1978 k10 fuel gauge/sending unit questions - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 15th, 2012, 02:27 PM   #1
kyl_maxwell
Senior Member
 
kyl_maxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-10
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 264
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 1978 k10 fuel gauge/sending unit questions

My truck has twin tanks but the left one leaks badand the tank switch doesn't work so I only use the right(pass) tank, the fuel gauge didn't work in the old gauge cluster so I put a 1973 cluster in it and I know this gauge works. If I took the wire that comes outta the right(pass) side tanks and hooked it up directly to the fuel gauge wire in the back of the gauge cluster it should work right, right? It reads way past full now could the sending unit be bad itself?
kyl_maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 15th, 2012, 04:21 PM   #2
kyl_maxwell
Senior Member
 
kyl_maxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-10
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 264
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Help please I'm dreaming of wiring diagrams I'm looking at the so much!
kyl_maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2012, 08:03 PM   #3
mcampau
Member
 
Join Date: 12-19-11
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes, connecting the wire out of the working tank to the gauge directly will work. The sending unit itself absolutely could be bad. Make sure you have a good ground from the spade terminal on the sending unit to the frame somewhere. When the tank is empty it should read 0 ohms and full is 90 ohms. If you have to, remove the sender from the tank to test it.
mcampau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2012, 05:09 PM   #4
kyl_maxwell
Senior Member
 
kyl_maxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-10
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 264
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thank you will try to test sending unit
kyl_maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2012, 05:11 PM   #5
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

don't forget to make sure the cab has a proper ground to the frame or it won't work
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2012, 06:05 AM   #6
RADRICK
Senior Member
 
RADRICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-28-09
Location: Galien, Mi
Posts: 454
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just went through the same type of issue with my 80 chevy plow truck. I am pretty decent with electrical, and I wasted a lot of time trying to use the factory wiring & guage. I ended up just buying a 2" fuel guage and putting it in the factory location (my dash has factory tach). Really simple install- keyed 12v wire, ground wire, sender wire. It was like $30 bucks, and I should have done it sooner.
RADRICK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12625 seconds with 38 queries