Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 15th, 2011, 09:46 AM   #1
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 625
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Wiring in an electronic carb choke

It's a Holley 600 or 650 with an electronic choke on it - It's grounded, but has no power to it. What's a good power source to tap into for this? It's on an 85 Chevy with a 400 small block. Not sure what to tie it into.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #2
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
Run it through a relay that is powered by your alternator field wire - that way, you don't power the coil if you're not moving the engine. i.e. sitting in the car, engine stopped with the ignition in ACC
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,115
iTrader: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squishy View Post
It's a Holley 600 or 650 with an electronic choke on it - It's grounded, but has no power to it. What's a good power source to tap into for this? It's on an 85 Chevy with a 400 small block. Not sure what to tie it into.
You could tap into the distributor power feed.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:57 AM   #4
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 625
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeperz Creeperz View Post
You could tap into the distributor power feed.


Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 11:10 AM   #5
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,138
iTrader: (58)
[QUOTE=Squishy;2781681]Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.[/QUOTE]

Google is your friend. Just ask him.
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 11:24 AM   #6
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 625
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
[quote=SANDVIPR;2781691]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squishy View Post
Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.[/QUOTE]

Google is your friend. Just ask him.


Already did - Found a diagram I can use rather easily. Managed to find the Holley install instructions, too. Suppose I should've done that in the first place.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 12:24 PM   #7
ScOoTeR
GLFWDA Member #07520
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,222
iTrader: (35)
LOL - does holley suggest a relay?
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 01:11 PM   #8
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 625
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
LOL - does holley suggest a relay?
Doesn't look like it. Just says wire to 12V power source.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 02:19 PM   #9
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 19,953
iTrader: (21)
I've never used a relay, just used coil or any other keyed hot.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10193 seconds with 28 queries