Senate Bill 0509 (2003) Public Act 165 of 2003 (Effective: 10/1/2003) - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Politics, Government, or Religion Chat
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Politics, Government, or Religion Chat Bring your flamesuit!

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2006, 08:24 PM   #1
PeteC
Get Up and Go
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 2,558
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default Senate Bill 0509 (2003) Public Act 165 of 2003 (Effective: 10/1/2003)

In keeping with what I would assume is everyones desire to have truth in politics, I am bringing over this quote from CC and rebuttal from myself as it pertains to Biohazards thread about the Driver responsibility law found here: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=24614


Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
And don't bitch about it from the police, Granholm set it up to earn more money for the state

Following is the text of the original Bill 509 as sent to the Senate. I will add, to the best of my ability and in red, the political party affiliation of the state Senators that introduced this bill. With 7 Republicans and only 2 Democrats introducing this bill on the senate floor, I would hardly think that is something that can be fully and simply blamed on Granholm.

Just doing my part to clear up a few misconceptions during this time of political spin.


Quote:
SENATE BILL No. 509





May 21, 2003, Introduced by Senators GILBERT Republican, HAMMERSTROM Republican, PATTERSON Republican, GARCIA Republican, GOSCHKA Republican, SWITALSKI Democrat, SIKKEMA Republican, KUIPERS Republican and OLSHOVE Democrat and referred to the Committee on Transportation.






A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled



"Michigan vehicle code,"



(MCL 257.1 to 257.923) by adding section 732a.



THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:



1 Sec. 732a. (1) An individual, whether licensed or not, who



2 accumulates 7 or more points on his or her driving record



3 pursuant to section 320a within a 2-year period for any violation



4 not listed under subsection (2) shall be assessed a $100.00



5 driver responsibility fee. For each additional point accumulated



6 above 7 points not listed under subsection (2), a fee of $50.00



7 shall be assessed. The secretary of state shall collect the fees



8 described in this subsection once each year that the point total



9 on an individual driving record is 7 points or more.



10 (2) An individual, whether licensed or not, who violates any



11 of the following sections or another law or local ordinance that





1 substantially corresponds to those sections shall be assessed a



2 driver responsibility fee as follows:



3 (a) Upon being notified by a court that an individual has



4 been found guilty for a violation listed in this subdivision, the



5 secretary of state shall assess a $1,000.00 driver responsibility



6 fee each year for 2 consecutive years for any of the following



7 offenses:



8 (i) Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or a felony resulting



9 from the operation of a motor vehicle, ORV, or snowmobile.



10 (ii) A violation of section 601b(2) or (3), 601c(1) or (2),



11 or 653a(3) or (4).



12 (iii) A violation of section 625(1), (4), or (5), section



13 625m, or section 81134 of the natural resources and environmental



14 protection act, 1994 PA 451, MCL 324.81134, or a law or ordinance



15 substantially corresponding to section 625(1), (4), or (5),



16 section 625m, or section 81134 of the natural resources and



17 environmental protection act, 1994 PA 451, MCL 324.81134.



18 (iv) Failing to stop and disclose identity at the scene of an



19 accident when required by law.



20 (v) Fleeing or eluding an officer.



21 (b) Upon being notified by a court that an individual has



22 been found guilty for a violation listed in this subdivision, the



23 secretary of state shall assess a $500.00 driver responsibility



24 fee each year for 2 consecutive years for any of the following



25 offenses:



26 (i) Section 625(3), (6), or (7).



27 (ii) Section 626.



1 (iii) Section 904.



2 (iv) Section 3101 or 3103 of the insurance code of 1956, 1956



3 PA 218, MCL 500.3101 and 500.3103.



4 (c) Upon being notified by a court that an individual has



5 been found guilty for a violation listed in this subdivision, the



6 secretary of state shall assess a $150.00 driver responsibility



7 fee each year for 2 consecutive years for any of the following



8 offenses:



9 (i) Section 301.



10 (ii) Section 328.



11 (3) The secretary of state shall send a notice of the driver



12 responsibility assessment, as prescribed under subsection (1) or



13 (2), to the individual by regular mail to the address on the



14 records of the secretary of state. If payment is not received



15 within 30 days after the notice is mailed, the secretary of state



16 shall send a second notice that indicates that if payment is not



17 received within the next 30 days, the driver's driving privileges



18 will be suspended.



