Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:30 PM   #1
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default Ford 60 changed to chevy drop

Tell me if im smoking dope...
I want to take a new ball joint Dana 60 out of a superduty and pull the tubes and change it to a chevy drop. Sounds pretty simple...but is it worth the $ savings vs buying a chevy Dana 60.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:43 PM   #2
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,642
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

you would gain a hi pinion axle. it is slightly stronger in a front application.
if you got the sd axle cheap enough, it would be a great option.
say you find a chevy axle for $800, and you can find a sd axle for $400.
in reality its probably cheaper to buy a chevy axle, even if you do it yourself.
gonna cost a chunk of change to re-tube and make mounts, assuming you do it yourself.
unless it will take a ton a fab work to put it in, then you might as well fab the sd axle.
if you have to farm out the re-tube and mounts than by all means buy a chevy axle.

its possible you are smoking dope either way? i would not know? enjoy!
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:45 PM   #3
Tab
Senior Member
 
Tab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Freeland, mi
Posts: 4,764
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Depends how bad you want a high pinion axle. And if you can do the work yourself or have a good hook up on getting it done to save some money. If you have to re tube it anyway then you may as well.
Tab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:58 PM   #4
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Well I would way rather have a high pinion..of course. Superduty axles are a lot easier to find..for me anyway. And they have unit bearings, dual piston calipers, and balljoints. For MY rig the ball joints should hold up fine assuming they are bigger than Dana 44 stuff, going to need to do high steer.
How much $ are we talking for a chunk of axle tube? Only really need it for the long side correct.
Thanks guys.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 09:05 PM   #5
4x4xdodgeman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-23-11
Location: bath
Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 4x4xdodgeman
Default

are you bolting the axel in stock sup? pass side has no preach for your spring to set on the center section on the ford axel. you do not have retube both side only one side. one side you just cut down the tube length, cut c part off.
4x4xdodgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2012, 12:18 PM   #6
chasetheface123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-13-09
Location: Boyne City
Posts: 912
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ive got a SD axle here. Pm me if you are intrested..
chasetheface123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:33 PM   #7
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Well there it is, chevy superduty 60. So far it has cost me 600$, and basically twisted my arm to do 4 link front.
So it is possible not too big a pain in the butt. And its pretty sweet when its all done.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1344997877138.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	95556  
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:44 PM   #8
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 30,818
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Did you narrow the wms to? Whats the plan for the pass side? Doesn't look like theres any room to attach to the tube unless your attaching right off the diff housing itself.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:52 PM   #9
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Kept the axle length stock to keep shafts easily available, and there is about 1.5" of available tube on ths pass side. tonight I removed a little casting on that side to make it about 3" of open tube. You may or may not be able to see in this picture.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1344999133799.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	95562  
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:53 PM   #10
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Oh btw the front axle measures 3" wider than the rear, Im ok with that, others may not be.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 09:54 PM   #11
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 30,818
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yeah really can't lol. I removed about 1.5" out of my diff housing on my 95 BJ 60 to give a little more tube to attach to as well.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2012, 09:21 PM   #12
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Here's a pic of the superduty 60 swapped, all linked up. Close to ready for paint.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2012, 12:02 PM   #13
chasetheface123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-13-09
Location: Boyne City
Posts: 912
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No linky in the post.
chasetheface123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 02:47 AM   #14
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default



Oops..

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2012, 09:42 PM   #15
big86inthestixx
Senior Member
 
big86inthestixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: howard city Mi
Posts: 2,017
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Well here is a close up of the axle installed..




All swapped.. linked, and painted.
Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
big86inthestixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.13140 seconds with 41 queries