CO2 On board air setup question? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2012, 12:41 PM   #1
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 818
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default CO2 On board air setup question?

I am currently working on building a CO2 on board air system and was wondering from those of you running this kind of system if the gauges are really necessary? I was reading a build your own system and it was mentioned that the gauges are pretty much useless and just get an preset regulator for it.

Also is there anything that needs to be to a CO2 to convert it to run Nitrogen?

Thanks.
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 01:01 PM   #2
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,090
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

I have two. Neither has a gauge.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 01:27 PM   #3
Dylan
Senior Member
 
Dylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Location: K-zoo
Posts: 1,125
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a high side gauge, low side gauge and regulator. I guess it depends on what you are doing with it. The high side gauge is nice to let you know when you are about to run out. You could always just weigh your tank full and empty and there you have your scale.
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 01:28 PM   #4
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,579
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I have 1 with a gauge. Only thing I use it for is to tell me when its about to run out. Just before it runs out, my gauge anyways goes UP 10 or so lbs from the normal and I know im getting close to running out. Besides in that they are worthless IMO
montecarlo33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 02:26 PM   #5
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 818
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

I was reading that the gauge will always say full until it is just about empty due to the fact that the tank stays at a constent pressure
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 02:38 PM   #6
Brian81CJ
Sellin' it all!
 
Brian81CJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Allen Park
Posts: 573
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudviper View Post
I was reading that the gauge will always say full until it is just about empty due to the fact that the tank stays at a constent pressure
True. There is only a VERY short amount of time that the gauge will start dropping. At that time, the tank will be empty of liquid CO2 and you will only have a tank full of gas. Tank pressure gauge is useful when it's very cold outside and tank pressure may be too low to fill tires or run tools. As well as if the surrounding temp is too high and tank pressure starts rising allowin you to move it to a cooler location so the safety valve doesn't release the CO2.

If you simply want to fill tires, the preset reg is great. If you want to do other things like running air tools and such, then go with an adjustable one.

Last edited by Brian81CJ; October 29th, 2012 at 06:35 AM. Reason: spelling
Brian81CJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 02:43 PM   #7
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,090
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian81CJ View Post
True. There is only a VERY short amount of time that the gauge will start dropping. At that time, the tank will be empty of liquid CO2 and you will only have a tank full of gas. Tank pressure gauge is useful when it's very cold outside and tank pressure may be too low to fill tires or run tools. As well as if the surrounding temp is too high and tank pressure starts rising allowin you to move it to a cooler location so the safety valve doesn't release the CO2.

If you simply want to fill tires, the preset reg is great. If you want to do other things like running air tools and such, then go with an adjustable on.
Who are you to quote this dribble?


For those who don't know, Brian was the owner of Ultimate Air. Both of my tanks are from him. I only wish he was still in business. His answers are from a manufacturer, not opinon like the rest of us.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2012, 01:34 PM   #8
cerial
Senior Member
 
cerial's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-08
Location: Caledonia,MI
Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

Just weigh empty then full and write the weights on the side. Then you can use a scale of sorts to get a very close idea how much use you have left. So much easier and accurate then any gauge that you will install.
cerial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2012, 04:07 PM   #9
phittie1100
Senior Member
 
phittie1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-05
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 1,866
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I like my gauges - I sometimes run air tools from my tank instead if running 150' of hose from the compressor in the back garage, and use it for shielding gas on my MIG.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Paul - 2005 Wrangler Unlimited
KD8PAV
phittie1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2012, 04:15 PM   #10
Tizken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-29-07
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 437
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudviper View Post
I am currently working on building a CO2 on board air system and was wondering from those of you running this kind of system if the gauges are really necessary? I was reading a build your own system and it was mentioned that the gauges are pretty much useless and just get an preset regulator for it.

Also is there anything that needs to be to a CO2 to convert it to run Nitrogen?

Thanks.
Nitrogen tanks have a much higher pressure, it would be a different regulator. Also on a nitrogen tank the tank gauge is useful since the pressure drops as you use it up.
Tizken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22040 seconds with 52 queries