4l60e to 700r4 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2012, 04:41 PM   #1
scare-crow
the eskimo bro
 
scare-crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-08
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 2,037
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scare-crow
Default 4l60e to 700r4

i currently drive a 94 chevy pickup and destroyed the transmission. is is possible to run a700r4 if the computer is swapped for one from a 89? or do i have no choice hut to replace it with another 4l60e?
scare-crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 29th, 2012, 04:49 PM   #2
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

You can swap the two, but your making a lot more work for yourself, you can find a good used 4L60E for a couple hundred bucks

You'd have to put on a TV cable too to shift the 700, as well as the computer, honestally i'm not really sure if that would work completly anyway....just pick up a new E
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 05:20 PM   #3
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Ok, the fact that you have no idea what I'm taking about says you should not try to swap the two transmissions

On pre '93 transmissions (4L60 and 700-R4) the transmission was shifted using a TV, or Throttle Valve cable, that cable is what told the transmission when to shift gears and when to down/up shift for passing, etc. '93 and up (with the introduction of the 4L60E) the transmission now used a solenoid to shift gears, which had a wire harness replace the TV cable. The old TV cable was used because the older style transmission was shifted hydraulically

You can bolt up the 700 in place of the 60E all day, but that doesn't meant it's going to work
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 05:26 PM   #4
scare-crow
the eskimo bro
 
scare-crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-08
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 2,037
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scare-crow
Default

shifting the transmission is not the issue. i was not clear at first. i just want to eliminate the 60e. the 700 will be shifted manually.
scare-crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2012, 11:01 AM   #5
chevytothelevy
like a rock
 
chevytothelevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-11
Location: plainwell mi
Posts: 395
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

fye they still used the 4l60 in the 94 but only in the 4.3 model i had a 94 stock with the 4l60 and found out the hard way....
chevytothelevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2012, 01:37 PM   #6
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,380
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

What is your reason for wanting a 700r4?
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2012, 02:02 PM   #7
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,248
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scare-crow View Post
shifting the transmission is not the issue. i was not clear at first. i just want to eliminate the 60e. the 700 will be shifted manually.
you install a TransGo 4l60e-3 kit and shift a 4l60e manually. it removes all the electronics.
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2012, 02:04 PM   #8
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,750
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

probably not wanting to spend the cash?

luckily this is TBI. you'll need a tv cable, re-hook up the VSS in the t-case so you have your speedo. Physically there shouldn't be any d/s mods necessary. tape the 4L60E wires up to keep dirt out of the plugs.

are or aren't you going to run a lockup converter? that's the only other bit.
deerebowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2012, 11:43 AM   #9
TboneK1500Z28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-22-11
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 464
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

keep a 4l60e, lot harder and more expensive to put a 700r4 in with absolutely no gain whatsoever.
TboneK1500Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16964 seconds with 47 queries