Ford ranger 4x4 question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2012, 02:13 PM   #1
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Ford ranger 4x4 question

To start this is my service truck. Only I drive it. It is 3 rangers put tougher to make one decent, but good running one the rest are all gone now so I have no access to the parts any more.
My 4x4 has never worked. By reading some forums I learned that (I think it's the control module) due to low voltage at the switch. And also the lights on the dash show no irregular signal when starting the truck.

So i could replace the module and spend the 100$ and time and "hope" that's the issue. But I'm not looking to spend money on this thing anymore. It has 261k on it and I don't know it it will last the winter.

My question is how do the hubs work? Or engage? I have all the stuff in my shop to run a relay and a switch to my transfer case to bypass all the junk an make the 4x4 engage. But I'm not sure if that will lock the hubs? Any one know about this? Help a hillbilly out!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 20th, 2012, 02:23 PM   #2
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What year ranger?

You could always swap in a manual t-case, think I saw one for sale on here yesterday.
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 02:26 PM   #3
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

95. I'll buy the module before I'm swapping caces
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 02:48 PM   #4
302sploder
Senior Member
 
302sploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-07-10
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 263
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

same thing happened to me in the sploder a while back. i just took the motor off the tcase and shifted it with a pair of channel locks when i needed 4x4.(all the time that winter in houghton)
302sploder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 03:41 PM   #5
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I done want to climb under it every time it snows.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 08:02 PM   #6
Elvis13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-15-11
Location: Addison Township, MI
Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I believe the hubs are PVH which lock via vacuum. You can swap those for manual lockouts.

Are you sure it's the t case and not the hubs?
Elvis13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 08:10 PM   #7
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,151
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

95 shouldn't that still be ttb not Torision ruling out the avm hubs?

Are they auto are manual hubs if ttb?

Tcases are a really easy swap and a direct replacement (ie no driveshaft modifications) And the floor even has a plate you can unbolt to gain access to put the shifter through.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 08:27 PM   #8
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there auto hubs, it is 100% the t case. never engages. if i run 12v to it, it will though. a buddy of mine told me that if the front drive shaft starts to spin that the hubs will then lock.. not sure.
and again if i was going to buy the hub conversion i would just buy the parts to fix it properly. which is what looks like i will end up doing
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 08:34 PM   #9
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,151
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

Yeah if auto hubs they work from the shaft spinning to engage the locks.....they are pretty shitty, and sometimes after putting in 2wd you actually have to go in reverse to disengage.

Just visit a u-pull-it yard and get some cheap ass parts. They are plentiful. Any 91-94 Explorer and 91-95 ranger parts will interchange.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 08:45 PM   #10
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've read that on these depending on what day of the week it was the 4x4 control module could be behind the radio or behind the rear jump seat. I'll have to track it down and swap it out.i just hope the switch is still good too. I know they are another common fail..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 09:08 PM   #11
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

I will bet its just the shift motor on the t-case. Every Ranger I have had I had to take the motor apart and fix the little plastic stop inside. Once the stop breaks inside the motor will over travel and wont work anymore until its moved back into position. Very easy fix.

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...ht=shift+motor
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2012, 06:20 AM   #12
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's not.... If I run 12v to the motor it will engage. If I turn the switch it will not..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2012, 12:20 PM   #13
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

Yes it still could be. BY bypassing all the factory wiring and applying 12v to it you can get the motor to move.But if its over traveling because of that stop being broken you will never get it to work off the factory button. I still say its worth 15min to pull the motor off and rip it apart on the bench and check.

And if there is a electronic issue with some other paret of the system the lights on the button will be flashing or the control module behind the rear trim panel will have a flashing red light.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2012, 12:26 PM   #14
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have 0 volts to the motor with the switch in any position. I will look for the module tonight.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 01:50 PM   #15
NewGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-16-07
Location: La Salle,MI
Posts: 281
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just had the same thing happen to my 94 explorer.

I had no power at the dash switch and no power at the transfercase motor. Once I swapped out the motor, everything worked perfect!!!!
NewGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 04:53 PM   #16
92FleXj
stacks stacked on stacks
 
92FleXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Now some times when I drive it both the 4x4 lights will stay on. When they do it will lock up the TC in 2nd 3rd and 4th at the start of the gear. Basically stalling the truck and forcing it to downshift. This has happened a lot the last 3"4 days. And when it feels like it, it will turn both lights off at the same time and then run normal...... Truck has a mind of its own....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS View Post
Know that pocket that forms behind your knee when you sit down?

I'ma fuck it. You're gonna like it too.
92FleXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2012, 11:29 AM   #17
302sploder
Senior Member
 
302sploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-07-10
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 263
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sounds like the 4x4 brain needs to be replaced or taken out of the equation... when it happened to me, i ran a dpdt switch to the motor and ran it like a window motor. that was quirky and i eventually just took the motor off and shifted it with pliers.


then came along the 205. :P
302sploder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 08:14 AM   #19
302sploder
Senior Member
 
302sploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-07-10
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 263
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

check this out:

4x4 Troubleshooting guide - Ford Explorer Ranger Enthusiasts "Serious Explorations"

i forgot about the 4x4 module test button/light thing.. could be useful
302sploder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2012, 08:59 AM   #20
bigblockford79
Big Block Ranger
 
bigblockford79's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-11-08
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 2,741
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 4x4 module and the switch for the dash from my 93 Ranger, all working good when I pulled it out. PM if interested.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read it while pooping, thank Bill Gates!

"A girls butt hole is like a 9 volt battery. You know its wrong, but eventually you put your tongue on it."
bigblockford79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28117 seconds with 81 queries