Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 6th, 2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
early vortec trans options

okay i got a 1996 chevy tahoe today with a bad 4l60e and rebuilding is out of the question so im wondering if i can put this th350/205 i have in it and will it still run right?
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 06:10 PM   #2
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
I'm going to say no, based on all the inputs the PCM expects to see from the transmission. You might be able to have a custom tune done and / or search for the same setup in a pickup with a manual trans.

If you can, grab the part number from the computer and I'll tell you what is possible.
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 06:18 PM   #3
TanTahoe
Senior Member
 
TanTahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-07
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 454
iTrader: (9)
It will bolt up. Few problems you many run into.

1. Speedometer will not work. A few people on here said you can get a VSS sensors that will work on adapting the gear in the trans to an electric signal, which should help with this.

2. I am assuming you are planning on running a Chevy 205 t case? If so, your diff on the Tahoe is on the wrong side.
If running a Ford 205, you will most likely have to remove the electric motor on the front did and replace it with a posilock 4x4 manual lever to get the front axle to engage.

3. More then likely you will have a few lights come on the dash, no big deal. if you have a tailgate on it, you will not be able to pop the hatch(needs to be in park to do so and computer will not know you have it in park due to no more single from trans).

Might be more Im missing, that just a few I can think of right now.
TanTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 11:48 PM   #4
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TanTahoe View Post
It will bolt up. Few problems you many run into.

1. Speedometer will not work. A few people on here said you can get a VSS sensors that will work on adapting the gear in the trans to an electric signal, which should help with this.

2. I am assuming you are planning on running a Chevy 205 t case? If so, your diff on the Tahoe is on the wrong side.
If running a Ford 205, you will most likely have to remove the electric motor on the front did and replace it with a posilock 4x4 manual lever to get the front axle to engage.

3. More then likely you will have a few lights come on the dash, no big deal. if you have a tailgate on it, you will not be able to pop the hatch(needs to be in park to do so and computer will not know you have it in park due to no more single from trans).

Might be more Im missing, that just a few I can think of right now.
sas 71 chevy 44 so the chevy 205 is what il be running pass side drop.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2012, 10:00 PM   #5
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
I'm going to say no, based on all the inputs the PCM expects to see from the transmission. You might be able to have a custom tune done and / or search for the same setup in a pickup with a manual trans.

If you can, grab the part number from the computer and I'll tell you what is possible.
the "white" side of the computer has the numbers as follows left to right top to bottom
serv no. 16244210 babc
*86babc35072jjbl 1615180

the "black" side says
babc ga 068329
039074
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 09:07 AM   #6
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
Those are the numbers I needed.

Bad news is that that is a PCM that I cannot get code for - and I'm not sure I can even get to the EPROM to upload the hex to see if I can hack it.

Sorry - I can't help.
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 09:14 AM   #7
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
no problem thanks for trying
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 04:36 PM   #8
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
what computer do i need so i can run a th350? or 700r4? i need to get this thing rolling
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 05:59 PM   #9
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
Well, you would need a 16197427 with the pigtails, then you would have to repin your harness into the "new" PCM connectors. After that, you need someone that can get in and make the old TBI software work with the Vortec injection.

In other words - it'll be way easier, possibly cheaper, to go with a 4L60E.
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 08:05 PM   #10
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
Well, you would need a 16197427 with the pigtails, then you would have to repin your harness into the "new" PCM connectors. After that, you need someone that can get in and make the old TBI software work with the Vortec injection.

In other words - it'll be way easier, possibly cheaper, to go with a 4L60E.
I've decided I will find a 4l60e. Thanks for all the help guys.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2012, 08:55 PM   #11
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
got a 4l60e. got the old trans out should have the new trans in tomorrow if my tq converter is here.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2012, 10:43 AM   #12
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11581 seconds with 34 queries