Remote Car Starter Install - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2013, 07:47 PM   #1
distant75
Senior Member
 
distant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: Utica, MI
Posts: 809
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Remote Car Starter Install

Does anyone know someone that installs car starters? I'm hesitant to take it to ABC warehouse and other chain places. The last time I had ABC do it they hacked up the truck and wiring pretty badly. I just bought a Caddy and want to put in a system.
__________________
The baddest mini Jeep around

www.banishedcreations.com Yes its a work in progress.
distant75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 2nd, 2013, 07:53 PM   #2
GNJEEPN
Grumpy Grampa
 
GNJEEPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-06
Location: Twilight Zone
Posts: 2,326
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Check to see if Cadilac offers one for your car. Usually the factory systems require less splicing.
GNJEEPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2013, 08:21 PM   #3
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,028
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

X2 on checking with a GM dealer. What year is it? If newer (say less than 5-6 years old) it's probably as simple as flipping a DID in the BCM calibration file. A flash update and a key fob may be all you need.
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2013, 08:31 PM   #4
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,565
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Do not install any aftermarket car starter. After a year or two they all fukc up and you can't start your car, even with the key.

Or just haul your ass out to the car and start it the old fashioned way.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2013, 08:46 PM   #5
rammanriley
Senior Member
 
rammanriley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-11
Location: Macomb twp
Posts: 610
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What year And model?
__________________
96 Ram 1500 ECSB 5.9l v8 4x4 On 35's
13 Dart Aero (turbo go fast)
rammanriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2013, 11:17 PM   #6
stereoguy
2jz NO SH*T!
 
stereoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-09
Location: st joe/Michigan
Posts: 1,010
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just make sure whoever does it knows what they are doing. I do these all the time and dont get any back for problems. That said ,we solder everything and take our time on each car. No shortcuts. And no shitty remote starts like bulldogs or other cheap ones. If everyone did this there would be no problems . Unfortunately ,most places just throw them in and send you on your way. We have done around 7 to 8 thousand remote starts in the past 15 years and only a couple return for either a tach reset or remote or antenna replacement. If you were closer I would hook you up with a good deal . Good luck!
stereoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2013, 11:31 PM   #7
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: not in Georgia
Posts: 8,517
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
Default

not recommended
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:17 AM   #8
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Scotch locks ftw!
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:28 AM   #9
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 11,332
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoguy View Post
Just make sure whoever does it knows what they are doing. I do these all the time and dont get any back for problems. That said ,we solder everything and take our time on each car. No shortcuts. And no shitty remote starts like bulldogs or other cheap ones. If everyone did this there would be no problems . Unfortunately ,most places just throw them in and send you on your way. We have done around 7 to 8 thousand remote starts in the past 15 years and only a couple return for either a tach reset or remote or antenna replacement. If you were closer I would hook you up with a good deal . Good luck!
X2


I have had one in every vehicle I have owned, and never had an issue, the one in my truck has been in for 8 years and over 150K with no issues. I do my own installs though.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:35 AM   #10
distant75
Senior Member
 
distant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: Utica, MI
Posts: 809
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 2004 DTS Caddy, I checked last night trying to find a factory one and none were available durning my year. I'm very picky as most of us are when it comes to getting work done on our rides

I have been doing it the old fashion way but in my old age(37) it's tough to this every morning, lol.

Stereoguy, I'm not affraid to drive the car across state to get this done. I just want a good install and a good system.
__________________
The baddest mini Jeep around

www.banishedcreations.com Yes its a work in progress.
distant75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:41 AM   #11
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,407
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoguy View Post
Just make sure whoever does it knows what they are doing. I do these all the time and dont get any back for problems. That said ,we solder everything and take our time on each car. No shortcuts. And no shitty remote starts like bulldogs or other cheap ones. If everyone did this there would be no problems . Unfortunately ,most places just throw them in and send you on your way. We have done around 7 to 8 thousand remote starts in the past 15 years and only a couple return for either a tach reset or remote or antenna replacement. If you were closer I would hook you up with a good deal . Good luck!
I agree

I use to be against aftermaket remote starts, but with the right person installing them they are great.

I have had them in all of mine and my families cars the past 5+ years with no problems. If the right person does it they are good.

I would have steroguy do it or i have a guy who lives in Commerce do all of mine. If you are interested PM me and i will get you his contact info.
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:50 AM   #12
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Dennis, I know a guy who works for Code Systems. I'll check today with him and get back to you. He's local for us and is quite meticulous.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 07:55 AM   #13
lauriat
Senior Member
 
lauriat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-09
Location: Higgins Lake MI
Posts: 1,016
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would think they can program it at the dealer. My friends 04 duramax has it on the standard key fob. Kind of a pain though, hit the lock button twice and it starts.
lauriat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 08:43 AM   #14
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,988
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Default

Take it to sterepguy, have you seen his work?
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2013, 10:14 AM   #15
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 221
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I highly recommend the Best Buy in Ann Arbor for remote start installs. The current install staff knows what their doing, you'll get a good install out of them. Josh is the manager, he's been installing for forever, Ryan's got a damn PHD in electrical engineering, and he still works there on the side, and the same with Luke, he's an engineer for the EPA, just working there on the side. I used to install there, and I've installed ~1000 in my day with no real failures.

Also, DO NOT!!! go to someone's house and have it installed in their garage. There may be some GREAT installers working out of their garages / on the side, but you're not covered AT ALL if something goes wrong. I've heard many horror stories of ECU's / BCM's getting fried, cars / garages burning to the ground. Best Buy charges a bit for install, but that's because they have the insurance to make sure that if anything happens, your covered!

-Rob
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 12:19 PM   #16
distant75
Senior Member
 
distant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: Utica, MI
Posts: 809
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the plumber View Post
Dennis, I know a guy who works for Code Systems. I'll check today with him and get back to you. He's local for us and is quite meticulous.
Let me know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauriat View Post
I would think they can program it at the dealer. My friends 04 duramax has it on the standard key fob. Kind of a pain though, hit the lock button twice and it starts.
I also have a 04 GMC duramax and would love to get this done as well.

PM sent to Stereoguy
__________________
The baddest mini Jeep around

www.banishedcreations.com Yes its a work in progress.
distant75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 01:59 PM   #17
14muddn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-10-08
Location: Wixom/MI
Posts: 1,813
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

This thread makes me wish I had an automatic
14muddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 02:42 PM   #18
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,112
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14muddn View Post
This thread makes me wish I had an automatic
X2 that is the only downside to my car.
hondadirtracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 02:55 PM   #19
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 221
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14muddn View Post
This thread makes me wish I had an automatic
You can still install a remote starter, just have to take an extra step when you turn off the car...

Basically you would park / neutral / set the parking brake. Hit the key fob button, then turn the key off and remove it (car stays running). As your walking away, hit the lock button, car locks, shuts down, and then can be remote started next time. It knows that the car's in neutral with the brake set, it also knows that the doors haven't been open since it was last parked.

-Rob
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 03:06 PM   #20
14muddn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-10-08
Location: Wixom/MI
Posts: 1,813
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
You can still install a remote starter, just have to take an extra step when you turn off the car...

Basically you would park / neutral / set the parking brake. Hit the key fob button, then turn the key off and remove it (car stays running). As your walking away, hit the lock button, car locks, shuts down, and then can be remote started next time. It knows that the car's in neutral with the brake set, it also knows that the doors haven't been open since it was last parked.

-Rob
I know but I have owned enough manuals with weak parking breaks that I always park in gear out of habit. My super duty could cause a lot of damage idling across a parking lot
14muddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29391 seconds with 80 queries