MSD box or Alternative? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2012, 05:19 PM   #1
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default MSD box or Alternative?

I had a two year old MSD 6al cdi box go bad on me unexpectedly (no abuse). Should I get the same thing or get an alternative? Whats your experience been?
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 2nd, 2012, 05:29 PM   #2
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,636
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Don't get them wet.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2012, 07:51 PM   #3
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,340
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I bought a Summit brand msd box, it's been through hell and still works like a charm.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,759
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They no like the water, most mount inside there rigs.
Silver Bullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 07:00 AM   #5
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Gotcha on dont get them wet. I was no where near water when it quit on me. I had been working on the throttle linkage, took it to a local field, beat on it for about five or ten minutes, drove back home and shut it off to make another adjustment. No start. The jeep ran great, no symptoms of shorting out or anything. It is possible the box got wet a while back. Shorten the life maybe? I dont know. Considering a summit brand and mount it inside.
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 07:01 AM   #6
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post
I bought a Summit brand msd box, it's been through hell and still works like a charm.
How long have you had it?
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 02:24 PM   #7
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,340
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkpickle View Post
How long have you had it?
It went through 3 years of wheeling. Canada, Twisted, R&V, Silver Lake, wet, dry, snow, you name it. And by no means was it protected from the elements. Silver box on the firewall just above the blower motor.

Last edited by BigBlockBlazer; February 4th, 2014 at 07:41 AM.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 02:30 PM   #8
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,636
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I've ruined two of them that were under the hood of my mustang. Indirect water from washing the engine. I was pissed.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 02:50 PM   #9
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

I've been running my MSD 6AL for 7 years now. I have it mounted inside on the firewall though.

If I ever need to replace I'd go with a Summit brand box. They have good quality stuff.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 03:35 PM   #10
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Im going with summit. The price is right and Ive have quite a few summit products on this rig no problems with them. thanks for the response guys.
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 03:37 PM   #11
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post
It went through 3 years of wheeling. Canada, Twisted, R&V, Silver Lake, wet, dry, snow, you name it. And by no means was it protected from the elements. Silver box on the firewall just above the blower motor.
wow, wish I had that kinda luck with mine.
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 03:37 PM   #12
liftedandgifted
Senior Member
 
liftedandgifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-14-09
Location: Petoskey Michigan
Posts: 566
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 6al on the rail And it gets soaked every time I wash it or race it. After I installed it I thought I should have gotten the marine grade one. I have been lucky for 5 years so far.
liftedandgifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 05:34 PM   #13
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

What was this in? Is it in a v8 application? Was the box mounted by a big heat source such as headers? Heat will kill things very fast as well.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 06:14 PM   #14
Jeeper52
Budget, what budget?
 
Jeeper52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-11
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 680
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Dont they make an off road box now?
Jeeper52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 06:32 PM   #15
turtleturtle
Member
 
turtleturtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-08
Location: union city Mi
Posts: 86
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Call MSD an get a repair number . sent mine in (6AL) after it got soaked (powerwashed) they fixed and sent back for about $50.00. Cheaper than a new one!!
turtleturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 06:54 PM   #16
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Jeeper they do have those
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:35 PM   #17
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
What was this in? Is it in a v8 application? Was the box mounted by a big heat source such as headers? Heat will kill things very fast as well.
Its in my 46cj with v8. The box is on the fender about 5 inches from the front most header pipe. I ran it like this for over a year. You have a good point about the heat, I just built a cover for the hole I cut out of my fire wall. In fact it was my first drive with this change. No more heat escaping into the cab thus turning my engine bay into an oven. I may have cooked my box.
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:42 PM   #18
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Reason I suggest this is because I had this happen to me with a weideband controller. Had it mounted under battery try next to header and it just go to hot and stopped working.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:46 PM   #19
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,661
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I always mount them inside
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:54 PM   #20
stinkpickle
bitter clinger
 
stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: Millbury, OH
Posts: 1,103
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ordering a new one and mounting it inside. Yep, I think I cooked it.
stinkpickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17737 seconds with 80 queries