302 locked up / wrong firing order? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:10 AM   #1
chevyk10
FORD / GM
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell
Posts: 891
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default 302 locked up / wrong firing order?

So long story short, this dumbass kid was trying to figure out the firing order on my friends 302 after they rebuilt it, and he wound up hooking the spark plug wires up wrong and the motor fired then locked up solid. (Never saw the kid again after that btw) The motor is completely built up and now has been sitting for 2 years since then. My friend told me he'd sell it to me for $250 bucks cause he doesn't wanna mess with it anymore. Just wondering if anyone has any idea why it would have locked up? Definetly gonna buy it though to replace the 300 six in my F150.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:12 AM   #2
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 19,993
iTrader: (167)
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Default

ive never seen one lock up from that
__________________
H.o.r.e
(mr.green)So you are calling CC a liar?? Not a nice way to treat your bitch.
tube bending and gear installs pm me for info! gears installed for $150 and up per axle.
bigbchevy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:18 AM   #3
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,851
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

I know a guy that went to start his newly rebuilt engine and it locked up, turned out someone dropped a nut or bolt down the intake and it sat on top of a piston and got pressed up to the head and locked the motor up.

Took it out, put it back together and it ran just fine.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:33 AM   #4
rentalrider
Senior Member
 
rentalrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-07
Location: West Branch, Mi
Posts: 1,055
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah I don't see how that would lock it up personally, just not run. I'd suspect something else.
rentalrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:52 AM   #5
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,101
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Never seen lock up from that either,id buy it if your competent the machine work was done correctly,tear it apart and retrieve the kids dads socket he's been missing from his toolbox.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:56 AM   #6
chevyk10
FORD / GM
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell
Posts: 891
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rentalrider View Post
yeah I don't see how that would lock it up personally, just not run. I'd suspect something else.
Yeah I was thinking the same thing and I couldn't see how that would lock it up either. I guess I'll never know until I buy it and take it apart.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 11:57 AM   #7
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,657
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

and post what was wrong with it when you do
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 12:02 PM   #8
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,101
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

After thinking about this a little more im thinking why replace a 300 six with a weezin lil 302? The six makes more torque,probly the same horse power or real close.ford small blocks are turds,why do you think every fast mustang you ever see has a blower or turbo on it,or its so hyper it has no life span.id stick with the six. Just my $02.
I did have a stock oil pump drive sheer off with a hv pump, which locked up a brand new ford 302 i built when i was a kid.butt you would have to have had the motor running to do that.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 12:38 PM   #9
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,851
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
After thinking about this a little more im thinking why replace a 300 six with a weezin lil 302? The six makes more torque,probly the same horse power or real close.ford small blocks are turds,why do you think every fast mustang you ever see has a blower or turbo on it,or its so hyper it has no life span.id stick with the six. Just my $02.
I did have a stock oil pump drive sheer off with a hv pump, which locked up a brand new ford 302 i built when i was a kid.butt you would have to have had the motor running to do that.
Right, nope. But you could put a 351 in it.

Seems most uneducated people compare the Ford 302 to a Chevy 350 or similar and downplay the ford. Compare it with the 351 and it will be much closer.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 12:40 PM   #10
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,851
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
After thinking about this a little more im thinking why replace a 300 six with a weezin lil 302? The six makes more torque,probly the same horse power or real close.ford small blocks are turds,why do you think every fast mustang you ever see has a blower or turbo on it,or its so hyper it has no life span.id stick with the six. Just my $02.
I did have a stock oil pump drive sheer off with a hv pump, which locked up a brand new ford 302 i built when i was a kid.butt you would have to have had the motor running to do that.
No need for a HV pump and that is common if you put one in.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 12:50 PM   #11
Toivo
Feel lucky?
 
Toivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-24-06
Location: Denver
Posts: 5,148
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

was it timed properly? valves hitting pistons can cause lockups.
Toivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 02:50 PM   #12
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

well its a long shot but I have seen engine backfire and run backwards. it could be that while trying to get it running it did just that. if the oiling system wasn't primed or it ran a bit longer then it should have backward the lack of oiling would have froze he bearings after they over heated.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 07:15 PM   #13
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 11,288
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
After thinking about this a little more im thinking why replace a 300 six with a weezin lil 302? The six makes more torque,probly the same horse power or real close.ford small blocks are turds,why do you think every fast mustang you ever see has a blower or turbo on it,or its so hyper it has no life span.id stick with the six. Just my $02.
I did have a stock oil pump drive sheer off with a hv pump, which locked up a brand new ford 302 i built when i was a kid.butt you would have to have had the motor running to do that.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2011, 09:00 PM   #14
chevyk10
FORD / GM
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell
Posts: 891
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Cause my 300 is extremely slow and this 302 is completely built up with all high proformance parts. Can't stand going 55 then bogging down to 45 every time I hit a hill.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2011, 01:46 PM   #15
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would not spend money to buy and engine that is locked up just to find out whats wrong with it. Call me stupid for not throwing my money away, doesn't matter if it is hopped up with expensive parts or not. Keep your 300 and regear your axles to keep your power band where you want it and save a lot of money.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20194 seconds with 65 queries