89 k 1500 help wont start - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2006, 10:04 PM   #1
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 89 k 1500 help wont start

wont start doesnt to much but the engine turns over has fuel spark compression just wont start any ideas thanks

Last edited by carguy64744; October 24th, 2006 at 09:14 AM.
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 23rd, 2006, 10:17 PM   #2
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,648
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

soands weird coming from me but english may help other understand what is going on. you sure all cylinder have fuel and compression and spark. timing might be off. what motor is im assuming a 5.7 350 but it could nbe the 305 with the data that you posted
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 10:41 PM   #3
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

fuel compresion and spark are the bieg three. is it getting to much fuel? does it back fire and have you changed anything since it last ran?
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 07:12 AM   #4
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

first off pull the aircleaner and shoot it with ether. If it starts it is fuel related. if it doesn't then report back and will go from there.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 09:19 AM   #5
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

tried starting fluid no luck its a 350 doesnt backfire every once it a while it acts like it wants to start but thats it the rest of the time it doesnt do anything
changed plugs cap rotor and module because it wasnt getting spark now it is getting spark
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 11:34 AM   #6
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy64744 View Post
tried starting fluid no luck its a 350 doesnt backfire every once it a while it acts like it wants to start but thats it the rest of the time it doesnt do anything
changed plugs cap rotor and module because it wasnt getting spark now it is getting spark
you tried the ether before or after you got spark? if before try it again. If it was after then, do you have the spark plug wires on in the correct firing order? Is the spark bold and blue? or is it weak and red? If it is weak and red you may need to replace the coil as well. Just because there is spark doesn't mean there is enough to run the engine.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 12:05 PM   #7
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

after i got spark it is blue never changed the wires around but i checked them and where right tried a new coil just now no luck hooked it up to a computer doesnt show anything wrong
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 12:24 PM   #8
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

It may sound goofy but I have seen spark out of the wires with a broken missing tip of the rotor. Check that and make sure it is on correctly.

If good then with the cap off have someone turn the engine over. Look to see if the rotor turns smooth and evenly not jerky.

Also you said it had compression can you post the #'s
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 12:44 PM   #9
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

looks to be fine rotor is new
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 12:55 PM   #10
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Has the vehicle sat for a long time or just out of the blue doesn't want to run?

Also do the compression check and post the results for each cylinder.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 12:56 PM   #11
Budman
Miss Budweiser Revealed!
 
Budman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: BC
Posts: 156
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If that is a 5.7 Vortec, check your cap and see if it is inverted 180 degrees, I have a K3500 and the cap that's on mine is able to be done so it can screw not only the rotor but also firing order positioning. Other thing is get some dielectric grease and coat not only the plug wire ends but the cap ends as well, you'll have far less trouble in the future.

I had odd stuff going on for a while normally if the truck sat for a day or two then it would just roll and take forever if it would fire at all, otherwise drained the battery, wound up being corrosion on the terminal in the cap and wires, check your wires for corrosion where they plug into the cap, you've replaced everything except them so I'd check there as well.

In the mean time grab a

Last edited by Budman; October 24th, 2006 at 12:58 PM.
Budman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 01:02 PM   #12
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it sat for a while drove it for a few days then it started acting up
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 11:28 PM   #13
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well got it started i turned the distributer a little bit and it started runs

Last edited by carguy64744; November 2nd, 2006 at 02:14 AM.
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2006, 02:15 AM   #14
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well jumped time again put a new timing chain on it the old one was real bad runs great now
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 08:40 PM   #15
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well wont start again no fuel or spark now im thinking short somwhere
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2006, 10:05 PM   #16
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

fixed it ground wire on the thermostat housing was shorting
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16968 seconds with 68 queries