00 S10 Blazer 4wd won't engage - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 31st, 2011, 01:18 PM   #1
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 00 S10 Blazer 4wd won't engage

Push button 4wd.

I replaced the 4wd Actuator under the battery tray and checked the vaccum line and that is all good and checked connections.

My 4wd worked about a month and a half ago, now it won't. The lights on the push button sometimes flickers (all at the same time), sometimes just the 2hi flickers, and other times the 2hi light just stays on like it should. I push the button 4hi or even 4lo and nothing happens, no light, no shifting.

I am not sure what could be the problem now.

The blazer is a stick shift if that matters at all. Also there is a constant clicking under the glove box which sounds like the blinker and stops when I push the brake or hold down the emergency flashers. I changed the relay which solved nothing. Not sure if that would have anything to do with the 4wd problem.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 31st, 2011, 01:39 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default



regardless of the lights in the dash it will not shift if the T case switch is bad. the flashing is most likely telling you it can't complete the task.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 01:46 PM   #3
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I will try that next, thanks.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 07:26 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 07:47 PM   #5
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,555
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Most common problem with those are the transfer case encoder motor that bolts to the side of the tcase or the transfer case control module that is located in the passenger side kick panel. If you need some more info PM me.
__________________
If your thinking about dealing with JoshuaCripe read the link below first!!
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=219276
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 07:52 PM   #6
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

I've got a parts case for sale just a small crack in the houseing. Should have the sensor and a good motor. If your interusted lmk and ill make sure.
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 12:37 PM   #7
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well, it wasn't the transfer case switch, on to bigger an more exspensive things. But first I am trying junkyard pieces.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 02:53 PM   #8
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Mine wont drop into 4low unless its under 5mph and has the clutch in and 4high wont engage after a certain speed either. If the computer isn't happy with any of these inputs the lights will flash and what not.

Maybe check were the computer gets this information from and check there? A bad switch could be sending the wrong signal to the computer.

Edit: If you find where these switches are and figure out how to by pass them let me know. I would like to remove mine.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 03:00 PM   #9
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

I could engauge my 4 high at 70mph and the only time the lights flashed was when there was wheel spin.
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 03:50 PM   #10
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Its just wierd because I used the 4wd not that long ago, and always engaged it at a stand still. Now it won't do anything standing still or moving.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 04:13 PM   #11
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

might want to pull the motor on the case and check it. Put a cressant wrench on the shaft and twist to see if it moves freely.
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2012, 02:26 PM   #12
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I got a t-case encoder motor and t-case control module from the junkyard. I started with the control module to see if I get anything, then I will do the encoder motor if that fails.

Edit: After tryin it out for a day or so, absolutely nothing happened. So the junyard control module controled nothing. Back to the old one and trying out the encoder motor.

Last edited by 98-S10-lifted; January 3rd, 2012 at 09:04 AM.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2012, 04:36 PM   #13
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So far I am not getting anywhere, I guess I will give it a little while to reset and see from there.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2012, 04:47 PM   #14
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,742
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

put a crate or something under there, see if the encoder motor even shifts.
deerebowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2012, 04:54 PM   #15
chadcooper55
expert jeep disassembler
 
chadcooper55's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-28-08
Location: kent city mi
Posts: 8,025
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Had this problem with my 99 sierra. The soldier cracked on the computer switch behind the dash switch where the wiring harness ties into it. I used a little butane soldiering iron and some small soldier and fixed it.
chadcooper55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2012, 01:44 PM   #16
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Problem fixed. I gave up and just took it to the dealership and ended up being a wiring issue. Didn't get raped too bad on the cost.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2012, 10:57 AM   #17
Jeep_Shaun
That 1 Jeep Guy..
 
Jeep_Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-28-08
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 2,956
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I have a similar issue.. I had some help from a shop, and they told me the actuator I had was still good, so I did not replace that. (did not have 4wd at all) we replaced the transfercase switch and now I have 4 low but no 4 high, and the lights flash and sometimes work. I would like to keep the stock 4wd system, but if i need to I will just do the posi lock conversion. I am confused, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks...

by the way mine is a 1995.. automatic

Last edited by Jeep_Shaun; January 14th, 2012 at 11:03 AM.
Jeep_Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2012, 11:18 AM   #18
98-S10-lifted
Senior Member
 
98-S10-lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-08
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It was wiring on mine, I had frayed wires. I was told it was from underneath the vehicle. Can't find my paperwork but it was wires from either the encoder motor or the control module.

They way it sounds is that you have an electrical problem too and probably moved the wire enough while doing the t-case switch to get low to work. So I would say check all the wires to see if they have any bad spots.

Don't know how much money you have to work with but I took the easy way out and took it to a chevy dealer to get it fixed. $100 to "inspect it" but that cost goes towards fixing the problem. Only cost me $200 from them.
98-S10-lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19892 seconds with 76 queries