Remote Car Starter Install - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2013, 03:12 PM   #21
snboarder113
Senior Member
 
snboarder113's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-12
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the big points here are that you / worstbuy dont use crappy plastic butt connectors. They will loosen after a few years, then you get to fix it.. Solder them together properly and even a low end model will keep working without issues forever. Think it took me about 2 hours to fully install one in the ZJ, power locks and remote start, didn't bother with the alarm pieces, its my beater.
snboarder113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 4th, 2013, 09:29 PM   #22
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,027
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
I highly recommend the Best Buy in Ann Arbor for remote start installs. The current install staff knows what their doing, you'll get a good install out of them. Josh is the manager, he's been installing for forever, Ryan's got a damn PHD in electrical engineering, and he still works there on the side, and the same with Luke, he's an engineer for the EPA, just working there on the side. I used to install there, and I've installed ~1000 in my day with no real failures.

Also, DO NOT!!! go to someone's house and have it installed in their garage. There may be some GREAT installers working out of their garages / on the side, but you're not covered AT ALL if something goes wrong. I've heard many horror stories of ECU's / BCM's getting fried, cars / garages burning to the ground. Best Buy charges a bit for install, but that's because they have the insurance to make sure that if anything happens, your covered!

-Rob
1) I disagree entirely with the whole "this guy is an engineer so he MUST know and SURELY installs things correctly. I wouldn't trust 95% of the engineer's I've worked with to change my oil
2) I also disagree with best buy being the way to go...good luck getting warranty covered in a year or so when it goes bad. Doesn't matter who installed it - at that point it's corporate policy
3) There are plenty of people that can install in their garage. If they fry ECM's/BCM's, they don't know what the hell they are doing or how to read wiring mech's. They can take quite a bit of abuse....to put it bluntly you almost have to work to fry them (like intentionally jump 12V to the ground circuit/signal returns).


4) Back on topic, 2004 is too old of an electrical architecture to flash for remote start. Find a quality unit and have someone that is going to solder it in, route all wires in existing wiring looms, not puncture through the firewall grommets, etc. Spend the money now on installation, or spend the money in a few years for repair/diag when it craps out....
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 09:41 PM   #23
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,253
iTrader: (52)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I'm going to have Downriver motorsports rewire my Willys. He also does remote car start installs. The guy that runs it has made a quite a name for himself on Motown Muscle. Everyone that has gone there says his work is excellent.

http://www.motownmuscle.com/forums/s...rsports-Wiring


DOWNRIVER MOTORSPORTS WIRING
(734) 229-0930
24081 KARNAK CT, BROWNSTOWN TWP, MI
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 10:55 PM   #24
SportRedGT1
Member
 
Join Date: 08-17-08
Location: Flint/Novi
Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Al Serra in Grand Blanc offers remote start installation. They installed an aftermarket remote start in my 09 CTS. It cost almost double a 3rd party shop, but it came with a lifetime warranty and the "peace of mind" knowing the dealer servicing my Cadillac also installed the remote start. I have had it almost 2 years, used almost daily in the cold months, with no issues.

Having said that the CTS is a turd pile and I'm trading it in on a Jeep tomorrow morning .
SportRedGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 11:10 PM   #25
84Scrambler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Lansing
Posts: 5,948
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 84Scrambler
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
I highly recommend the Best Buy in Ann Arbor for remote start installs. The current install staff knows what their doing, you'll get a good install out of them. Josh is the manager, he's been installing for forever, Ryan's got a damn PHD in electrical engineering, and he still works there on the side, and the same with Luke, he's an engineer for the EPA, just working there on the side. I used to install there, and I've installed ~1000 in my day with no real failures.

Also, DO NOT!!! go to someone's house and have it installed in their garage. There may be some GREAT installers working out of their garages / on the side, but you're not covered AT ALL if something goes wrong. I've heard many horror stories of ECU's / BCM's getting fried, cars / garages burning to the ground. Best Buy charges a bit for install, but that's because they have the insurance to make sure that if anything happens, your covered!

-Rob
Riiiight. My buddy is a PhD in electrical engineering and works at a fucking Best Buy. Yeah, I won the Nobel Prize in web etiquette too.
84Scrambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 11:54 PM   #26
koochman450r
Stranger Danger
 
koochman450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-08
Location: New Boston MI
Posts: 2,557
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My wife and mother in law both had them done at cartunes in Westland. Going on 4yrs in my wife's 06 300 and about 6 yrs in her mom's 04 Taurus no problems with either.
__________________
MY BUILD
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=255953
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
you won this battle.
koochman450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 01:34 PM   #27
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,510
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 84Scrambler View Post
Riiiight. My buddy is a PhD in electrical engineering and works at a fucking Best Buy. Yeah, I won the Nobel Prize in web etiquette too.
Yeah, that's about as ridiculous as a chemist doing auto repair.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 04:23 PM   #28
kegerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Clarkston
Posts: 247
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to kegerman
Default

