gmc jimmy - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 30th, 2011, 04:19 PM   #1
kasespinney
Newbie
 
kasespinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-10
Location: davison, mi
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default gmc jimmy

we reaplaced the engine in our jimmy and cant get the fireing down cant figure out the distributer we took it apart and dont know how to realighn it up we found tdc and lined up the 3 paint marks on it and wont fire we didnt put the marks on it but still dont know what to do please help
kasespinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 30th, 2011, 04:37 PM   #2
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Who pulled and marked the distributor? If someone else did then you should not have turned the motor to tdc, instead you should have just dropped the dizzy back in and lined up the marks. Now the marks are useless, just rotate the motor to tdc and align the mark on the harmonic balancer and point the rotor to #1 cylinder, this will get you in the ballpark enough to start it, if it still wont start you have other issues, forgot to hook up a wire or something.

What year is this? If it is a 1998 or newer after you get it running you will need to take it to a shop or find someone with a TechII or SnapON solus and have a crankshaft relearn procedure performed on it. It basically calibrates the computer with the crankshaft position sensor. When ever you change the crankshaft position sensor, computer or in your case the whole motor in a 1998 or newer GM you need to preform this procedure, your CEL may or may not come on until you do but even if it does not set a CEL you should still do it!
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 04:48 PM   #3
GREASYHANDS
arachnis deathacis
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Ravenna
Posts: 12,823
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

^^^ not entirely true. You do need to have the scanner to set the timing. A crankshaft relearn is also good to do but not needed on a motor swap.

Align the mark on the balancer to the front cover timing mark. If the engine is a vortec the distributor will have a mark on it for 6 or 8 clys. point the rotor at the #6 on the dizzy. This will place the rotor facing the pass side of the engine. tighten every thing up and try that, if it wont fire turn it 180 deg and try again.
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
Pavement sucks
Meow
GREASYHANDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 07:55 PM   #4
kasespinney
Newbie
 
kasespinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-10
Location: davison, mi
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

its a 97 and its a new block and we didnt mark it and on the distributer do u align it with the #1 where the wire comes out or where the prong is at
kasespinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 08:10 PM   #5
ChevyRacer1981
Throw'in turtles........
 
ChevyRacer1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: Sagnasty / MI
Posts: 2,358
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasespinney View Post
its a 97 and its a new block and we didnt mark it and on the distributer do u align it with the #1 where the wire comes out or where the prong is at

Line it up with the prong under the cap going to #1 plug wire.
ChevyRacer1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 08:15 PM   #6
GREASYHANDS
arachnis deathacis
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Ravenna
Posts: 12,823
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

^^^ this.

The number 6 will be right under the rotor on the distributor case. Once you line both up it should fire .
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
Pavement sucks
Meow
GREASYHANDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 09:02 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i'm thinking you didn't plug a sensor in. crank sensor could get missed easily due to it's location.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2011, 03:56 AM   #8
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
i'm thinking you didn't plug a sensor in. crank sensor could get missed easily due to it's location.
This is what I am thinking also, even if the timing was way way off you would at least get a sputter, backfire, ect. Did you check to see if you are getting spark and fuel?
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14403 seconds with 46 queries