Wiring in an electronic carb choke - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2011, 09:46 AM   #1
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Default Wiring in an electronic carb choke

It's a Holley 600 or 650 with an electronic choke on it - It's grounded, but has no power to it. What's a good power source to tap into for this? It's on an 85 Chevy with a 400 small block. Not sure what to tie it into.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #2
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,481
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Run it through a relay that is powered by your alternator field wire - that way, you don't power the coil if you're not moving the engine. i.e. sitting in the car, engine stopped with the ignition in ACC
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,119
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squishy View Post
It's a Holley 600 or 650 with an electronic choke on it - It's grounded, but has no power to it. What's a good power source to tap into for this? It's on an 85 Chevy with a 400 small block. Not sure what to tie it into.
You could tap into the distributor power feed.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:57 AM   #4
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeperz Creeperz View Post
You could tap into the distributor power feed.


Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 11:10 AM   #5
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,463
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

[QUOTE=Squishy;2781681]Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.[/QUOTE]

Google is your friend. Just ask him.
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 11:24 AM   #6
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Default

[quote=SANDVIPR;2781691]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squishy View Post
Someone had told me find one of the ignition wires, but I'd be damned if I can follow anything in this truck more than 1 foot. Both of those may work out fine - At least those, I can get to easily enough.

I've never had to wire a relay in though, I'd be lost on that one.[/QUOTE]

Google is your friend. Just ask him.


Already did - Found a diagram I can use rather easily. Managed to find the Holley install instructions, too. Suppose I should've done that in the first place.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 12:24 PM   #7
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,481
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

LOL - does holley suggest a relay?
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 01:11 PM   #8
Squishy
Needs More Cowbell
 
Squishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-07
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Squishy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
LOL - does holley suggest a relay?
Doesn't look like it. Just says wire to 12V power source.
Squishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 02:19 PM   #9
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,062
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

I've never used a relay, just used coil or any other keyed hot.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17817 seconds with 47 queries