Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 27th, 2011, 08:06 PM   #1
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
302 redline?

What is the fastest rpm a stock 302 can be run up to?? its a truck motor...
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 08:07 PM   #2
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,418
iTrader: (11)
6500
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 09:02 PM   #3
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,115
iTrader: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle-eye View Post
What is the fastest rpm a stock 302 can be run up to?? its a truck motor...
Depends on a few variables, but it can range from 5500 to 6500, although they typically peak (power-wise) around 5800-6100rpm, depending on year.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 09:04 PM   #4
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 17,542
iTrader: (155)
i would keep it under 6000
__________________
H.o.r.e
(mr.green)So you are calling CC a liar?? Not a nice way to treat your bitch.
tube bending and gear installs pm me for info! gears installed for $150 and up per axle.
bigbchevy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 10:07 PM   #5
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,418
iTrader: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbchevy View Post
i would keep it under 6000
i would try 5500 1st then try working up to 6000 6100 62000 ect.. not all motor a built the same..
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 10:23 PM   #6
84mudder
Senior Member
 
84mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-09
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 1,020
iTrader: (16)
Send a message via AIM to 84mudder
mine peaks around 5,500 id say..
84mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 05:12 PM   #7
Tacker
Mall Rated....
 
Tacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Fruitport / Muskegon
Posts: 9,680
iTrader: (23)
6000 is a good number
__________________
Cheap Thrills Offroad Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by alboy79 View Post
My peronal hero... the man i aspire to be... the one, the only.... Terry... aka Tacker
Tacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 10:21 AM   #8
lovebite
BAMF
 
lovebite's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-09
Location: Downriver
Posts: 165
iTrader: (2)
It also depend on what type of lifters you are going to run and if they are hydraulic what kind of quality: old, new, brand.
lovebite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 10:26 AM   #9
90Notch306
Senior Member
 
90Notch306's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-10
Location: Waterford, Mi
Posts: 723
iTrader: (5)
If it is a stock motor then you aren't making any power past 5000
90Notch306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 06:57 PM   #10
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
stock motor, and i have a tach. at full bore the rpms peak at about 4500. how do i change this in an obd1 type vehicle?
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 10:02 PM   #11
90Notch306
Senior Member
 
90Notch306's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-10
Location: Waterford, Mi
Posts: 723
iTrader: (5)
Do you mean it wont rev past 4500?
90Notch306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 10:08 PM   #12
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle-eye View Post
stock motor, and i have a tach. at full bore the rpms peak at about 4500. how do i change this in an obd1 type vehicle?
Weld lobes back on cam? Um ya.lotsa reasons it wont rev,plugd convertor?free rev or under power?
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 01:38 PM   #13
mfelsk1505
AMSOIL DEALER
 
mfelsk1505's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-09
Location: Travers city Michigan
Posts: 510
iTrader: (4)
my bronco loves to be around 4500
mfelsk1505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10102 seconds with 36 queries