Fireplace gas log ?? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2012, 07:27 PM   #1
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Fireplace gas log ??

Finally getting around to messing with the gas log burner currently in the fireplace...it's natural gas, vented.

Vent's open, gas is on, I get the pilot lit and the go to on...pilot stays lit and I can hear the gas flow increase (substantially..pretty f'n loud), but it won't light.

Question is this: Burner doesn't have any sand/rocks/or logs...do I need the sand to properly dissipate the gas to burn, or should I take the f'n regulator apart and make sure everything is clean?

Tried google, after two minutes of reading crap I've decided to consult the GL4x4 experts...
chris1044 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 12th, 2012, 07:35 PM   #2
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

The house wasn't previously propane was it? Sound to me like a bad air/fuel ratio. I'd guess you're regulators plugged up.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 07:38 PM   #3
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Never propane...I have good flow coming through it, just seems like 1) there's too much flow or 2) the pilot is in the wrong location for adequate gas lighting (wouldn't surprise me if PO rigged it...). If I let it sit for a few seconds, there's eventually a nice puff of fire when the excessive gas finally catches lol
chris1044 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 08:12 PM   #4
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

I'd call a Fireplace guy, have them check it out, and set it up correctly. Last thing you want to do it burn down your house because you wanted to do it yourself instead of paying a guy 150.00 who lives and breathes fireplaces.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 08:50 PM   #5
Immortal
NO RELIGION WAT!
 
Immortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: In my garage
Posts: 25,867
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Default

You may have an adjustable vent just before the burner. If it is all the way closed it maybe why it won't light right away. Or a fixed vent that is clogged with spider shit and such. If sand was used as a diffuser you may have sand clogging it up too. Or the pilot light is simply bent out of position. You really should have some sort of diffuser media for the gas.
Immortal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 05:43 PM   #6
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Immortal View Post
You may have an adjustable vent just before the burner. If it is all the way closed it maybe why it won't light right away. Or a fixed vent that is clogged with spider shit and such. If sand was used as a diffuser you may have sand clogging it up too. Or the pilot light is simply bent out of position. You really should have some sort of diffuser media for the gas.
Thanks for confirming what I thought...I'll pull it apart and clean it and get diffuser media.
chris1044 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 05:53 PM   #7
rentalrider
Senior Member
 
rentalrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-07
Location: West Branch, Mi
Posts: 1,052
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Also if the thermopile isn't getting hot enough, it won't allow the full gas (any actually) through the ports. Thermocouple has to warm for pilot to stay lit and thermopile has to heat quickly or it cuts gas to ports. Try holding a small torch to holes to see if gas lights. Or warming up the couple/pile to see if it helps. Could be the pilot assembly got bumped and isn't closely adjacent to the orifices.
rentalrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12455 seconds with 43 queries