if tj had abs on dana30, does new axle need it? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2012, 09:55 AM   #1
gattaca37
Senior Member
 
gattaca37's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-09
Location: sparta, MI
Posts: 184
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default if tj had abs on dana30, does new axle need it?

Have a 97 tj with a Dana30 with abs, lookn to swap in a 96-99 xj Cherokee HP Dana30. Does the HP have to be abs equipped?

Do I even need the abs Shit on the tj? It's on road and off road jeepin that she does, not a dd
gattaca37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 12th, 2012, 09:57 AM   #2
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,188
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

It will be fine without the abs but it will have a abs light constantly on in the dash if u can live with seeing the light then dont bother with the abs. i personally dont like abs anyways
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 10:12 AM   #3
Zach4739
2005 Willys
 
Zach4739's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-11
Location: Livonia
Posts: 746
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

abs is terrible when your wheelin id just pull the fuse/relay for it and live with the light bein on
Zach4739 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 10:13 AM   #4
cerial
Senior Member
 
cerial's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-08
Location: Caledonia,MI
Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

My 01 tj never had abs and it was a dd. Part of the reason I bought it.

You can always pull the instrument cluster and snag the bulb. Or go all old school with some electrical tape.

You need abs about as much as you need a front sway bar. Just respect that it is not a sports car and you will be fine.
cerial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 10:17 AM   #5
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,188
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerial View Post
My 01 tj never had abs and it was a dd. Part of the reason I bought it.

You can always pull the instrument cluster and snag the bulb. Or go all old school with some electrical tape.

You need abs about as much as you need a front sway bar. Just respect that it is not a sports car and you will be fine.
Nope u cant pull the bulb in these i tried to with my check enging light on my 01 tj its all built into the cluster the only bulbs that r changable r the one that light up the gauges
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 11:43 AM   #6
Dylan
Senior Member
 
Dylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Location: K-zoo
Posts: 1,124
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you can unbolt the sensors at the wheels and just tie them up under hood. You will also need to unhook the rear sensor and tie them up also. Just leave them plugged in.
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 12:58 PM   #7
gattaca37
Senior Member
 
gattaca37's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-09
Location: sparta, MI
Posts: 184
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks
gattaca37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 01:05 PM   #8
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,359
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

you don't need to do anything special. But your abs light will be lit. that is all.
kickstand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 02:07 PM   #9
ajmorell
Senior Member
 
ajmorell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-22-07
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 3,540
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ajmorell
Default

If you want to keep ABS, and the hp30 axle was a non-ABS axle, swap over your LP30 knuckles and you'll be good to go.
ajmorell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2012, 12:23 AM   #10
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

For the light

http://www.zr2usa.com/mboard/index.php?showtopic=40878

Same concept anyway
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14895 seconds with 50 queries