2005 ford focus dash cluster issue - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 3rd, 2011, 02:08 PM   #1
mikeswmikesweat73
Crazy
 
mikeswmikesweat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 609
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 2005 ford focus dash cluster issue

Last winter i was driving down i-75 and everything on my dash panel quit working except my fuel guage. All of the lights (check engine, o/d off, fuel cap open, seat belt, etc.) All came on. The car still runs and drives like normal and still gets the same gas mileage so I haven't worried about it. I am thinking of selling it and would like to fix this beforehand. I have checked most of the fuses. I don't know how to check the relays and the big fuses under the hood though. Any ideas on what the problem is? Thanks, mike
mikeswmikesweat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 3rd, 2011, 02:31 PM   #2
Medic8
You call, we haul.
 
Medic8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 1,492
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Turn your monitor towards the car so I can get a better look.

Just messing with you. Check the fuse that says "OBD" in the owners manual. It should be in the underhood box. Also, see if your cigarrette lighter works. If the lighter isn't working (this sounds dumb, I know), chances are, the fuse for the OBD (on board diagnostics) bus is blown. This is also what sends the signal to the gauges in the dash.

If those are OK, take the instrument cluster out and check for loose wiring. Wiggle stuff and see if it comes back or not.
Medic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 02:39 PM   #3
mikeswmikesweat73
Crazy
 
mikeswmikesweat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 609
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The cigarette lighter works. There is no obd fuse. There is a data link connector, a pats modules/instrument cluster, and a/c switch/instrument cluster all of which are under the dash and All of which are good
mikeswmikesweat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 03:01 PM   #4
mikeswmikesweat73
Crazy
 
mikeswmikesweat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 609
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

There is not one under the hood labeled obd either. There is an engine management 20amp big fuse that looks good. There is a engine module(kap) normal fuse that is good. And there is an engine management relay that I don't know how to check to see if it's good
mikeswmikesweat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 04:09 PM   #5
Medic8
You call, we haul.
 
Medic8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 1,492
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Check the Restraint Control Module fuse as well. I just looked at the wiring diagram and it looks like the OBD bus isn't fused directly on your car, but is run through the RCM. It's fuse number F2.60 in the interior fuse box. 7.5A fuse. Also, if you know someone with a "code reader", you can try to see if it will read any codes on your car. If it won't sense that it's connected, the bus is probably down.

If that's not it, time to start checking for loose connectors in the instrument panel.
Medic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 12:09 AM   #6
mikeswmikesweat73
Crazy
 
mikeswmikesweat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 609
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

cool thanks for the info
mikeswmikesweat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2012, 12:59 PM   #7
mikeswmikesweat73
Crazy
 
mikeswmikesweat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 609
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok, it's been a while. I bought a used instrument cluster off of ebay that is supposed to be good. Hooked it up, and I have the exact same problem. If anybody has any more info/ideas on this I would appreciate it. I have checked all fuses that would seem to be a possibility.
mikeswmikesweat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2012, 08:42 AM   #8
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,953
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Try disconnecting the alternator, I have seen the regulators cause issues with the cluster. Otherwise those cars had issues with corrosion/mold on the printed ckt. board. You need to take to cover off the back and see if you see any. If so clean it with alcohol and apply diaelc. grease to it.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14623 seconds with 46 queries