19 (4) The secretary of state may authorize payment by



20 installment for an amount of $500.00 or more for a period not to



21 exceed 12 months.



22 (5) If payment is not received or an installment plan is not



23 established after the time limit required by the second notice



24 prescribed under subsection (3) expires, the secretary of state



25 shall suspend the driving privileges until the assessment and any



26 other fees prescribed under this act are paid.



27 (6) A fee shall not be assessed under this section for 7



1 points or more on a driving record on the effective date of the



2 amendatory act that added this section. Points assigned after



3 that date shall be assessed as prescribed under subsections (1)



4 and (2).



5 (7) The secretary of state shall transmit the fees collected



6 under this section to the state treasurer for deposit into the



7 general fund.




p.s. I am in no way singling out any individual with this post. I simply read a post made by my friend Biohazardbill and am responding to some information posted as fact. This disclaimer is for anyone who might think this is a personal attack by me on CC, which it is not.
PeteC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 23rd, 2006, 09:32 PM   #2
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,441
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Pete pete pete, you are looking at a FINAL CUT of the bill, which was edited by the . Please review your basic government practices on how bills are introduced and finally are approved. This was brought to committee by the , and Goschka.

5/21/2003 SJ 48 Pg. 625 REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
5/27/2003 SJ 50 Pg. 649 REPORTED FAVORABLY WITH AMENDMENT(S)
5/28/2003 SJ 51 Pg. 665 REPORTED BY COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE FAVORABLY WITH AMENDMENT(S)
5/28/2003 SJ 51 Pg. 665 AMENDMENT(S) CONCURRED IN
5/28/2003 SJ 51 Pg. 665 PLACED ON ORDER OF THIRD READING WITH AMENDMENT(S)
6/3/2003 SJ 53 Pg. 708 AMENDMENT(S) ADOPTED
6/3/2003 SJ 53 Pg. 708 PASSED ROLL CALL # 165 YEAS 37 NAYS 0 EXCUSED 1 NOT VOTING 0
6/3/2003 HJ 46 Pg. 711 referred to Committee on Appropriations
6/10/2003 HJ 49 Pg. 763 reported with recommendation for referral to Committee on Transportation
6/10/2003 HJ 49 Pg. 763 recommendation concurred in
6/26/2003 HJ 57 Pg. 1140 reported with recommendation with substitute H-3
6/26/2003 HJ 57 Pg. 1140 referred to second reading
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1231 substitute H-3 adopted and amended
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1231 substitute H-6 adopted
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1231 placed on third reading
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1232 placed on immediate passage
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1232 passed; given immediate effect Roll Call # 414 Yeas 64 Nays 45
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1232 inserted full title
7/2/2003 HJ 59 Pg. 1232 returned to Senate
7/3/2003 SJ 67 Pg. 1172 HOUSE INSERTED FULL TITLE
7/3/2003 SJ 67 Pg. 1172 LAID OVER ONE DAY UNDER THE RULES
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 AMENDMENT(S) DEFEATED
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 AMENDMENT(S) ADOPTED
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 HOUSE SUBSTITUTE H-6 CONCURRED IN AS AMENDED
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 ROLL CALL # 371 YEAS 32 NAYS 4 EXCUSED 2 NOT VOTING 0
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 GIVEN IMMEDIATE EFFECT
7/15/2003 SJ 68 Pg. 1233 FULL TITLE AGREED TO
7/15/2003 HJ 61 Pg. 1297 postponed temporarily
7/16/2003 HJ 62 Pg. 1308 Senate amendment(s) to House substitute H-6 concurred in
7/16/2003 HJ 62 Pg. 1308 Roll Call # 448 Yeas 67 Nays 40
7/16/2003 HJ 62 Pg. 1308 re-returned to Senate
7/16/2003 SJ 69 Pg. 1303 ORDERED ENROLLED
8/13/2003 SJ 71 Pg. 1561 PRESENTED TO GOVERNOR 7/30/2003 @ 10:55 AM
9/16/2003 SJ 72 Pg. 1609 APPROVED BY GOVERNOR 8/11/2003 @ 5:35 PM
9/16/2003 SJ 72 Pg. 1609 FILED WITH SECRETARY OF STATE 8/13/2003 @ 10:18 AM
9/16/2003 SJ 72 Pg. 1609 ASSIGNED PA 0165'03 WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT

heres the original bill as it was proposed:

Bashamv = DEMOCRAT

GOSCHKA = "Republican" last 27 votes with the


Leland = DEMOCRAT

SENATE BILL No. 509





May 18, 2005, Introduced by Senators BASHAM, GOSCHKA and LELAND and referred to the Committee on Transportation.







