lunchbox lockers - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2011, 03:50 PM   #1
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default lunchbox lockers

I have an aussie right now in my rear and looking to lock the front. The aussie for a d30 is out of stock and I need it before april 7th. What do you guys suggest I do?
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 11th, 2011, 03:57 PM   #2
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Did you look @ the Spartans lockers? There a lunchbox locker as well, I'm gonna be ordering one for my Dana 60 front soon!!

Here's some info: http://www.jpmagazine.com/techarticl...an_locker.html

https://www.4wdfactory.com/store/pro...Spartan-Locker
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 05:04 PM   #3
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've heard about them as well as lockright but how do they compare to an aussie?
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 06:18 PM   #4
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't have small axles so I've never been able to use Aussie. Haven't seen any bad reviews for them yet!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 06:31 PM   #5
89xjr
sommertyme 4x4
 
89xjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-10
Location: charlotte.MI
Posts: 444
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

2 years ago I put a spartan locker in my d30 front and haven't had any trouble. I work the hell out it as well!
89xjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 07:00 PM   #6
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 31,538
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I have always run lockrites, in my d30 and now my d60. No issues yet!
Trail Junkie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 07:27 PM   #7
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is running a dana 35 aussie in my d30 a bad idea?
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 07:34 PM   #8
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,191
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst4you View Post
Is running a dana 35 aussie in my d30 a bad idea?
Other than the fact that it won't fit, no, not at all.
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 07:43 PM   #9
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,535
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst4you View Post
Is running a dana 35 aussie in my d30 a bad idea?
I just did some reading on it, and as long as you have the right size side gear d35 locker it looks like it would work
littletrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 07:47 PM   #10
Complete Off Road
4x4 Parts and Service
 
Complete Off Road's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-03-10
Location: Dubuque IA
Posts: 818
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

http://completeoffroad.com/i-1400324...sl-d30-27.html

in stock. Usually 1-2 day shipping to MI.
__________________
Buy with confidence from the #1 Authorized Dealer of Yukon Gear and Axle Off Road Products

the ONLY Yukon Dealer to offer a COMPLETE Lifetime Warranty on ALL Yukon ring and pinion sets*

563-583-5363
Andy@CompleteOffroad.com


Use code "GL4X4" at checkout for 5% off SSC branded products at CompleteOffroad.com

Yukon, USA Standard, ARB, RCV, Warn, Currie, Bubba Rope, Master Pull, Trail Defense, and more
Authorized Yukon Dealer since 1998

Like us on Facebook!

*Yukon ring and pinion sets must be purchased at full retail price to be eligible for warranty
Complete Off Road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:03 PM   #11
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tie Dyed View Post
Other than the fact that it won't fit, no, not at all.
It will fit. Just want to make sure it will work right.
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:04 PM   #12
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littletrucker View Post
I just did some reading on it, and as long as you have the right size side gear d35 locker it looks like it would work
How do I kno if the side gear is right?
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:09 PM   #13
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 31,538
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Why not just run the right one? I don't thing the price is that much different
Trail Junkie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:09 PM   #14
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,535
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If its a 35 from a tj, i think it will fit. the 92-older ones had a different size side gear.

I couldnt find the side gear size on a 30 with google
littletrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:10 PM   #15
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,535
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail Junkie View Post
Why not just run the right one? I don't thing the price is that much different
Id defiantly run the right one if you were ordering them, but if you already had the 35 locker that's a lot cheaper than ordering a new one
littletrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:11 PM   #16
Andy72
future ffa-er
 
Andy72's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-10
Location: out on the farm
Posts: 913
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst4you View Post
How do I kno if the side gear is right?
IIRC, pre 93 d35s had the 1.625" side gear bore, 94 and later had the 1.5"
Andy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:19 PM   #17
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,178
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I want to run the right one but the aussie isnt available for a d30 at the moment. Im already have a rear aussie for my d44 and am unsure about spartan. Shall I wait run a lockright wait for the d30 aussie or run a d35 one in it?
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:22 PM   #18
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 31,538
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

As I posted before, run a lockrite
Trail Junkie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:24 PM   #19
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,535
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Id just buy a different brand if you are ordering one
littletrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:26 PM   #20
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've got a Spartan in my rear. Never had a problem with it yet.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22427 seconds with 80 queries