Can you run tbi on a older 350 block - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2011, 10:37 PM   #1
little_yj_95
Senior Member
 
little_yj_95's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-09
Location: Britton, Mi
Posts: 457
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Can you run tbi on a older 350 block

I have a friend that said you can put a tbi intake on a carb motor you just have to re-drill 4 holes? Would you have to change the heads and cam on the old block to make it work or would they be fine? He has a tbi motor that junk and a 80,000 mile carb motor that is good. Would all the sensors swap over?

Last edited by little_yj_95; January 6th, 2011 at 11:07 PM.
little_yj_95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 6th, 2011, 10:58 PM   #2
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,646
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Needs a crank sensor to run correctly
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 11:16 PM   #3
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Easiest way would be a tbi adapter. Still need a crank sensor though.
http://www.amazon.com/Trans-Dapt-220.../dp/B000CQ20PK
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 12:42 AM   #4
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes you can. Just swap the intake or get an adapter (under 100$) and bolt it inbetween the carb flange n the tb. You do NOT need a crank sensor. Unless you running the last couple years of tbi there is NO crank sensor. If its like 87 to 94 or so your good. Non vortec is the key. I ran a 94 tbi in an s10 w a gen 1 motor worked fine. However I will warn you now. The thing will most likely run like shit do to the fact that the computer is tuned for an entirely different motor ie head flow camm specs etc etc. Your going to need a custom burn prom for the computer (tbichips.com is where I'd go it like 200$ n built for your specs) I've been thru all of this years ago. Best bet is to get all the stuff you need from the same truck if possible n look into chips. It will run maybe not even bad but not like it should ie very hesitant weird idle after like ten mins etc. Its not that bad don't worry. And please run an o2 sensor... Its needed and I see it often left out
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 12:52 AM   #5
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

And yes all of the sensors swap over. Tbi is simple. They may not mount the same if you run a carb intake but all there really is is an 02 and a map sensor and a knock sensor... All of which can go anywhere. the rest, oil, water (x2) coil are self explanatory
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 01:41 AM   #6
insane88yj
Member
 
insane88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-08
Location: Allegan MI
Posts: 2,364
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I ran a early 80's bottem end with compu cam With 93 top end using all the sensors & had no problem in a 93 truck I had
insane88yj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 01:50 AM   #7
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Man I have the same double post issues w my phone lol. But yea you ran the tbi top end.. Heads? That half the major difference between carb n efi motors. The tbi head are SUPER restricted compared to the carb motor. If you ran the heads n cam ( only if its a non roller bearing) one your carb short block you'd have damn near the exact combo of a tbi motor
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 01:53 AM   #8
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

And when I said it would run bad I meant like if you tried to put a single plane intake brodix track 1 heads n a 240 at .50 cam in it. Tbi isn't very smart... It can't think much for itself so the less you change the less it will hate you
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 01:55 AM   #9
Chevyota
Senior Member
 
Chevyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-10
Location: Ishpeming, MI
Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by efi355 View Post
And yes all of the sensors swap over. Tbi is simple. They may not mount the same if you run a carb intake but all there really is is an 02 and a map sensor and a knock sensor... All of which can go anywhere. the rest, oil, water (x2) coil are self explanatory
and the temp sensor.


Iam in the process of doing a stand alone tbi on a 283 I found that its better to have the $40 adapter plate than screw with the whole intake but it is possible to just drill the 4 center holes and get wedges for the bolt heads .
Chevyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 02:11 AM   #10
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I said water temp sensor... There's two btw one for gauge one for efi. And yes. I wish I knew which direction you were going w this motor... If you use the tbi heads use tbi intake and it equals tbi motor. Use carb motors heads use carb intake n adapter equals frankenstien tbi motor. O and the rest of the sensors that seem to scare you are self contained on the throttle body ie tps n iac
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 02:23 AM   #11
insane88yj
Member
 
insane88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-08
Location: Allegan MI
Posts: 2,364
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Wow not sure how or eaven relised it double posted. weard.
No im on a desk top not cell.
insane88yj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 06:19 AM   #12
little_yj_95
Senior Member
 
little_yj_95's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-09
Location: Britton, Mi
Posts: 457
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm not a motor guy but I think I readed somewhere that pre 86 blocks were non roller bearing cams and 87 and up were roller bearing cams? So if I swap the heads,and intake from the tbi motor do you have to change the cam? Or could you even change it?

