Stuck in 4Hi - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:32 AM   #1
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Stuck in 4Hi

while coming to work this a.m. , I used 4Hi for about 2 miles of my journey. After getting to work I tried to go back to 2 Hi, it tries to make the change but returns to 4Hi. Is it frozen? or have I broken something? 2000 K2500 7.4L push button 4x4
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:36 AM   #2
PCK_4xCustoms
r00t4r3d
 
PCK_4xCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-08
Location: livonia
Posts: 1,913
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to PCK_4xCustoms
Default

Disco the battery for a minute. reconnect and try again.
PCK_4xCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:43 AM   #3
Moorelev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-17-11
Location: Michigan
Posts: 240
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If what PCK said doesnt work, push your switch and listen for a click, if you hear one, then its triing. If not, its electrical. If you do hear a click it might be a vacuum leak in the engage/disengage system. Some trucks are designed to revert to 4x4 to prevent getting stuck if this happens. Ill ask some friends for some advice as well.
Moorelev is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:46 AM   #4
PCK_4xCustoms
r00t4r3d
 
PCK_4xCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-08
Location: livonia
Posts: 1,913
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to PCK_4xCustoms
Default

or pull the tcase, cut a hole in your floor and replace it with a stick tcase ha. those E units suck, had one in a work vehicle and that happened 4 times in a month. A real PITA when going from a ditch to the Eway.
PCK_4xCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 04:40 PM   #5
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

will try batt disco. havent done that yet. it goes from 4hi to 4 lo flawlessly. however, it appears that there is an actuator at the bottom of the t-case that has 2 wires coming form it that tries to move something but it's not sounding like it's successful in making the change.

The switch is definately making the attempt and it acts like it wants to go .........it just wont
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 05:10 PM   #6
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Battery disconnect=fail
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 06:53 PM   #7
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

the pug on the stepping motor has water in it. seen it before, it shorts the alignment point and the T case loose place of where it is. un-plug the motor and clean the pins then use dialectic grease in the plug to keep water out
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 07:03 PM   #8
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks Yetti, will try this.
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2011, 12:41 PM   #9
Moorelev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-17-11
Location: Michigan
Posts: 240
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

hey i know this is SUPER old, but whatever happened?
Moorelev is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2011, 11:01 PM   #10
88Chev
Newbie
 
88Chev's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-10
Location: Mount Prospect, IL.
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 88Chev Send a message via Skype™ to 88Chev
Default

Well, I personally would have (like with my S10), she didn't want to get out of 4Hi. I just turned her off, put it in neutral and was able to get it out of 4.
88Chev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2011, 05:53 AM   #11
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the problem is still there. I think I need a t-case, but, I had the t-case scanned, no codes. my short term solution was to get another front axle actuator, cut it off short on the bandsaw and install in front end. to get 4 whell drive, I have to crawl under to change actuators. Im gonna have to get this fixed by a pro because there are just too many things that could be causing the problem. Hell, the problem could be in the front end as well. The t-case always returns to 4-hi, which was the last good command.
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14478 seconds with 55 queries