CO2 tank an Scuba tank - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Miscellaneous items
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2012, 12:46 PM   #1
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default CO2 tank an Scuba tank

I have a CO2 tank that I am looking to sell. Not sure if it is a 15 or 20 lbs tank, since I am not sure how to tell the differenct. As far as I can tell it will need to be recertified. From what I have read, it varies on the cost of recertification. There are places that will exchanged tanks for all ready certified and filled tanks. I am asking $40 for the tank

I also have a 10 lbs scuba tank. This will also need to be recertified and the valve updated. I took it to a local dive shop and they said they could get it all done for $36. There are adapters you can get for scuba tanks to fill tires and also run air tools. This is a 2500 psi tank. Asking $30 for this tank and I am pretty firm on the price. The tank with the blue bottom is the scuba tank




Last edited by mudviper; October 29th, 2012 at 09:29 PM.
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 29th, 2012, 11:39 AM   #2
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

bump
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 03:50 PM   #3
bigbadazzjeep
Senior Member
 
bigbadazzjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clinton Twp.-Lincoln
Posts: 2,030
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sell just the blue cap?
bigbadazzjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 06:31 PM   #4
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadazzjeep View Post
sell just the blue cap?
Will sell it with the tank..lol
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 06:57 PM   #5
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,173
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Scuba tanks are measured in cubic feet, not gallons. Any idea what size it is?
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2012, 09:28 PM   #6
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route55 View Post
Scuba tanks are measured in cubic feet, not gallons. Any idea what size it is?
Not sure why I put in gallons. I ment a 10 pound tank
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 10:40 AM   #7
michigan maniac
Senior Member
 
michigan maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-10
Location: dryden/lapeer
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Interested in the scuba tank, any date on the build or last hydro test? Any idea how many cubic feet?
michigan maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 12:01 PM   #8
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michigan maniac View Post
Interested in the scuba tank, any date on the build or last hydro test? Any idea how many cubic feet?
It was last tested back in 1968, but when I talked to the guy at the dive shop he said that if it was just going to be used for an onboard air system, that it didn't need to be certified to a hydro test, that the standard test would all that it would need whatever that test is. He said he could test it and update the blow off valve for $36. I believe it is about 80 cubic feet
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 12:09 PM   #9
michigan maniac
Senior Member
 
michigan maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-10
Location: dryden/lapeer
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Ok, thanks I was hoping to use it as a paintball fill station
michigan maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 03:32 PM   #10
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michigan maniac View Post
Ok, thanks I was hoping to use it as a paintball fill station
Not sure how you would be able to use the scuba tank as a fill station, since it is not a C02 type system. The CO2 tank I have could be used as a fill station. We used to use one many years ago when I used to play paintball.
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 03:41 PM   #11
michigan maniac
Senior Member
 
michigan maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-10
Location: dryden/lapeer
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Now adays co2 is out dated and compressed air is the way to go, scuba tanks can hold 3000psi same as the new paintball tanks, and you can set them up to be a fill station with a $40 kit, perfect for playing back woods ball
michigan maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2012, 05:19 PM   #12
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michigan maniac View Post
Now adays co2 is out dated and compressed air is the way to go, scuba tanks can hold 3000psi same as the new paintball tanks, and you can set them up to be a fill station with a $40 kit, perfect for playing back woods ball
hmm I have been out of the game to long..lol. I know they switched to nitrogen, but didn't know they are running compressed air right now.
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2012, 08:48 AM   #13
michigan maniac
Senior Member
 
michigan maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-10
Location: dryden/lapeer
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Yeah the nitrogen tanks are now getting filled with compressed air, its cheaper and easier, and works just the same, the only downfall is you need a compressor that can reach 3000psi !!
michigan maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2012, 07:23 AM   #14
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

bump
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2012, 03:46 PM   #15
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 811
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

bump
mudviper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Miscellaneous items

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19601 seconds with 65 queries