Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 28th, 2011, 08:58 AM   #1
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default 2002 chevy s-10 4.3 need help.

I have a 2002 zr2 with a 4.3 The engine light was on and code said misfire. i changed the plugs, wires cap and rotor. Also checked compression on all cylinders when I did the tune up. The light went off for about 3 days. no it comes on intermitently usually is off at idle, once you start to drive and get up to about 30mph the light comes back on and will flash. code now reads random/multiple misfire. Any idea of where to go with this? anyone have a similiar problem? Also not sure if it is normal for these 4.3's but the oil pressure (when hot) will drop down to around 5-10 at idle and then up to about 40 when you are driving. Im sure the miss fire could be effecting some of that. It looks like the sending unit was replaced by a previous owner and the plugs/wires looked fairly new. I think I may be chasing the same problems the previous owner was chasing...lol Any help you be appreciated.
Thanks Dana,
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:01 AM   #2
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What kind of tune up parts did you use?
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:04 AM   #3
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I got everything from autozone and got the cheaper stuff. they had like 3 different prices for different brands etc. You think that could be part of it? I had another guy say that the cheap wires may be the cause.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:08 AM   #4
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

oh also right after I did the tune up if you hammered it and put the truck under a load you could hear a fast ticking. (spark/arching sound) I thought it may just be a spark nock. but when it was doing that it never threw any codes. And I have not heard it since. When I did the tune up I put di-electric grease on the inside of the wires to help keep out moisture.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:09 AM   #5
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Gm cars don't like anything but gm plugs,and autolites are worse thing you can use in a Gm.
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:13 AM   #6
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFS SUCKS View Post
Gm cars don't like anything but gm plugs,and autolites are worse thing you can use in a Gm.

Hummmm I will have to look I think they may have been autolite.

If they are should I change to acdelco? I think thats a gm plug?

Last edited by trailrail302; October 28th, 2011 at 09:20 AM.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:24 AM   #7
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,547
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailrail302 View Post
I got everything from autozone and got the cheaper stuff. they had like 3 different prices for different brands etc. You think that could be part of it? I had another guy say that the cheap wires may be the cause.
Thats your problem right there!! Never buy ANYTHING from the zone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFS SUCKS View Post
Gm cars don't like anything but gm plugs,and autolites are worse thing you can use in a Gm.
X2

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailrail302 View Post
Hummmm I will have to look I think they may have been autolite.

If they are should I change to acdelco? I think thats a gm plug?
Definetley change them to ACdelco and put an ACdelco cap and rotor on it also.
__________________
If your thinking about dealing with JoshuaCripe read the link below first!!
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=219276
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:31 AM   #8
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttercr125 View Post
Thats your problem right there!! Never buy ANYTHING from the zone.



X2



Definetley change them to ACdelco and put an ACdelco cap and rotor on it also.
What do you think about the wires?

Man that sucks, Im sure I cant return that chunk now... I would have never thought it would make that much of a differnece.


I will look tonight to see what brands all this crap was.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:43 AM   #9
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 30,691
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

I had an O2 sensor cause a shit ton of misfire in my older silverado with a 5.3, replaced the o2 sensor and I was good to go.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 10:17 AM   #10
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
I had an O2 sensor cause a shit ton of misfire in my older silverado with a 5.3, replaced the o2 sensor and I was good to go.
was it throwing misfire codes?
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 02:51 PM   #11
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFS SUCKS View Post
Gm cars don't like anything but gm plugs,and autolites are worse thing you can use in a Gm.
X2 use all ac delco parts, there is a reason gm used them on the assembly line, our bravada had 140k on it before I did the first tuneup and to be honest everything still looked pretty good.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 03:06 PM   #12
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Check you distributer for play up, down, side to side, and check for slop. Easiest way is to just pull it and check the gear as its only one bolt. I went through the entire ignition system looking for my miss fire, and found a worn distributor gear to be my problem.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 03:21 PM   #13
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,391
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

I can't tell you how many times ive installed autozone ignition parts and had to redo the job cause the parts are junk.. Toss in some delco plugs and some car quest wires rotor and cap. and i'd bet your problem goes away

Shit ill throw 5k casino cash on this bet
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 03:55 PM   #14
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadey View Post
Check you distributer for play up, down, side to side, and check for slop. Easiest way is to just pull it and check the gear as its only one bolt. I went through the entire ignition system looking for my miss fire, and found a worn distributor gear to be my problem.
Yes this happened to my Tahoe as well,but mine never miss fired just quit running.
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2011, 12:21 PM   #15
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Ok I have delco plugs. Wires are Duralast and the cap/ rotor are truegrade. I put a coil on it this weekend. it runs strong. but light still comes on. I think I might replace the cap/rotor and wires and see what that does. if thats not it I think it might be the Cat.

Who knows, I think im going to sell the truck.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2011, 12:23 PM   #16
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 30,691
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailrail302 View Post
was it throwing misfire codes?
yes sir
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2011, 07:28 PM   #17
ChevyRacer1981
Throw'in turtles........
 
ChevyRacer1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: Sagnasty / MI
Posts: 2,358
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

AC Delco parts only on the GM's.
ChevyRacer1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2011, 12:29 PM   #18
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I just read something that the belt tensioner pulley could cause this??? Mine has a bit of movement in it. (moves about 1/4" while it is running) This sounds very strange to me but could the random misfire have anything to do with the belt tensioner being bad?
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2011, 12:39 PM   #19
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,356
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

well, most misfire algorithms look at changes in crankshaft acceleration - a belt tensioner jumping around *might* be enough... (?)
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2011, 09:49 PM   #20
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 1,919
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Well for starters whoever told u it could be the belt tensioner is a retard and I've had this issue with a bout a half dozen customer vehicals and every time I fixed it by installing a new distributor
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.18943 seconds with 50 queries