TPI. No injector pulsing.. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2006, 04:41 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,614
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default TPI. No injector pulsing..

I understand that the injectors should have 12V when the key is on. They do

I know the ECM grounds out the injectors to fire them. I'm curious how to monitor the ignition pulse wire to the ECM that controls the injectors.. Is it a open/close loop for the pulse wire from distributor to ecm, or is it putting resistance on it?
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 17th, 2006, 06:20 PM   #2
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,913
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Here ya go Bub-Rub...

tpi-pin-voltage.pdf
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 06:32 PM   #3
Mongo
.
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 8,042
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I believe it's open/close, controlled from the injector driver in the ecm. You should be able to check it with one of those little "peanut" lights(#194?) just bend out the prongs and plug them into the injector plug on the wire off of the injector. It should show if you have + and a good ground. Also, what's your fuel pressure, I think it should be like 34-47????
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 06:33 PM   #4
Mongo
.
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 8,042
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws
Here ya go Bub-Rub...

tpi-pin-voltage.pdf
I type slow.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 06:37 PM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,614
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws
Here ya go Bub-Rub...

tpi-pin-voltage.pdf

clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 06:48 PM   #6
Mongo
.
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 8,042
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker
I try so hard to win your approvial.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 07:54 PM   #7
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,614
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dads95yj
I try so hard to win your approvial.



Not after you call and wake my ass up at 7am. :miff:

clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 08:21 PM   #8
Mongo
.
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 8,042
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do it run?

And it was 9:30, 1/2 the day was gone.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 08:42 PM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default



CC see the #5? thats the one I think your distrib is missing
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 03:35 PM   #10
Tonka
YJ build in progress
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lapeer Township, Mi.
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tonka Send a message via Yahoo to Tonka
Default

He's running an HEI distributor, like the one on the left
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 03:48 PM   #11
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,913
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonka
He's running an HEI distributor, like the one on the left

Well that's just dumb....:miff:
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 06:42 PM   #12
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonka
He's running an HEI distributor, like the one on the left

Notice that BOTH have a 4 wire connector? the TPI needs to know what the distrib is doing in order to place its port time in sequence. without the trigger wires to the computor you are dead in the water. from what I talked to cc about last night in chat he didn't have any of the 4 wires hooked up.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 07:33 PM   #13
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,614
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I ordered a new loaded distr today.. I was not getting impulses out of it for the ECM to read..

The replacement parts were 87 bucks, or a new one was 109.

Its worth 22 bucks not having to take it apart.

Hopefully she fires tomorrow.
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 08:06 PM   #14
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

cool
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 09:08 PM   #15
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,913
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default



Keep us posted.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 10:29 PM   #16
Mongo
.
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 8,042
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker
I ordered a new loaded distr today.. I was not getting impulses out of it for the ECM to read..

The replacement parts were 87 bucks, or a new one was 109.

Its worth 22 bucks not having to take it apart.

Hopefully she fires tomorrow.
:stan3:
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22074 seconds with 70 queries