Dana 30 Posi Lock System - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2011, 09:09 AM   #1
jordanpetruska
Member
 
jordanpetruska's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-11-10
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 46
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Dana 30 Posi Lock System

I've got a 90 YJ and my vacuum actuator isnt working at all. followed all my lines, cant find any breaks or leaks, yet i have no vacuum to the axel. I've been looking into the Posi - lok systems that run off a pull cable. Can anyone give me any advice on where to get one? how much im going to spend? and if they work?

I've read on a couple forums about guys making these systems for around
$30. And i look online and find the complete system for upwards of $200. The snow is melting, the trails are getting muddy and i wanna go play!

If anyone has any ideas or suggestions please let me know.

thanks.
jordanpetruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 19th, 2011, 02:41 PM   #2
yyj87
Senior Member
 
yyj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-10
Location: Traverse city(Silver Lake)
Posts: 1,674
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordanpetruska View Post
I've got a 90 YJ and my vacuum actuator isnt working at all. followed all my lines, cant find any breaks or leaks, yet i have no vacuum to the axel. I've been looking into the Posi - lok systems that run off a pull cable. Can anyone give me any advice on where to get one? how much im going to spend? and if they work?

I've read on a couple forums about guys making these systems for around
$30. And i look online and find the complete system for upwards of $200. The snow is melting, the trails are getting muddy and i wanna go play!

If anyone has any ideas or suggestions please let me know.

thanks.

If your not locked in the front just run a stack of washers! Sure you will spin the front driveshaft all the time but tjs did from the factory.

IMHO the vacume disco would be worth fixing, theres a cheep switch that threads into the TC near the spedo cable. That could be your issue!






Shawn
yyj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:58 PM   #3
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,069
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Im pretty sure the hot ticket is to put a tj or xj non disco.right axle shaft in your yj and just cap the actuater mount. Im sure ill be corrected if im wrong.or put a new vacum switch in the top of your t-case and make vacum again.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 11:09 PM   #4
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,005
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

D30 homebrew posi lok
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 11:19 PM   #5
chadcooper55
expert jeep disassembler
 
chadcooper55's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-28-08
Location: kent city mi
Posts: 8,033
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
Im pretty sure the hot ticket is to put a tj or xj non disco.right axle shaft in your yj and just cap the actuater mount. Im sure ill be corrected if im wrong.or put a new vacum switch in the top of your t-case and make vacum again.
if this will work (i dont know anything about it) i may have an extra tj shaft laying around, i dont remember if i sold my extra shafts or not. i will give you a call if i got one. i will be home from cali monday night. you need to bring the new ride over and break it in one of these days!
chadcooper55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 11:22 PM   #6
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,005
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

How-To: TJ Axle Shaft Conversion
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 11:39 PM   #7
chadcooper55
expert jeep disassembler
 
chadcooper55's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-28-08
Location: kent city mi
Posts: 8,033
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
thanks for the tech find mb ill let you know jordan.
chadcooper55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 12:01 AM   #8
two_much_talk
sit down shut up and ...
 
two_much_talk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-13-06
Location: MI
Posts: 5,697
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
did it ... didn't work as well as it was made out to work. maybe I screwed something up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
did it 2 weeks ago. works fine. that particular tech article isn't bad but seemed to go about things the hard way?

pm me if you need some advice.
two_much_talk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 12:06 AM   #9
HVYRTFT
Reed my teef
 
HVYRTFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-07
Location: Whitehall,MI
Posts: 2,445
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
Im pretty sure the hot ticket is to put a tj or xj non disco.right axle shaft in your yj and just cap the actuater mount. Im sure ill be corrected if im wrong.or put a new vacum switch in the top of your t-case and make vacum again.
x2. I've done this several times.
HVYRTFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 12:08 AM   #10
yyj87
Senior Member
 
yyj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-10
Location: Traverse city(Silver Lake)
Posts: 1,674
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

This guy wants to go wheeling now!


Pull that actuator out and use a peice of garden hose/ fuel line to hold it in the locked position so that you can wheel untill get your mind made up and parts in hand.

Or go to the auto parts and buy a new vacume switch and spend 7 minuites installing it so that the system works as intended. I have used bothe the home made and the 200 dollar cable lockers and there a bitch to operate. Buy the damn switch.






Shawn
yyj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 01:00 PM   #11
jordanpetruska
Member
 
jordanpetruska's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-11-10
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 46
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

oh it'll be out on your little playground as soon as the 4x4 is working.
jordanpetruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 01:02 PM   #12
jordanpetruska
Member
 
jordanpetruska's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-11-10
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 46
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

tj shaft looks like the winner. have to see what i can do about finding one now.
jordanpetruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 08:41 AM   #13
wilinsonlevi
Team Thumbs Up
 
wilinsonlevi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 3,353
iTrader: (45)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I have 4
wilinsonlevi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Tags
posi lok posi lock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18710 seconds with 59 queries