. - Page 57 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2012, 03:08 PM   #1121
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,364
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
The intake kit is the Spectre 9900. Joescamaro hooked me up with the info on that. Yes, you could flip the intake around and run it that way, I actually asked about it but there was room so why bother with that. The kit comes with a shroud if you want to use it. My cowl is pretty much wide open and the motor never got above 180 all weekend. I had to order the piece that goes from the air cleaner to the MAS seperate or you can go hunt a junkyard. Way more responsive.....highly recommend this kit. The piece of tube that comes with it is long enough to cut and use in the 2 seperate places.

You can find them anywhere from $149-$200.
Shouldn't these motors run 210 for best power numbers?
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 7th, 2012, 03:30 PM   #1122
Grassman
RFK
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 19,068
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
Not in my experience, having your intake in the cab sucks asshole
bicycles have intakes?
__________________
when you say "someday" remember its just code for "never"
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2012, 03:49 PM   #1123
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,951
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
bicycles have intakes?
Yes, I never owned a vehicle, so I put a K&N on my tricycle
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2012, 06:19 PM   #1124
John D
Senior Member
 
John D's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-08
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 584
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
The intake kit is the Spectre 9900. Joescamaro hooked me up with the info on that. Yes, you could flip the intake around and run it that way, I actually asked about it but there was room so why bother with that. The kit comes with a shroud if you want to use it. My cowl is pretty much wide open and the motor never got above 180 all weekend. I had to order the piece that goes from the air cleaner to the MAS seperate or you can go hunt a junkyard. Way more responsive.....highly recommend this kit. The piece of tube that comes with it is long enough to cut and use in the 2 seperate places.

You can find them anywhere from $149-$200.
Thanks, I gotta do something. I hit 170 IAT on the street and peg the gauge on the dunes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post
Shouldn't these motors run 210 for best power numbers?
The 5.3L comes with a 186* thermostat, I imagine the 6.0 is the same or very close. A lot of people drop it to 180*.
John D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2012, 02:40 PM   #1125
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,364
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The 5.3L comes with a 186* thermostat, I imagine the 6.0 is the same or very close. A lot of people drop it to 180*.[/QUOTE]

Huh, that's interesting. Both my work trucks have 5.3's and they both run right at 210 always.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2012, 03:03 PM   #1126
John D
Senior Member
 
John D's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-08
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 584
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post

Huh, that's interesting. Both my work trucks have 5.3's and they both run right at 210 always.
It's just where it opens ( 186*) not where it runs. 195-210 would be normal operating temp.

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/web...RPCOOLAMS_____

I got mine from NAPA, its the same 186* stat but their website is impossible to navigate.

Sorry for the confusion.
John D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2012, 08:39 PM   #1127
electricleader
Newbie
 
electricleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-12
Location: Big Rapids Mich
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I dont know who did your computer but you might want to check with them because alot of tuners will set the computer for a 160 stat just it helps with detonation on the 6.0
electricleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2012, 09:25 PM   #1128
knixon804
THE GENERAL
 
knixon804's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-26-09
Location: Traverse City MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

hey becky do you have the part number for that MAF to air filter adapter? i need to move my MAF i think
__________________
CUMMINS ON 37'S,8"BDS LONG ARM,TWIN TURBO...TOW PIG
WRANGLER ON 40'S,ROCKJOCK 60/D70,LINKED,ORI STRUTS,6.0 LQ9, LS6 GOODIES, 4l80E, ATLAS 3.0...TRAILER QUEEN
JK 2 DOOR, 3" BDS LIFT, 15" PROCOMP STEELIES
knixon804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2012, 09:21 PM   #1129
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,291
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Default

6.0 thermostat is 100*C or 212*F.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2012, 09:56 PM   #1130
knixon804
THE GENERAL
 
knixon804's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-26-09
Location: Traverse City MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
6.0 thermostat is 100*C or 212*F.
That's what I thought
__________________
CUMMINS ON 37'S,8"BDS LONG ARM,TWIN TURBO...TOW PIG
WRANGLER ON 40'S,ROCKJOCK 60/D70,LINKED,ORI STRUTS,6.0 LQ9, LS6 GOODIES, 4l80E, ATLAS 3.0...TRAILER QUEEN
JK 2 DOOR, 3" BDS LIFT, 15" PROCOMP STEELIES
knixon804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2012, 11:05 PM   #1131
John D
Senior Member
 
John D's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-08
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 584
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
6.0 thermostat is 100*C or 212*F.
Just curious, where did you find that? I found 160, 180, 186 and 195. I couldn't find a 212.
John D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 07:14 AM   #1132
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,291
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Default

I didn't buy one, I used the one that came with my engine. Have I personally seen a 100*C stat? No, it's just what I have read and that's where my engine runs. Using my scanner running real time and leaving it hooked up while wheeling, my engine stays right around 208 - 210*F.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 09:12 AM   #1133
knixon804
THE GENERAL
 
knixon804's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-26-09
Location: Traverse City MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would say yes. Here's my take on it. I have a scan gauge 2 in my jeep at all times. It constantly reads and displays 4 parameters of my motor. I had the same 180 degree intake setup as u and was reading super high air intake temps. Which was making my motor run hotter. I drilled some holes in my hood and stuck my air filter out that way and both cooled my motor and air intake temps.
__________________
CUMMINS ON 37'S,8"BDS LONG ARM,TWIN TURBO...TOW PIG
WRANGLER ON 40'S,ROCKJOCK 60/D70,LINKED,ORI STRUTS,6.0 LQ9, LS6 GOODIES, 4l80E, ATLAS 3.0...TRAILER QUEEN
JK 2 DOOR, 3" BDS LIFT, 15" PROCOMP STEELIES
knixon804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 09:21 AM   #1134
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,498
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Did you move the Maf? The intake air temp sensor is integrated into the Maf. You will heat soak that sensor if it's right by the radiator. Your intake air may be just fine, the temp it reads is a different story. My chevelle has the same issue right meow.
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 02:32 PM   #1135
stereoguy
2jz NO SH*T!
 
stereoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-09
Location: st joe/Michigan
Posts: 1,007
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I moved my MAS to right next to the filter by the cowl. My cowl being basically open is like Kyle's added holes. Sure did make a difference.
Is it me or does this statement sound kinda dirty? Sorry jeepbratt, that is all the tech Ive got.
stereoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 09:54 PM   #1136
knixon804
THE GENERAL
 
knixon804's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-26-09
Location: Traverse City MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

lol u guys have dirty minds...
__________________
CUMMINS ON 37'S,8"BDS LONG ARM,TWIN TURBO...TOW PIG
WRANGLER ON 40'S,ROCKJOCK 60/D70,LINKED,ORI STRUTS,6.0 LQ9, LS6 GOODIES, 4l80E, ATLAS 3.0...TRAILER QUEEN
JK 2 DOOR, 3" BDS LIFT, 15" PROCOMP STEELIES
knixon804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 08:34 PM   #1137
Kyle M.
KFM!
 
Kyle M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-10
Location: Howard City, MI
Posts: 8,461
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Default

Sweet!

All 5?
Kyle M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 08:39 PM   #1138
Tacker
Senior Member
 
Tacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Fruitport / Muskegon
Posts: 10,718
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Nice .
Tacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 08:47 PM   #1139
Kyle M.
KFM!
 
Kyle M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-10
Location: Howard City, MI
Posts: 8,461
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Default

Baller


You have some nice parts, good work.
Kyle M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 09:02 PM   #1140
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You'll love the rockers! They seem to work and take my rig wherever I point it for the most part.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26692 seconds with 81 queries