What web browser do you use? PC - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2013, 08:24 AM   #1
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default What web browser do you use? PC

I've always used Chrome...however, I notice in task manager it will have 4 or 5 Chrome listed all taking up a good chunk of memory.

Really runs slow here on campus.

I just installed Firefox and it runs much quicker.

So, what do you use?
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 9th, 2013, 08:27 AM   #2
8PTBUCK
Stuntman Mike
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,655
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Default

I use Chrome at work and home. Much better than Firefox and IE IMO.
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 08:36 AM   #3
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,353
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

IE on work computer, chrome or IE on home computer.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 08:41 AM   #4
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Chrome at home, work and on my phone. No problems here
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 08:42 AM   #5
jroberts#77
Fuck there goes the trans
 
jroberts#77's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-15-11
Location: milford mi
Posts: 257
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

chrome on everything
jroberts#77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:03 AM   #6
ajmorell
Senior Member
 
ajmorell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-22-07
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 3,540
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ajmorell
Default

Chrome at home and on my phone, firefox at work. I hate firefox but we don't have a choice.
ajmorell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:09 AM   #7
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,353
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

we should just make this topic a sticky since it comes up about 10 times a year
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:28 AM   #8
vr
Senior Member
 
vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: NotMichigan U.S.A.
Posts: 3,679
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Firefox from portableapps.com
vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:39 AM   #9
jbsjunk
Wheelies
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 15,248
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Default

Firefox for the last 10 years.
jbsjunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:39 AM   #10
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,955
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Firefox at work and Home, with a few extensions, samples below:

• Adblock+ - ad/script blocker
• DownloadHelper
• DownThemAll
• Flashblock - blocks auto-play youtube in various forums, as well as the annoying flash advertisements that tend to autoplay
• FlashGot - similar to the other download helpers - multiple options sometimes is helpful
• Ghostery - ad/script blocker
• IEView - sometimes IE is needed, if in a hurry can open a new tab and view IE encapsulated within firefox instead of opening a separate session
• NoScript - ad/script blocker
• PixlrGrabber <-- great for screen grabbing, or "printing" pages when they have various chicanery trying to prevent you from doing so
• StumbleUpon - yeah, sometimes a diversion is necessary - I use it also sometimes to "bookmark" useful sites so I can easily access them from elsewhere
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:41 AM   #11
rammanriley
Senior Member
 
rammanriley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-11
Location: Macomb twp
Posts: 600
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

In the past it was always Firefox but now I use chrome on everything. ( pc , phone,tablet and iPod touch)
__________________
96 Ram 1500 ECSB 5.9l v8 4x4 On 35's
13 Dart Aero (turbo go fast)
rammanriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 09:48 AM   #12
Smiley
Senior Member
 
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-26-05
Location: Byron Center
Posts: 805
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

IE on work computer, IE on home computer.
Smiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 01:27 PM   #13
Coyote Red
Senior Member
 
Coyote Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-11
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Chrome on everything except my phone which runs Dolphin.
Coyote Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 01:36 PM   #14
Hi Im Adam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-19-10
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 302
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

firefox on the phone
Chrome on the Desktop
Chrome on the craptop

I feel like Firefox is the lightest for multipule tabs... but chrome just "works" better
Hi Im Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 01:44 PM   #15
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,610
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

firefoxfirefoxfirefox
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 02:49 PM   #16
schweeb
spelling nazi
 
schweeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-02-07
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 2,563
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Chrome very intentionally uses a process per tab to do its thing. This way if a tab crashes, the rest of the browser is still usable. With how much Flash crashes, this is quite useful.
__________________
[FlatFender]: ill put it like this, if she wasnt MY aunt, id hit on her
schweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 03:20 PM   #17
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,504
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Opera


Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 03:30 PM   #18
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,680
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
Firefox at work and Home, with a few extensions, samples below:

Adblock+ - ad/script blocker
DownloadHelper
DownThemAll
Flashblock - blocks auto-play youtube in various forums, as well as the annoying flash advertisements that tend to autoplay
FlashGot - similar to the other download helpers - multiple options sometimes is helpful
Ghostery - ad/script blocker
IEView - sometimes IE is needed, if in a hurry can open a new tab and view IE encapsulated within firefox instead of opening a separate session
NoScript - ad/script blocker
PixlrGrabber <-- great for screen grabbing, or "printing" pages when they have various chicanery trying to prevent you from doing so
StumbleUpon - yeah, sometimes a diversion is necessary - I use it also sometimes to "bookmark" useful sites so I can easily access them from elsewhere

With those add-ins it sounds like you got yourself a pretty robust porn browser.
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 03:39 PM   #19
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,088
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I use firefox on my laptop, chrome on my ipad, and the stock android browser on my phone.
hondadirtracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 04:15 PM   #20
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,501
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Chrome on laptop, Dolphin on cellphone.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26486 seconds with 80 queries