A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled



"Michigan vehicle code,"



by amending section 801 (MCL 257.801), as amended by 2004 PA 427.



THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:



Sec. 801. (1) The secretary of state shall collect the



following taxes at the time of registering a vehicle, which shall



exempt the vehicle from all other state and local taxation, except



the fees and taxes provided by law to be paid by certain carriers



operating motor vehicles and trailers under the motor carrier act,



1933 PA 254, MCL 475.1 to 479.43; the taxes imposed by the motor



carrier fuel tax act, 1980 PA 119, MCL 207.211 to 207.234; and



except as otherwise provided by this act:



(a) For a motor vehicle, including a motor home, except as



otherwise provided, and a pickup truck or van that weighs not more



than 8,000 pounds, except as otherwise provided, according to the



following schedule of empty weights:



Empty weights Tax

0 to 3,000 pounds....................................... $ 29.00

3,001 to 3,500 pounds................................... 32.00

3,501 to 4,000 pounds................................... 37.00

4,001 to 4,500 pounds................................... 43.00

4,501 to 5,000 pounds................................... 47.00

5,001 to 5,500 pounds................................... 52.00

5,501 to 6,000 pounds................................... 57.00

6,001 to 6,500 pounds................................... 62.00

6,501 to 7,000 pounds................................... 67.00

7,001 to 7,500 pounds................................... 71.00

7,501 to 8,000 pounds................................... 77.00

8,001 to 8,500 pounds................................... 81.00

8,501 to 9,000 pounds................................... 86.00

9,001 to 9,500 pounds................................... 91.00

9,501 to 10,000 pounds.................................. 95.00

over 10,000 pounds........................ $ 0.90 per 100 pounds

of empty weight



On October 1, 1983, and October 1, 1984, the tax assessed



under this subdivision shall be annually revised for the



registrations expiring on the appropriate October 1 or after that



date by multiplying the tax assessed in the preceding fiscal year



times the personal income of Michigan for the preceding calendar



year divided by the personal income of Michigan for the calendar



year that preceded that calendar year. In performing the



calculations under this subdivision, the secretary of state shall



use the spring preliminary report of the United States department



of commerce or its successor agency. A van vehicle that is owned



by an individual who uses a wheelchair or by an individual who



transports a resident of his or her household who uses a wheelchair



and for which registration plates are issued under section 803d



shall be assessed at the rate of 50% of the tax provided for in



this subdivision.



(b) For a trailer coach attached to a motor vehicle, the tax



shall be assessed as provided in subdivision (l). A trailer coach



not under 1959 PA 243, MCL 125.1035 to 125.1043, and while located



on land otherwise assessable as real property under the general



property tax act, 1893 PA 206, MCL 211.1 to 211.157, if the trailer



coach is used as a place of habitation, and whether or not



permanently affixed to the soil, is not exempt from real property



taxes.



(c) For a road tractor, truck, or truck tractor owned by a



farmer and used exclusively in connection with a farming operation,



including a farmer hauling livestock or farm equipment for other



farmers for remuneration in kind or in labor, but not for money, or



used for the transportation of the farmer and the farmer's family,



and not used for hire, 74 cents per 100 pounds of empty weight of



the road tractor, truck, or truck tractor. If the road tractor,



truck, or truck tractor owned by a farmer is also used for a



nonfarming operation, the farmer is subject to the highest



registration tax applicable to the nonfarm use of the vehicle but



is not subject to more than 1 tax rate under this act.



(d) For a road tractor, truck, or truck tractor owned by a



wood harvester and used exclusively in connection with the wood



harvesting operations or a truck used exclusively to haul milk from



the farm to the first point of delivery, 74 cents per 100 pounds of



empty weight of the road tractor, truck, or truck tractor. A



registration secured by payment of the fee as tax prescribed in



this subdivision continues in full force and effect until the



regular expiration date of the registration. As used in this



subdivision, "wood harvester" includes the person or persons



hauling and transporting raw materials in the form produced at the



harvest site. As used in this subdivision, "wood harvesting



operations" does not include the transportation of processed



lumber, Christmas trees, or processed firewood for a profit making



venture.



