early vortec trans options - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default early vortec trans options

okay i got a 1996 chevy tahoe today with a bad 4l60e and rebuilding is out of the question so im wondering if i can put this th350/205 i have in it and will it still run right?
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 6th, 2012, 06:10 PM   #2
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,482
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I'm going to say no, based on all the inputs the PCM expects to see from the transmission. You might be able to have a custom tune done and / or search for the same setup in a pickup with a manual trans.

If you can, grab the part number from the computer and I'll tell you what is possible.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 06:18 PM   #3
TanTahoe
Senior Member
 
TanTahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-07
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 454
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It will bolt up. Few problems you many run into.

1. Speedometer will not work. A few people on here said you can get a VSS sensors that will work on adapting the gear in the trans to an electric signal, which should help with this.

2. I am assuming you are planning on running a Chevy 205 t case? If so, your diff on the Tahoe is on the wrong side.
If running a Ford 205, you will most likely have to remove the electric motor on the front did and replace it with a posilock 4x4 manual lever to get the front axle to engage.

3. More then likely you will have a few lights come on the dash, no big deal. if you have a tailgate on it, you will not be able to pop the hatch(needs to be in park to do so and computer will not know you have it in park due to no more single from trans).

Might be more Im missing, that just a few I can think of right now.
TanTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 11:48 PM   #4
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TanTahoe View Post
It will bolt up. Few problems you many run into.

1. Speedometer will not work. A few people on here said you can get a VSS sensors that will work on adapting the gear in the trans to an electric signal, which should help with this.

2. I am assuming you are planning on running a Chevy 205 t case? If so, your diff on the Tahoe is on the wrong side.
If running a Ford 205, you will most likely have to remove the electric motor on the front did and replace it with a posilock 4x4 manual lever to get the front axle to engage.

3. More then likely you will have a few lights come on the dash, no big deal. if you have a tailgate on it, you will not be able to pop the hatch(needs to be in park to do so and computer will not know you have it in park due to no more single from trans).

Might be more Im missing, that just a few I can think of right now.
sas 71 chevy 44 so the chevy 205 is what il be running pass side drop.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2012, 10:00 PM   #5
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
I'm going to say no, based on all the inputs the PCM expects to see from the transmission. You might be able to have a custom tune done and / or search for the same setup in a pickup with a manual trans.

If you can, grab the part number from the computer and I'll tell you what is possible.
the "white" side of the computer has the numbers as follows left to right top to bottom
serv no. 16244210 babc
*86babc35072jjbl 1615180

the "black" side says
babc ga 068329
039074
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 09:07 AM   #6
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,482
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Those are the numbers I needed.

Bad news is that that is a PCM that I cannot get code for - and I'm not sure I can even get to the EPROM to upload the hex to see if I can hack it.

Sorry - I can't help.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 09:14 AM   #7
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no problem thanks for trying
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 04:36 PM   #8
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what computer do i need so i can run a th350? or 700r4? i need to get this thing rolling
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 05:59 PM   #9
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,482
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Well, you would need a 16197427 with the pigtails, then you would have to repin your harness into the "new" PCM connectors. After that, you need someone that can get in and make the old TBI software work with the Vortec injection.

In other words - it'll be way easier, possibly cheaper, to go with a 4L60E.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2012, 08:05 PM   #10
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
Well, you would need a 16197427 with the pigtails, then you would have to repin your harness into the "new" PCM connectors. After that, you need someone that can get in and make the old TBI software work with the Vortec injection.

In other words - it'll be way easier, possibly cheaper, to go with a 4L60E.
I've decided I will find a 4l60e. Thanks for all the help guys.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2012, 08:55 PM   #11
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 354
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

got a 4l60e. got the old trans out should have the new trans in tomorrow if my tq converter is here.
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2012, 10:43 AM   #12
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,482
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18582 seconds with 56 queries