Thanks for all your help
little_yj_95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 04:07 PM   #13
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevyota View Post
and the temp sensor.


Iam in the process of doing a stand alone tbi on a 283 I found that its better to have the $40 adapter plate than screw with the whole intake but it is possible to just drill the 4 center holes and get wedges for the bolt heads .

I have done several over the years. the TBI stuff has nothing to do with the lower end of the engine and doesn't need a crank sensor like others have stated. if the truck is a TBI truck and the lower end is just older then its a no brainier. the distributor does the work of the crank sensor.

if you use the tbi intake then drill the two center holes to 1/2" and then use a uni bit to round out the upper edge. I use stock Chevy rocker arm balls on longer bolts to make the finished angle. they work perfect for picking their own angle and don't hurt the intake from being at a weird angle.

one more thing. pre `86 engines have a two peice crank seal. the shield over the converters needs trimmed to fit when going forward in years and the flex plates are different. so don't screw that up
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 04:28 PM   #14
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm unsure of the details but I'm sure the first couple years of the tbi motors didn't come with the roller bearing cam... I suggest google lol. But no you can swap roller for non roller. You could find a cam that would have the same profile as a tbi if you have a roller block. I ran one from comp cams. What year block tbi etc?
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 04:47 PM   #15
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

factory roller blocks have a pattern of holes to hold down the spring plate in the center of the vally. also you have to run a thrust plate on the cam. the early Irocs & Trans Ams had huge issues running without the thrust plate. when they were put in hard breaking situations with a roller cam the weight of the cam was enough to shift it forward retarding the timing and it would stall when stopped.

secondly of you go with an after market roller cam they don't use the same style spring plat so you don't need the center hold downs.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 06:14 PM   #16
little_yj_95
Senior Member
 
little_yj_95's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-09
Location: Britton, Mi
Posts: 457
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for all your help.

Just thinking about putting this motor in my jeep but wanted to know what i would have to do before i buy it.
little_yj_95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2011, 07:39 AM   #17
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

just come and get my TPI...
Pre-Vortec heads should not require drilling of the intake. TBI heads flow very well to about 4500 RPMs so if you need accessory holes you might want to consider the head swap. Serpentines don't glue on early heads very well. TBIs pretty much tune themselves withing reason...wild cam, huge compression will send it into a tizzy but overall TBI systems run off rich or lean and temp.
Oh yea...and if you have a mechanical oil pressure guage...MAKE SURE you get an oil pressure signal back in the mix to the ECM ...if it senses low or no oil pressure it will SHUT DOWN the fuel pump!

Last edited by ssdeuces; January 8th, 2011 at 07:53 AM. Reason: more info
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 11:44 PM   #18
efi355
Newbie
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Location: farmington hills mi
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssdeuces View Post
just come and get my TPI...
Pre-Vortec heads should not require drilling of the intake. TBI heads flow very well to about 4500 RPMs so if you need accessory holes you might want to consider the head swap. Serpentines don't glue on early heads very well. TBIs pretty much tune themselves withing reason...wild cam, huge compression will send it into a tizzy but overall TBI systems run off rich or lean and temp.
Oh yea...and if you have a mechanical oil pressure guage...MAKE SURE you get an oil pressure signal back in the mix to the ECM ...if it senses low or no oil pressure it will SHUT DOWN the fuel pump!
Tbi heads flow good compared to what a straw? No. They are made for torque hence the restricted ports. A stock throttle body flows 470 cfm to give you an idea lol. And no they don't tune them selves. The average calculator is smarter. Yes they have a o2 sensor for rich/ lean which is a narrow band non heated usually which is mearly for idle and cruise... Closed loop. They are preprogramed to adjust spark n fuel given the engines rpm vs load (MAP aka vacuum) temp dictates how that preprogramed map changes. And the serp belt will work fine unless you have like a 60's block that has like one acc hole per head ie 'camelhump' heads. Have you even built an efi motor?

The best advice anyone will give you on your motor will b you. Do some research via the links I gave you n google instead of trying to follow 17 poeples misguided info.
efi355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 12:41 PM   #19
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,116
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

there are lots of TBI recipe's on the internet.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.31313 seconds with 77 queries