(e) For a hearse or ambulance used exclusively by a licensed



funeral director in the general conduct of the licensee's funeral



business, including a hearse or ambulance whose owner is engaged in



the business of leasing or renting the hearse or ambulance to



others, $1.17 per 100 pounds of the empty weight of the hearse or



ambulance.



(f) For a vehicle owned and operated by this state, a state



institution, a municipality, a privately incorporated, nonprofit



volunteer fire department, or a nonpublic, nonprofit college or



university, $5.00 per plate. A registration plate issued under this



subdivision expires on June 30 of the year in which new



registration plates are reissued for all vehicles by the secretary



of state.



(g) For a bus including a station wagon, carryall, or



similarly constructed vehicle owned and operated by a nonprofit



parents' transportation corporation used for school purposes,



parochial school or society, church Sunday school, or any other



grammar school, or by a nonprofit youth organization or nonprofit



rehabilitation facility; or a motor vehicle owned and operated by a



senior citizen center, $10.00, per set, if the bus, station



wagon, carryall, or similarly constructed vehicle or motor vehicle



is designated by proper signs showing the organization operating



the vehicle.



(h) For a vehicle owned by a nonprofit organization and used



to transport equipment for providing dialysis treatment to children



at camp; for a vehicle owned by the civil air patrol, as organized



under 36 USC 40301 to 40307, $10.00 per plate, if the vehicle is



designated by a proper sign showing the civil air patrol's name;



for a vehicle owned and operated by a nonprofit veterans center;



for a vehicle owned and operated by a nonprofit recycling center or



a federally recognized nonprofit conservation organization; for a



motor vehicle having a truck chassis and a locomotive or ship's



body that is owned by a nonprofit veterans organization and used



exclusively in parades and civic events; or for an emergency



support vehicle used exclusively for emergencies and owned and



operated by a federally recognized nonprofit charitable



organization, $10.00 per plate.



(i) For each truck owned and operated free of charge by a bona



fide ecclesiastical or charitable corporation, or red cross, girl



scout, or boy scout organization, 65 cents per 100 pounds of the



empty weight of the truck.



(j) For each truck, weighing 8,000 pounds or less, and not



used to tow a vehicle, for each privately owned truck used to tow a



trailer for recreational purposes only and not involved in a profit



making venture, and for each vehicle designed and used to tow a



mobile home or a trailer coach, except as provided in subdivision



(b), $38.00 or an amount computed according to the following



schedule of empty weights, whichever is greater:



Empty weights Per 100 pounds

0 to 2,500 pounds........................................ $ 1.40

2,501 to 4,000 pounds.................................... 1.76

4,001 to 6,000 pounds.................................... 2.20

6,001 to 8,000 pounds.................................... 2.72

8,001 to 10,000 pounds................................... 3.25

10,001 to 15,000 pounds.................................. 3.77

15,001 pounds and over................................... 4.39



If the tax required under subdivision (p) for a vehicle of the



same model year with the same list price as the vehicle for which



registration is sought under this subdivision is more than the tax



provided under the preceding provisions of this subdivision for an



identical vehicle, the tax required under this subdivision is not



less than the tax required under subdivision (p) for a vehicle of



the same model year with the same list price.



(k) For each truck weighing 8,000 pounds or less towing a



trailer or any other combination of vehicles and for each truck



weighing 8,001 pounds or more, road tractor or truck tractor,



except as provided in subdivision (j) according to the following



schedule of elected gross weights:



Elected gross weight Tax

0 to 24,000 pounds................................... $ 491.00

24,001 to 26,000 pounds.............................. 558.00

26,001 to 28,000 pounds.............................. 558.00

28,001 to 32,000 pounds.............................. 649.00

32,001 to 36,000 pounds.............................. 744.00

36,001 to 42,000 pounds.............................. 874.00

42,001 to 48,000 pounds.............................. 1,005.00

48,001 to 54,000 pounds.............................. 1,135.00

54,001 to 60,000 pounds.............................. 1,268.00

60,001 to 66,000 pounds.............................. 1,398.00

66,001 to 72,000 pounds.............................. 1,529.00

72,001 to 80,000 pounds.............................. 1,660.00

80,001 to 90,000 pounds.............................. 1,793.00

90,001 to 100,000 pounds............................. 2,002.00

100,001 to 115,000 pounds............................ 2,223.00

115,001 to 130,000 pounds............................ 2,448.00

130,001 to 145,000 pounds............................ 2,670.00

145,001 to 160,000 pounds............................ 2,894.00

over 160,000 pounds.................................. 3,117.00



For each commercial vehicle registered under this subdivision,



$15.00 shall be deposited in a truck safety fund to be expended for



the purposes prescribed in section 25 of 1951 PA 51, MCL 247.675.



