Dish TV Question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 18th, 2011, 05:10 PM   #1
RockyMtnMike
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-14-06
Location: Brownstown
Posts: 1,318
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Dish TV Question

I have never had Sat TV before so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I have 5 TV's in my house and according to Direct TV and Dish Network I would be charged extra for anything over 2 TV's. Is there any equipment I can buy in order to watch these "extra" TV's without being charged $7 for each TV? I think in this day and age charging for extra TV's is just plain dumb since most households have more and it isn't costing them anymore to send the signal to my house, highway robbery I tell ya!
RockyMtnMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 18th, 2011, 05:48 PM   #2
homerdogeo8
booger eatin' moron
 
homerdogeo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-08
Location: St Johns
Posts: 2,329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Nope, you pretty much have to put up with what they give you and pay whatever they want to charge you. Don't forget to tack on the monthly fee so you don't have to pay for service calls when the cheap equipment craps out on you. You can buy used receivers but they will screw you over if they are out of date and need the card updated.

There's a reason the CEO of Dish Network is a billionaire and it doesn't involve giving customers a break on pricing.
homerdogeo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 09:44 AM   #3
Marine_mike
SNSHTF
 
Marine_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-08
Location: Mount Clemens/MI
Posts: 1,944
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I worked as an installer for dish. The reason behind the charges is that unlike cable, there has to be a receiver for the TVs. Both dish and Direct have a single receiver that can control two separate TVs independently. What you can do is have them "mirror" (duplicate the image) of each of those TVs. That can be done by anyone with the right cable. Your best bet is to get the following when ordering from Dish.

For HD TV with DVR in the main 2 rooms
(1) 722K (mirror the two signals to other 2 rooms)
(1) 211k (single room)

For standard TV and DVR
(1) 625
(1) 311

Also when you place your order, insist on getting an installer that is employed by Dish. Not trying to knock the contractors, but they have to buy their equipment and sometimes they can't afford the stuff that is supplied by dish.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo View Post
I like you Mike.
Marine_mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 09:45 AM   #4
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,504
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Your going to love the Dish when it Rains lol
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 10:12 AM   #5
dreamchaser
Senior Member
 
dreamchaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Harrison, Clare County
Posts: 216
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockstar View Post
Your going to love the Dish when it Rains lol
And depending on where it's installed, clearing off the snow in the winter!!
dreamchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 11:07 AM   #6
homerdogeo8
booger eatin' moron
 
homerdogeo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-08
Location: St Johns
Posts: 2,329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockstar View Post
Your going to love the Dish when it Rains lol
I've had dish for years and very rarely have any problems with rain or snow, but where I live there is no other choice other than direct tv and ota.

Another thing with the dvr, there is an additional programming charge every month on top of the equipment charge.

I'm running three tv's off one receiver so it saves a little bit of money. As long as it's an HD dual receiver there is HDMI and Colorstream or RGB outputs. I run one tv off the HDMI, another tv off the colorstream (rgb cables) both of those tv's have to watch the same channel though and run the third tv off the second tv output. The 2nd tv output is independent of the other two.
homerdogeo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 11:20 AM   #7
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,985
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

I would not have a TV if I were still single. Instead, I have a $138/month DirecTV bill.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 11:28 AM   #8
homerdogeo8
booger eatin' moron
 
homerdogeo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-08
Location: St Johns
Posts: 2,329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
I would not have a TV if I were still single. Instead, I have a $138/month DirecTV bill.
I keep threatening myself to disconnect it but I've been too lazy to get out and set up and hook up the ota antennas. I should probably do that before this winter.
homerdogeo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 11:30 AM   #9
Immortal
NO RELIGION WAT!
 
Immortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: In my garage
Posts: 25,799
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Default

Dish is the suck
Immortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 11:30 AM   #10
howell_jeep
Last Free Man
 
howell_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Howell Twp, MI 48836
Posts: 10,848
iTrader: (69)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamchaser View Post
And depending on where it's installed, clearing off the snow in the winter!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerdog View Post
I've had dish for years and very rarely have any problems with rain or snow, but where I live there is no other choice other than direct tv and ota.
x3

I have not had problems during rain or snow. I never clear snow off the dish.

I think you only have these problems if you are installing on a 4x6 wood pole.
howell_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2011, 06:30 PM   #11
Steve-in-Petoskey
Looking to ride
 
Steve-in-Petoskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-28-07
Location: Petoskey area
Posts: 1,718
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve-in-Petoskey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerdog View Post
You can buy used receivers but they will screw you over if they are out of date and need the card updated.
buy the insurance for the first few months until the little cables in the back are dead and they will die soon.they have to come and replace them and thats their dime since you have the $5 a month insurance. after that drop the insurance and save the $5 a month, we havent had a problem since the cables died and took off the insurance 6 months ago.
Steve-in-Petoskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.84142 seconds with 53 queries