I can tell you that no OE uses solder. The ones that are not direct plug-in generally use T-Taps or center splice and with tape. Personally I only center splice,no chance of a cold solder joint.
kegerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 04:50 PM   #29
grnd93
Senior Member
 
grnd93's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-08
Location: New Boston, MI
Posts: 763
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capone View Post
I'm going to have Downriver motorsports rewire my Willys. He also does remote car start installs. The guy that runs it has made a quite a name for himself on Motown Muscle. Everyone that has gone there says his work is excellent.

http://www.motownmuscle.com/forums/s...rsports-Wiring


DOWNRIVER MOTORSPORTS WIRING
(734) 229-0930
24081 KARNAK CT, BROWNSTOWN TWP, MI
What's he charge?
grnd93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 04:56 PM   #30
stereoguy
2jz NO SH*T!
 
stereoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-09
Location: st joe/Michigan
Posts: 1,009
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kegerman View Post
I can tell you that no OE uses solder. The ones that are not direct plug-in generally use T-Taps or center splice and with tape. Personally I only center splice,no chance of a cold solder joint.
Yeah, just lots of annealing and corrosion from a bad connection . If we were in Arizona maybe but not in Michigan. The ONLY way to do a correct remote start install is solder. Most ignition systems are very low voltage ,or they have a mux resistance type circuit and t taps and center splice is how most people are getting stranded with a remote start installed . If this connection is at all off on resistance your car is going to say fukc you I'm not starting. Even with a key. With all the data and complex start cycles on new cars it is not very probable to do a install yourself anymore. Those days are gone ,like working on your own tranny has went. My advice stands . If you like your car have someone do it right .
stereoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 05:01 PM   #31
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,027
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kegerman View Post
I can tell you that no OE uses solder. The ones that are not direct plug-in generally use T-Taps or center splice and with tape. Personally I only center splice,no chance of a cold solder joint.
ZOMG!!! That must mean SOLDER IS THE SUXOR!!!!!!! (except they do, on all their pcb's in every electrical component in the vehicle)


They don't have to use solder on harnesses, because they DESIGN IT and make it continuous from connector to connector. They crimp terminals (to which there's tons of R&D that goes into that joint) and when needed use sealed connectors/terminals. Solder is time consuming and makes zero sense in a mass production environment. If you know how to do it correctly, there shouldn't be any worry about a cold joint. Any good electronics technician shouldn't have an issue with this.

You don't have to solder...use good delphi/molex sealed connectors and proper terminals and crimp tools and it'll last as long as an OEM harness. No shame in that. Problem is, 99% of the public doesn't have those tools.

Last edited by chris1044; January 5th, 2013 at 05:04 PM.
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 11:09 PM   #32
Jeep_Shaun
Don't Fear The Jeeper
 
Jeep_Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-28-08
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 3,023
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

I asked the Jeep dealer how much it would be to install a remote start on my 2012 Liberty and the quoted me almost $400.... I told them for that price I would continue to freeze in the morning starting it the old fashioned way..
Jeep_Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 11:22 PM   #33
kegerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Clarkston
Posts: 247
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to kegerman
Default

Sorry, you must be the only person here that knows a little bit about the subject, he who am?...I've only DESIGNED a few wire harnesses for Toyota remote starts and wrote installation instruction for Ford, Gm, Mopar, Subaru and Mazda OE remote starts, not to mention DVD, security sytems and other products for the OE's and yes, solder is used in those, but I believe I said I personally wouldn't use solder. As far as PCB's go...conformal coating works wonders and is a must for 3/4's of the OE's that the company I work for does business with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoguy View Post
Yeah, just lots of annealing and corrosion from a bad connection . If we were in Arizona maybe but not in Michigan. The ONLY way to do a correct remote start install is solder. Most ignition systems are very low voltage ,or they have a mux resistance type circuit and t taps and center splice is how most people are getting stranded with a remote start installed . If this connection is at all off on resistance your car is going to say fukc you I'm not starting. Even with a key. With all the data and complex start cycles on new cars it is not very probable to do a install yourself anymore. Those days are gone ,like working on your own tranny has went. My advice stands . If you like your car have someone do it right .
kegerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 09:26 AM   #34
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 220
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 84Scrambler View Post
Riiiight. My buddy is a PhD in electrical engineering and works at a fucking Best Buy. Yeah, I won the Nobel Prize in web etiquette too.
Congrats on your Nobel Prize, that's quite an accomplishment.

The guy works doing research at UofM, not exactly a high paying job. He's been an installer so long, that he works Saturday and Sunday for ~$25 an hour and gets to wrench on cars all day. I've known a lot of Engineers in my day that don't know their ass from a hole in the ground, but they've also never worked on a car a day in their life. These guys are car guys, that worked in a install bay most their college careers. Now they do it on the weekend for fun / beer money.

Show me one person that's been screwed over by Best Buy. By screwed over, I mean had an install failure, or unit failure that was not covered by warranty. When you find them, send them over to the Ann Arbor store to have it corrected. I know for a fact that there hasn't been one at the Best Buy I worked at, and before that I don't remember any at the Circuit City I installed at prior.

-Rob
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 08:44 PM   #35
tsaguy
drink the hotdog water.
 
tsaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-17-08
Location: Big Mountain, Michigan 48458
Posts: 4,385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

There's a whole lot of ego in this thread.
tsaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30022 seconds with 65 queries