
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just a stupid thought. We have a 2500 sq.foot home with an additional 1300 sq.foot basement. In the beginning we had no air pressure to the second floor. What I found, I shut most the registers everywhere in the house except the second floor. This forces the air to those peripheral areas and doesn't seem to impact the temperature at the rest of the house, probably due to proximity to the furnace. It was a very simple solution.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:48 PM   #11
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Yes, what you did was balance your system. You equated heat load/lose to CFM needed.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 03:08 PM   #12
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,376
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn
Cold air is heavier than hot air, so you will have an easier time heating a 2 story than cooling it. In this case, this is where booster fans help the most.
I know this thats why I have not been worried about the lack of heat coming through those ducts right now
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 07:08 PM   #13
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

These are all good solutions, just one problem, i can't change over to duct without a LOT of trouble, more than its worth actually. The addition has a small crawl space, nothing i want to get into during the summer, let alone winter.....

The booster after one day seems to have helped a little, so i will probably hard wire it tomorrow, instead of the temp. cord i have pluggin in
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 07:10 PM   #14
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn
Yes, what you did was balance your system. You equated heat load/lose to CFM needed.
Shawn, is there an easy way to do this to a house?

You know of a website?

or any insight?
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 07:37 PM   #15
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

the one thing I seem to see most often is that people don't know they dampers on their duct work,so if you see there are short levers with a wingnut in the middle of the duct works, take note as to witch way their pointing, if its crosswise to the duct its shut and if its pointing down its length its open, try and see if you have them and see if somebody closed the ones to the rooms that are cold
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 10:02 PM   #16
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker
Shawn, is there an easy way to do this to a house?

You know of a website?

or any insight?

In a house it's all trail and error, by feel. On this campus, we have balance engineers we work with to get things right. Many things are taken into consideration. Many places have such a heat load that they require cooling year round. Others don't. A house isn't that complicated to figure out, just keep adjusting things until you get it comfy and pretty equal through the house.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 10:08 PM   #17
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,354
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn
In a house it's all trail and error, by feel. On this campus, we have balance engineers we work with to get things right. Many things are taken into consideration. Many places have such a heat load that they require cooling year round. Others don't. A house isn't that complicated to figure out, just keep adjusting things until you get it comfy and pretty equal through the house.
Ha, that's pretty funny. Over the past couple years I have had the powerhouse guy (the other Shawn) to my office at least a dozen times and it is never right. I either sweat or freeze.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 10:14 PM   #18
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amc78cj7
Ha, that's pretty funny. Over the past couple years I have had the powerhouse guy (the other Shawn) to my office at least a dozen times and it is never right. I either sweat or freeze.

Not to belittle my bud, but he is niether a HVAC/R Tech, nor a balance engineer. I'll give you a visit after the break.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 10:35 PM   #19
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,354
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

That was my old office. Now that my office has been ATS'd it's no longer a concern
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 11:05 PM   #20
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amc78cj7
That was my old office. Now that my office has been ATS'd it's no longer a concern
I guess ATS was good for something
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.32567 seconds with 80 queries