Low Oil Pressure Warning Light - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2011, 09:19 AM   #1
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Low Oil Pressure Warning Light

Was wondering if anyone runs one in there rig? I'm just finishing up w/ my bbc engine build and thought it might be a good idea to have one.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/RE...1280/?rtype=10
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 22nd, 2011, 11:48 AM   #2
jeepguy74
Senior Member
 
jeepguy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-14-06
Location: wellston (west of cadillac)
Posts: 2,861
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i believe that any warning device that will warn ya to low oil too high water temp and so on is well worth your time to install
jeepguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2011, 11:56 AM   #3
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

20 psi? Seems kinda high... Could wire it in to kill the ignition too your running a gauge right?
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2011, 12:07 PM   #4
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freak View Post
20 psi? Seems kinda high... Could wire it in to kill the ignition too your running a gauge right?
Yep, but when your running in the mud it's kinda hard to watch all the gauges
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2011, 02:29 PM   #5
BadMoonRacing500
Freedom isn't Free
 
BadMoonRacing500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-10
Location: Harbor Springs MI
Posts: 781
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

We always run them in stock cars. No time to look at gauges either. I think you can get 10-15 psi senders to. check speedway motors.
BadMoonRacing500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2011, 02:31 PM   #6
BadMoonRacing500
Freedom isn't Free
 
BadMoonRacing500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-10
Location: Harbor Springs MI
Posts: 781
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here you go they have adjustable ones http://www.speedwaymotors.com/Race-G...s-Senders.html
BadMoonRacing500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2011, 09:29 AM   #7
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I ran the 10- 15 psi from moroso...
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2011, 08:35 PM   #8
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have a warning light setup for 20 psi and a 10 psi ignition kill in my camaro. 10 psi IMO is not enough to run an engine on without doing damage and would rather be safe then sorry.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2011, 05:09 AM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

factory senders click on at 7 psi
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 07:37 AM   #10
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
factory senders click on at 7 psi
Ya that's what i'm finding, it just seams like that's not enough to run a engine!!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12330 seconds with 50 queries