6.0 ls motor ran great. now it doesnt run at all - Page 3 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2012, 10:18 PM   #41
joescamaro67
Senior Member
 
joescamaro67's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-10
Location: chesaning mi usa
Posts: 765
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

its a pain in the ass but I would/did run a factory pump in my tank.If you run a factory truck or suburban pump in the tank you will never have to worry about it agian.external pumps are noisey and seem to fail frequently. But after burning a few externals up in my hot rod i learned that they dont like top feed tanks because when you shut them off the fuel runs back in the tank and the initial prime is air not fuel causing them to burn up. Thats why they say to run externals lower than the tank on a bottm feed so the fuel always stays right at the pump. The suburban pumps are the same as the truck pumps but the top of the sending units are metal instead of plastic.and the factory ones have a baffle built right into them so you dont starve the engine on steep inclines..
joescamaro67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 7th, 2012, 05:53 AM   #42
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,846
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

Yup, I'm on board with Joe. I ran externals for years first with my Vortech motor & then tried it with my LQ9. It was a perpetual on and off again problem. Then I went in-tank and all my problems went away. I'll see if I can dig up what pump I used.

Simple statement is that any pump works better pushing rather than pulling. Add in higher pressure and a regulator and a return line and the pump has to work harder. Now add the fact that it's in the air (harder to cool) versus in the tank where it's submerged and kept at ambient temperature by the fuel and it becomes a no brainer.

Go in-tank and move on to the next issue.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.

Last edited by whiterhino; August 7th, 2012 at 05:58 AM.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 07:03 AM   #43
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,468
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Without logging it while its happening, you're guessing. Guessing is expensive, expensive sucks. Get someone to log it for you
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 03:54 PM   #44
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

joe what did you have to do to mount the fuel pump. do you have an rci cell also. would a tj pump work?
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 05:04 PM   #45
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,515
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I used a truck pump in my yj sending unit. That is of no help to you. What might help is, you can buy the same pump for a 96-99 5.7 2-door yukon without the sending unit. That can save you some $$$.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 05:50 PM   #46
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,846
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

I used the YJ bracket & used a hose clamp to attach the pump. I used a barbed fitting & attached the stock filter to it. Any 'ol bracket sticking down into the tank can mount a pump.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2012, 09:25 AM   #47
alumcj
Senior Member
 
alumcj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-06
Location: Fenton MI
Posts: 404
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

http://www.alltechmotorsports.com/productsinfo.html

wayne is a good guy - you could spend the coin or look at this for ideas. I can print you out a plate on the plasmafireomatic.
alumcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2012, 09:49 AM   #48
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,741
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Heres how I did mine for my RCI cell. Basically, to make it easy, I mounted everything to the filler plate. I drilled it and soldered in a 3/8" steel line with -6AN fittings for the output. I used the isolator studs from a couple old gas gauge senders that I had layoung around for the power to the fuel pump.

Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest - View Single Post - 1983 Scrambler build: 5.3 / TH350 swap

The pump was a stock 5.3 in tank truck pump.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2012, 03:54 PM   #49
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

haggers idea looks full of winning. since i already have the rci cell with the same filler next. i can pretty much copy it to how i want it.

thanks for the help guys
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2012, 11:10 AM   #50
liv2mx
i like jungle gym's.
 
liv2mx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: silver lake and up in the air building america
Posts: 11,262
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

clean those injectors nick...a pump eather works or doesn't. i have had 3 buddy's with ls motors all with the same issue.
liv2mx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2012, 07:46 PM   #51
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liv2mx View Post
clean those injectors nick...a pump eather works or doesn't. i have had 3 buddy's with ls motors all with the same issue.
but would the injectors have anything to do with pressure at the rail? the injectors are after the schrader valve on the rail. its sitting right at 48psi at idle and 52 max when i throttle it. so thats telling me its not making enough pressure. i agree the injectors could cause the misfiring. but im more wondering why the pressure isnt higher.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:51 AM   #52
liv2mx
i like jungle gym's.
 
liv2mx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: silver lake and up in the air building america
Posts: 11,262
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

i know gurst and mcdonald both have 6.0 in there rigs with superchargers and they are running a monster aerotech pump with a regulator.no issues since they switched. you have a pre filter before the pump then a filter after it? what size is your lines? i had a bunch of those issues and it was all my injectors.
liv2mx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 10:02 AM   #53
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,741
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevotass View Post
but would the injectors have anything to do with pressure at the rail? the injectors are after the schrader valve on the rail. its sitting right at 48psi at idle and 52 max when i throttle it. so thats telling me its not making enough pressure. i agree the injectors could cause the misfiring. but im more wondering why the pressure isnt higher.
No, injectors don't affect pressure at the rail. Also, pumps don't always work or not work. They draw a ton of power, and sometimes a volt of drop in the wiring can make them not make enough pressure. Or improper inlet size plumbing not letting it draw enough fluid and cavitating.

Can you plumb in a t-fitting between the pump and the regulator, and see if its making enough PSI? That might narrow it down to the regulator or the pump.


What size wire and relay are you running the pump with? I would go with 20 or 30A, and 12 or 10 gage wire. Make sure the ground is good also.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 10:32 AM   #54
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,303
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Default

I have seen a few mentions of regulator in the thread, but what regulator do you have? Do you have the stock flow through style with it on the fuel rail, or are you using an extrernal setup?
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 12:03 PM   #55
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,515
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I run the factory truck regulator on the rail. You can google an easy way to check it. I think it leaks fuel if it is bad??

The vette filter has a regulator built in, it is a very popular option as well (Esp. if your running a car intake)....
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2012, 10:54 AM   #56
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

investigating now. the pump is a airtex e2000. some googling shows that people have had problems with them not flowing enough on the top end. and with the pump being so far away from the tank im guessing that it doesnt help. so for shits and giggles im going to move the pump closer to the tank today and see if it does anything. if not ill get the walbro gsl 392. and keep the e2000 as a spare.

johhny im running the stock regulator on the rail. and for power source i have not traced it back yet because this was all wired and plummed before i bought it. the only thing i changed was the tank. from a bottom feed outlet gas tank to a out the top feed fuel cell. I really think this is my issue. i think the e2000 just dont got the balls to pull it out and get it to the motor in the higher RPM range.

what you guys think?
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2012, 11:22 AM   #57
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,846
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

I think you are on track.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2012, 12:26 PM   #58
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

well i moved the pump right next to the tank. problem is i already took back my rented fuel pressure checker thingy from autozone. but i took it out on some seasonal roads and wot 2nd gear it didnt miss a beat. my heart did a time or two cause of my body roll issues at speed. LOL. so back to the zone and pressure check it again. I still think going the walbro pump will be better but knowing i can run it on the e2000 is great for a spare when wheeling.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2012, 01:09 PM   #59
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,846
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

I would tell you that you could borrow my fuel pressure gauge but it's been MIA since KOH.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2012, 05:47 PM   #60
pigfat
GONE COMMANDO
 
pigfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-09
Location: West of Monroe Michigan
Posts: 1,872
iTrader: (51)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Im in the process of my 6.0 swap into my commando and have been following alot of post just like this. Ive read alot on people running the frame mounted fuel pumps and being a mechanic for a living knowing how much problem the fuel pressure can cause for these engines if its just a little off. I decided to run the silverado fuel pump into my aero tank. This was a great thread with great info and yes just a couple psi of pressure low will cause the lean pop at WOT.
pigfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.33655 seconds with 81 queries