If a truck or road tractor without trailer is leased from an



individual owner-operator, the lessee, whether a person, firm, or



corporation, shall pay to the owner-operator 60% of the tax



prescribed in this subdivision for the truck tractor or road



tractor at the rate of 1/12 for each month of the lease or



arrangement in addition to the compensation the owner-operator is



entitled to for the rental of his or her equipment.



(l) For each pole trailer, semitrailer, trailer coach, or



trailer, the tax shall be assessed according to the following



schedule of empty weights:



Empty weights Tax

0 to 2,499 pounds...................................... $ 75.00

2,500 to 9,999 pounds.................................. 200.00

10,000 pounds and over................................. 300.00



The registration plate issued under this subdivision expires



only when the secretary of state reissues a new registration plate



for all trailers. If the secretary of state reissues a new



registration plate for all trailers, a person who has once paid the



tax for a vehicle under this subdivision is not required to pay the



tax for that vehicle a second time, but is required to pay only the



cost of the reissued plate at the rate provided in section 804(2)



for a standard plate. A registration plate issued under this



subdivision is nontransferable.



(m) For each commercial vehicle used for the transportation of



passengers for hire except for a vehicle for which a payment is



made under 1960 PA 2, MCL 257.971 to 257.972, according to the



following schedule of empty weights:



Empty weights Per 100 pounds

0 to 4,000 pounds....................................... $ 1.76

4,001 to 6,000 pounds................................... 2.20

6,001 to 10,000 pounds.................................. 2.72

10,001 pounds and over.................................. 3.25

(n) For each motorcycle................................. $ 23.00



On October 1, 1983, and October 1, 1984, the tax assessed



under this subdivision shall be annually revised for the



registrations expiring on the appropriate October 1 or after that



date by multiplying the tax assessed in the preceding fiscal year



times the personal income of Michigan for the preceding calendar



year divided by the personal income of Michigan for the calendar



year that preceded that calendar year. In performing the



calculations under this subdivision, the secretary of state shall



use the spring preliminary report of the United States department



of commerce or its successor agency.



Beginning January 1, 1984, the registration tax for each



motorcycle is increased by $3.00. The $3.00 increase is not part of



the tax assessed under this subdivision for the purpose of the



annual October 1 revisions but is in addition to the tax assessed



as a result of the annual October 1 revisions. Beginning January 1,



1984, $3.00 of each motorcycle fee shall be placed in a motorcycle



safety fund in the state treasury and shall be used only for



funding the motorcycle safety education program as provided for



under sections 312b and 811a.



(o) For each truck weighing 8,001 pounds or more, road



tractor, or truck tractor used exclusively as a moving van or part



of a moving van in transporting household furniture and household



effects or the equipment or those engaged in conducting carnivals,



at the rate of 80% of the schedule of elected gross weights in



subdivision (k) as modified by the operation of that subdivision.



(p) After September 30, 1983, each motor vehicle of the 1984



or a subsequent model year as shown on the application required



under section 217 that has not been previously subject to the tax



rates of this section and that is of the motor vehicle category



otherwise subject to the tax schedule described in subdivision (a),



and each low-speed vehicle according to the following schedule



based upon registration periods of 12 months:



(i) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, for the



first registration that is not a transfer registration under



section 809 and for the first registration after a transfer



registration under section 809, according to the following schedule



based on the vehicle's list price:



