Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

Narrowed D44/9" Swap

XJ: 
14K views 28 replies 12 participants last post by  John D 
#1 ·
About two years ago a friend put a 5.7L Hemi in his JK and another friend John B (96 Classic on NAXJA) put an LS1 in his XJ. I drove and rode in both of these Jeeps and immediately had engine envy. Prompted by this envy I began an 18 month quest to put a 5.3L in my XJ. Frank Z was doing the swap at about the same time as me 5.3L Vortec V8 Conversion - NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association). And my Instrument Cluster Swap to Auto Meters Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges - NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association

About 6 months into the 5.3L quest reality started to set in and I started thinking there would need to an axle upgrade to go along with it. I was running a D30 with an OX and 4.56 gears and an 8.25” with a No Slip lunchbox locker. Stock shafts were in both axles.

I studied a couple threads on NAXJA, some on Pirate and few other sites I could gather information from. Many thanks to:
Cruzin Illusion Custom Width HP44 Build and Tech - NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association
Starboard M Bolt In High Pinion Dana 44 - NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association
Mr. N http://77cj.littlekeylime.com/web_rs44.html
And a bunch of others who have taken the time to document what they did.