6.0 ls motor ran great. now it doesnt run at all - Page 6 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2012, 01:31 PM   #101
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,113
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

Why use it in multiple? It has the proper pressure and flow ratings as-is.

I don't know why it is so hard. I took my standard YJ sending unit/fuel pickup system and hose clamped a new in tank pump to it. Since I was using a different remote fuel gauge, I used the the old bulkhead electrical connection as my power source.

I needed about 1 1/2" of high pressure rubber fuel line to adapt the outlet barb of the pump to the bulkhead tube from the old pickup. I attached a filter to the inlet barb and I was done.

I'm no baller 1% er like Erin but I have run my engine WOT on many hill climbs and have run it from a standing start, full throttle acceleration to speeds way beyond where it should be and never have been starved for fuel in either situation.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 5th, 2012, 01:40 PM   #102
hosejockey4506
Visiting Admin
 
hosejockey4506's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: fenton
Posts: 8,826
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

there is a huge thread on pirate about this topic.


The walbros are a finer mesh then what a stock "Sock pickup" would be and it was believed thats what was causing some of the issues with pumps.

what alot of guys have gone to is a dual intank set up using a stock pick up "sock" with the main pump they want to run. Then on the second pump is where they are running multiple walbros for the low fuel situations and switching to that only when needed to try and not put extra strain on the pumps.


Jim i wasnt bashing your set up. i would think walbros are fine for a trail rig but on a car that gets raced and is burning 100 or more gallons during a race preserving fuel pumps becomes a science i believe. So mine as well learn from others problems and build on it.
hosejockey4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2012, 02:12 PM   #103
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,113
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

Casey,
I didn't consider you to be bashing, just trying to have a discussion on it. Yeah, for somebody running WOT in a race it might be a problem but we all know Nick is a puss & will never rev his up.

FWIW I used the stock sock that came with the pump. On the other hand, if you want to run an inline fuel filter, why bother with a sock? (assuming you don't have shit in your tank)
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2012, 11:02 AM   #104
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

when you buy a new intank pump from autozone does it come with a new sock?
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2012, 11:39 AM   #105
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,345
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Casey,
if you want to run an inline fuel filter, why bother with a sock? (assuming you don't have shit in your tank)
I would recommend the sock, even with an inline filter. No need to get trash into the pump.
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2012, 08:10 PM   #106
pigfat
GONE COMMANDO
 
pigfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-09
Location: West of Monroe Michigan
Posts: 1,894
iTrader: (51)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevotass View Post
when you buy a new intank pump from autozone does it come with a new sock?
It does but you may have to seal the hole where the fuel tank pressure sensor goes. as some of them dont come with the sensor.
pigfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 03:01 PM   #107
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

update.

i now have an intank fuel pump. oh and still only 42lbs pressure at the rail. FML
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 03:18 PM   #108
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,767
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

in the last 9 years I've had 4 walbro/off brand pumps that wouldn't build adequate pressure out of the box. 87-94 TBI and 97-99 vortec.


I'm not a mechanic by trade and don't replace fuel pumps often.

edit: what model pump did they give you?

Last edited by deerebowtie; October 28th, 2012 at 03:22 PM.
deerebowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 04:09 PM   #109
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

i had an inline e2000. just put a 5ca421 in. spec pump for the 6.0 truck motor
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 04:15 PM   #110
1 ton tj on 40's
Senior Member
 
1 ton tj on 40's's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-12
Location: not sure
Posts: 4,369
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevotass View Post
i had an inline e2000. just put a 5ca421 in. spec pump for the 6.0 truck motor
hope this is not a way not to show up
1 ton tj on 40's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 04:48 PM   #111
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

It runs at 42lbs. Thats how awezome of a motor it is. My swaybar not showing up in time is why i will lose. Im gonna body roll right off the course
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 05:04 PM   #112
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,530
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

come get my pressure regulator
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 05:41 PM   #113
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,528
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

try a different pressure gauge?
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:01 PM   #114
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

update.

showing good pressure now. all new 3/8 fuel line. intank pump. with my e2000 frame mount also installed. im using the inline pump with the intank pump.

went to snofari and was running great til about an hour into the trailride. would idle and cruise great. but once you got into the throttle it started to spit and sputter.

did this all day until our ride back into town it got alot worse to where i could barely get down the road and onto the trailer.

came home took it out for 30 min drive and it runs great with out one miss. shows good pressure still. so i ordered an obd2 blue tooth dongle and torque on my phone. thought maybe its not fuel and a sensor or vaccuum issue.

showing zero codes.

now im onto possibly vapor lock? anybody else have some ideas.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:08 PM   #115
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,113
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

2 fuel pumps?
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:10 PM   #116
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

yep.. that intank one only runs 42lbs and is loud as hell. I put my inline one back in and as soon as i turn that on it shoots to 60lbs and they both run quiet. anyone see a problem with this?

i like it because if one fails i still have one installed to get me home. unless its pushing to much fuel and flooding the motor. i dunno. im about out of ideas. was really thinking this last issue was sensor related because its so hit and miss. but not looking that way.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:12 PM   #117
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

Probably vapor lock. Just a temporary fix is to back ice packs around the line from the cell to the pump. How far away from the fuel cell is your external pump? Also it should be down hill and as close as possible to the fuel cell. Honestly the best idea is just to stick a single walboro 255 or whatever they are called inside the fuel cell itself, then run an external regulator. Does that engine have a return line? If you need a regulator, use one of those corvette ones that regulate to I think 50psi or something like that. It has a return line and a single feed line

Also I would not spray starter fluid in an intake like those LS ones, if it is one of the ones I am thinking of with the runners drawing off a wide open plenum. They do not actually allow liquid to drain into the cylinders. I have seen pics of intakes that blow apart because it pools, then a back fire and BOOM

Last edited by Motorcitydak; February 19th, 2013 at 09:16 PM.
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:27 PM   #118
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,307
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Is this a drive by wire motor? I had a gm car come into the shop and the throttle pedal sensor caused it to stumble and run shitty off idle but had no codes
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:28 PM   #119
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,737
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

yes. drive by wire. how did you fix it?
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:29 PM   #120
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,307
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

I would look into the thorttle body and pedal assembly
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.25549 seconds with 80 queries