89 toyota pickup 4.3 swap - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2015, 08:36 PM   #1
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 89 toyota pickup 4.3 swap

People that have done this swap what are you running for transfer case, I will be running a 4l60e trans and motor and trans are from an 01, I'm looking at maybe running a Dana 300
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 21st, 2015, 11:29 AM   #2
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 4,680
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

Why not a 208?
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

04 gmc Sierra 2500 crew cab quadrasteer tow pig
87 yj Laredo amc360/ax15/231 amc20/dana30 410s and truetracs
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, built231HD (atlas soon),d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 01:01 PM   #3
974x4Taco
Flex Is OverRated
 
974x4Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 2,640
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wramblerguy View Post
Why not a 208?
Slip yoke
No lower gear sets available
no strength upgrades available
chain driven
aluminum case

Dana 300 would be my choice...common, tons of after market support, ect.

You could use a Toyota case as well.
974x4Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 02:48 PM   #4
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm not up on my Toyota stuff yet so not sure on the case that came in the truck.... It was a 3.0 truck with 5 speed, I have a 300 sitting ready for tear down and it would be a direct bolt in but I have heard of people having front drive shaft clearance issues with the 4l60e/300 combo I can post a pic of the toyota when I get home and see if its worthy of my time
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 02:50 PM   #5
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Plus the 208 is bigger and I'm trying to keep things semi light in terms of transfer cases
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 02:53 PM   #6
974x4Taco
Flex Is OverRated
 
974x4Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 2,640
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

It's not. You would need to find a gear driven case from a 4 cyl 5 speed truck. Putting it behind a 4.3 i would want upgraded outputs in it. By the time you adapt it to the trans then upgrade the outputs you will be well over the cost of the 300 for a weaker case.
974x4Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 05:54 PM   #7
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok, have you heard of any clearance issues with the 4l60/300 combo ?
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 06:30 PM   #8
974x4Taco
Flex Is OverRated
 
974x4Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 2,640
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I can't help you there....my suspicion is there is a ton of variables (axle offset, high/low pinion, lift height, ect) that come in to play trying to determine that.
974x4Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 08:07 PM   #9
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, I offset motor to try and get the most amount of clearance every thing seems to be good at this point. Thanks for the help !
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2015, 08:11 AM   #10
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here is my yota by the way !




branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2015, 09:27 PM   #11
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,671
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I helped my buddy swap a 4.3 into his '85 4Runner years ago. The things I do remember:

He used Astro van exhaust manifolds
The Yota computer would run the throttle body
He used a 300 and that sombitch was noisy

The power to weight seemed pretty danr good and it was just a stock 4.3 IIRC
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2015, 12:49 PM   #12
branch92
Only in a jeep
 
branch92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Alpena, Mi
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm running a vortec 4.3 with some computer tuning
branch92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 
Page generated in 0.67455 seconds with 61 queries