List Price Tax

$ 0 - $ 6,000.00....................................... $ 30.00

More than $ 6,000.00 - $ 7,000.00...................... $ 33.00

More than $ 7,000.00 - $ 8,000.00...................... $ 38.00

More than $ 8,000.00 - $ 9,000.00...................... $ 43.00

More than $ 9,000.00 - $ 10,000.00..................... $ 48.00

More than $ 10,000.00 - $ 11,000.00.................... $ 53.00

More than $ 11,000.00 - $ 12,000.00.................... $ 58.00

More than $ 12,000.00 - $ 13,000.00.................... $ 63.00

More than $ 13,000.00 - $ 14,000.00.................... $ 68.00

More than $ 14,000.00 - $ 15,000.00.................... $ 73.00

More than $ 15,000.00 - $ 16,000.00.................... $ 78.00

More than $ 16,000.00 - $ 17,000.00.................... $ 83.00

More than $ 17,000.00 - $ 18,000.00.................... $ 88.00

More than $ 18,000.00 - $ 19,000.00.................... $ 93.00

More than $ 19,000.00 - $ 20,000.00.................... $ 98.00

More than $ 20,000.00 - $ 21,000.00.................... $ 103.00

More than $ 21,000.00 - $ 22,000.00.................... $ 108.00

More than $ 22,000.00 - $ 23,000.00.................... $ 113.00

More than $ 23,000.00 - $ 24,000.00.................... $ 118.00

More than $ 24,000.00 - $ 25,000.00.................... $ 123.00

More than $ 25,000.00 - $ 26,000.00.................... $ 128.00

More than $ 26,000.00 - $ 27,000.00.................... $ 133.00

More than $ 27,000.00 - $ 28,000.00.................... $ 138.00

More than $ 28,000.00 - $ 29,000.00.................... $ 143.00

More than $ 29,000.00 - $ 30,000.00.................... $ 148.00



More than $30,000.00, the tax of $148.00 is increased by $5.00



for each $1,000.00 increment or fraction of a $1,000.00 increment



over $30,000.00. If a current tax increases or decreases as a



result of 1998 PA 384, only a vehicle purchased or transferred



after January 1, 1999 shall be assessed the increased or decreased



fee tax.



(ii) For the second registration, 90% of the tax assessed under



subparagraph (i).



(iii) For the third registration, 90% of the tax assessed under



subparagraph (ii).



(iv) For the fourth and subsequent registrations, 90% of the



tax assessed under subparagraph (iii).



For a vehicle of the 1984 or a subsequent model year that has



been previously registered by a person other than the person



applying for registration or for a vehicle of the 1984 or a



subsequent model year that has been previously registered in



another state or country and is registered for the first time in



this state, the tax under this subdivision shall be determined by



subtracting the model year of the vehicle from the calendar year



for which the registration is sought. If the result is zero or a



negative figure, the first registration tax shall be paid. If the



result is 1, 2, or 3 or more, then, respectively, the second,



third, or subsequent registration tax shall be paid. A van



vehicle that is owned by an individual who uses a wheelchair or by



an individual who transports a resident of his or her household who



uses a wheelchair and for which registration plates are issued



under section 803d shall be assessed at the rate of 50% of the tax



provided for in this subdivision.



(q) For a wrecker, $200.00.



(r) When the secretary of state computes a tax under this



section, a computation that does not result in a whole dollar



figure shall be rounded to the next lower whole dollar when the



computation results in a figure ending in 50 cents or less and



shall be rounded to the next higher whole dollar when the



computation results in a figure ending in 51 cents or more, unless



specific taxes are specified, and the secretary of state may accept



the manufacturer's shipping weight of the vehicle fully equipped



for the use for which the registration application is made. If the



weight is not correctly stated or is not satisfactory, the



secretary of state shall determine the actual weight. Each



application for registration of a vehicle under subdivisions (j)



and (m) shall have attached to the application a scale weight



receipt of the vehicle fully equipped as of the time the



application is made. The scale weight receipt is not necessary if



there is presented with the application a registration receipt of



the previous year that shows on its face the weight of the motor



vehicle as registered with the secretary of state and that is



accompanied by a statement of the applicant that there has not been



a structural change in the motor vehicle that has increased the



weight and that the previous registered weight is the true weight.



(2) A manufacturer is not exempted under this act from paying



ad valorem taxes on vehicles in stock or bond, except on the



specified number of motor vehicles registered. A dealer is exempt



from paying ad valorem taxes on vehicles in stock or bond.



(3) Until October 1, 2009, the tax for a vehicle with an empty



weight over 10,000 pounds imposed under subsection (1)(a) and the



taxes imposed under subsection (1)(c), (d), (e), (f), (i), (j),



(m), (o), and (p) are each increased as follows:



(a) A regulatory fee of $2.25 that shall be credited to the



traffic law enforcement and safety fund created in section 819a and



used to regulate highway safety.



(b) A fee of $5.75 that shall be credited to the



transportation administration collection fund created in section



810b.



