Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

JK to TJ: Need Info

2K views 11 replies 12 participants last post by  89yjon 
#1 ·
I sold my 08 Unlimited Rubicon about 6 months ago. The mileage sucked with 35's and 4" lift. I commute 34 miles one way. That, and that awesome V6 was the cat's ass!:sonicjay:
Now I miss Jeeping. So I'm looking at an 06 Rubicon. Just wondering if any TJ owners know of anything problematic that I should look for when inspecting it.(?) I'm new to the TJ and it's hard searching for the little things to look out for.

If there is anything, please let me know. It is completely stock as it sits, and will probably just put some 33s on her.

Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
the 06 rubis are nice. if its an automatic you will have to gear very low to get good mpgs with 33's, at least 4.88.
if you dont gear it properly any vehicle will get bad mpg. with a stick gear to 4.10 or 4.56
expect in the 16 to 18mpg area if geared and driven properly on 33's.

the opdg (cam pos sensor/distributor) are known to be problematic. its not expensive or hard to fix though.

they are quality jeeps! enjoy

#8 ·
I couldn't agree more. If an $18,000-$20,000 budget is OK on a TJ, I think the new Sport Unlimited with the 3.6L is right up your ally. It wouldn't take more than the factory 3.73 option to turn 33's, heck the 255 Sport Tires are 32's.

It seems that the best mileage any lifted swb Jeep gets is about 16.
Yah, On a side note, I haven't broke 11.5 in the HEMI JK. I actually thought it would get better than stock 3.8L oh well!

#6 ·
Find a buddy with a tj and ride in them they are very different then your 08. 35" tires 4" lift and I'm guessing a automatic. What kind of mileage did you expect? You are not going to do any better with a tj.
I had a 01 (non abs) and ripped that 3 speed out within a year and installed a aw-4, got sick of that and put in a 5 speed shortly after, then I rolled it.