Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:32 AM   #1
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Stuck in 4Hi

while coming to work this a.m. , I used 4Hi for about 2 miles of my journey. After getting to work I tried to go back to 2 Hi, it tries to make the change but returns to 4Hi. Is it frozen? or have I broken something? 2000 K2500 7.4L push button 4x4
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:36 AM   #2
PCK_4xCustoms
r00t4r3d
 
PCK_4xCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-08
Location: livonia
Posts: 1,912
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via AIM to PCK_4xCustoms
Disco the battery for a minute. reconnect and try again.
PCK_4xCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:43 AM   #3
Moorelev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-17-11
Location: Michigan
Posts: 240
iTrader: (0)
If what PCK said doesnt work, push your switch and listen for a click, if you hear one, then its triing. If not, its electrical. If you do hear a click it might be a vacuum leak in the engage/disengage system. Some trucks are designed to revert to 4x4 to prevent getting stuck if this happens. Ill ask some friends for some advice as well.
Moorelev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:46 AM   #4
PCK_4xCustoms
r00t4r3d
 
PCK_4xCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-08
Location: livonia
Posts: 1,912
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via AIM to PCK_4xCustoms
or pull the tcase, cut a hole in your floor and replace it with a stick tcase ha. those E units suck, had one in a work vehicle and that happened 4 times in a month. A real PITA when going from a ditch to the Eway.
PCK_4xCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 04:40 PM   #5
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
will try batt disco. havent done that yet. it goes from 4hi to 4 lo flawlessly. however, it appears that there is an actuator at the bottom of the t-case that has 2 wires coming form it that tries to move something but it's not sounding like it's successful in making the change.

The switch is definately making the attempt and it acts like it wants to go .........it just wont
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 05:10 PM   #6
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Battery disconnect=fail
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 06:53 PM   #7
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,382
iTrader: (10)
the pug on the stepping motor has water in it. seen it before, it shorts the alignment point and the T case loose place of where it is. un-plug the motor and clean the pins then use dialectic grease in the plug to keep water out
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 07:03 PM   #8
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
Thanks Yetti, will try this.
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2011, 12:41 PM   #9
Moorelev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-17-11
Location: Michigan
Posts: 240
iTrader: (0)
hey i know this is SUPER old, but whatever happened?
Moorelev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2011, 11:01 PM   #10
88Chev
Newbie
 
88Chev's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-10
Location: Mount Prospect, IL.
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to 88Chev Send a message via Skype™ to 88Chev
Well, I personally would have (like with my S10), she didn't want to get out of 4Hi. I just turned her off, put it in neutral and was able to get it out of 4.
88Chev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2011, 05:53 AM   #11
Gr8wht2000GMC
Senior Member
 
Gr8wht2000GMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-06
Location: Bellevue Mi
Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)
the problem is still there. I think I need a t-case, but, I had the t-case scanned, no codes. my short term solution was to get another front axle actuator, cut it off short on the bandsaw and install in front end. to get 4 whell drive, I have to crawl under to change actuators. Im gonna have to get this fixed by a pro because there are just too many things that could be causing the problem. Hell, the problem could be in the front end as well. The t-case always returns to 4-hi, which was the last good command.
Gr8wht2000GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11972 seconds with 34 queries