(4) If a tax required to be paid under this section is not



received by the secretary of state on or before the expiration date



of the registration plate, the secretary of state shall collect a



late fee of $10.00 for each registration renewed after the



expiration date. An application for a renewal of a registration



using the regular mail and postmarked before the expiration date of



that registration shall not be assessed a late fee. The late fee



collected under this subsection shall be deposited into the general



fund.



(5) As used in this section:



(a) "Gross proceeds" means that term as defined in section 1



of the general sales tax act, 1933 PA 167, MCL 205.51, and includes



the value of the motor vehicle used as part payment of the purchase



price as that value is agreed to by the parties to the sale, as



evidenced by the signed agreement executed under section 251.



(b) "List price" means the manufacturer's suggested base list



price as published by the secretary of state, or the manufacturer's



suggested retail price as shown on the label required to be affixed



to the vehicle under section 2 of the automobile information



disclosure act, 15 USC 1232, if the secretary of state has not at



the time of the sale of the vehicle published a manufacturer's



suggested retail price for that vehicle, or the purchase price of



the vehicle if the manufacturer's suggested base list price is



unavailable from the sources described in this subdivision.



(c) "Purchase price" means the gross proceeds received by the



seller in consideration of the sale of the motor vehicle being



registered.
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 10:15 PM   #3
brewmenn
Grumpy old man.
 
brewmenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 10,460
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Kelly, Kelly, Kelly...

Please notice that Senate Bill 0509 (2003) which became Public Act 165 of 2003 (Effective: 10/1/2003) once approved
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz...e=2003-SB-0509

Is not the same thing as Senate Bill 0509 (2005) which has not been approved.
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz...e=2005-SB-0509

brewmenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 11:09 PM   #4
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,751
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Well damn it...I don't know who to blame for this then...so for now i'll just blame...umm....who is next on the blame list? I think it's 1x1_Speed_Craig. So i'll blame him.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 11:15 PM   #5
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
Well damn it...I don't know who to blame for this then...so for now i'll just blame...umm....who is next on the blame list? I think it's 1x1_Speed_Craig. So i'll blame him.
screw that.. i blame voters..
__________________
He had a steady job and watched what he spent.
He'd say I don't believe in payin' no goddamn rent.
I'll squirrel away every goddamn cent
and buy my own damn house in Kalamazoo.
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 08:51 PM   #6
PeteC
Get Up and Go
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 2,558
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Introduction and Referral of Bills



According to the

STATE OF MICHIGAN

Journal of the Senate

92nd Legislature

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jqn...-05-21-048.htm


This is how and by whom the bill was first introduced. Subsequent votes were in committee and Democrats and Republicans alike voted on all kinds of issues, including the insertion and deletion of the word "a". (Amazing what these guys spend their time doing)

I see nothing in the OFFICIAL RECORD to indicate this bill was introduced solely by those you indentify or anything with a date of 5/18/2005 (which incidently is 2 years after the bill passed )

Unless a link is provided to an official site to refute what I posted, I stand by the information I dug up.


Quote:

Senators Gilbert, Hammerstrom, Patterson, Garcia, Goschka, Switalski, Sikkema, Kuipers and Olshove introduced

Senate Bill No. 509, entitled

A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled "Michigan vehicle code," (MCL 257.1 to 257.923) by adding section 732a.

The bill was read a first and second time by title and referred to the Committee on Transportation.
I do not claim to be an expert on Government, or the best at deciphering what is happening in Lansing, but I can search the State of Michigan web sites and find true information. I may not find everything and that is why I ask for links to official sites to verify counter claims. Simple as that.

If what I posted is not true, please prove it so we can both be right.
PeteC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 08:53 PM   #7
PeteC
Get Up and Go
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 2,558
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewmenn View Post
Kelly, Kelly, Kelly...

Please notice that Senate Bill 0509 (2003) which became Public Act 165 of 2003 (Effective: 10/1/2003) once approved
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz...e=2003-SB-0509

Is not the same thing as Senate Bill 0509 (2005) which has not been approved.
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz...e=2005-SB-0509


Wow, I didn't even catch that, thanks Bruce. I thought that I had included links in this thread, I did in the other one and included a few in my answer above.
PeteC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 12:19 PM   #8
motrctyman
Just The Spouse's spouse
 
motrctyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,881
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I hate all politicians, Dem & Rep!
motrctyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Politics, Government, or Religion Chat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.40583 seconds with 46 queries