Torque converter interchangeability? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 29th, 2011, 08:30 AM   #1
Carbon
Yooper
 
Carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: U.P. Michigan
Posts: 1,203
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Torque converter interchangeability?

I have two torque converters. One from a 700r4 and one from a 4l60e. Will these interchange?
Carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 08:36 AM   #2
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,807
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Is there a tag on the 4l60E converter? some will but I need to know the code on the tag/sticker.
Tranny Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 08:46 AM   #3
Carbon
Yooper
 
Carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: U.P. Michigan
Posts: 1,203
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The tag has conveniently pealed off and I can not make out any of the numbers. Around the outer ribs of the 4l60e tc it has 7's going all the way around. And the 700r4 has 5's.

Also the 4l60e has marker writing that says c-39 and the 700r4 has a tag that says df5f 868.

Anything from that?
Carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 01:37 PM   #4
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,807
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

The 4l60E will have a similar code as the 700r4. Can you give me the casting # off of the 4l60e Case? It should be above the pan rail on the passenger side towards the back.
Tranny Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2011, 03:22 PM   #5
Carbon
Yooper
 
Carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: U.P. Michigan
Posts: 1,203
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Never mind. The 700r4 I picked up today came with the torque converter.
Carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.07780 seconds with 34 queries