Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 25th, 2011, 06:45 PM   #741
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 30,827
iTrader: (29)
Are you burning the tires in 2wd?
Trail Junkie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 06:50 PM   #742
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTony View Post
I agree, I think your on to something.

Becky does it shift at all?

Taking it for a spin.....be right back
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:00 PM   #743
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranny Tom View Post
Me thinks trans is in limp mode. Do you feel the trans shift at all? It sounds like it is taking of in third gear which would explain the no power in 2wd and power in 4 low.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTony View Post
I agree, I think your on to something.

Becky does it shift at all?

Took it ror for a ride. In 2 wheel drive it did not shift at all and never got enough power to even try, in 4 low it shifted only once, so im guessing 3rd into overdrive. I can manually shift it and it's a whole diff animal. Wants to launch.

What's the fix?
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:06 PM   #744
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 19,940
iTrader: (21)
Are you set up with a manual valve body and must always shift it manually?
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:17 PM   #745
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Are you set up with a manual valve body and must always shift it manually?

hope not. thats not what i wanted.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:20 PM   #746
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,723
iTrader: (55)
For some reason there is no power going to the trans. It needs to be scanned and checked for power.
Tranny Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:21 PM   #747
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 4,436
iTrader: (59)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
hope not. thats not what i wanted.
Was told it was a stock rebuild with about 500 miles on it when I bought it. Maybe a shift kit at the most(he wasn't sure, it was his dad's) but definitely not full manual.
bbaXJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:23 PM   #748
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbaXJ View Post
Was told it was a stock rebuild with about 500 miles on it when I bought it. Maybe a shift kit at the most(he wasn't sure, it was his dad's) but definitely not full manual.
thanks sean
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:24 PM   #749
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranny Tom View Post
For some reason there is no power going to the trans. It needs to be scanned and checked for power.

anyone have a scanner they can stop by with?
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:25 PM   #750
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 4,436
iTrader: (59)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
No problem, I hope it gets working for ya soon!
bbaXJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 07:47 PM   #751
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
scanner will be here tomorrow afternoon
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 25th, 2011 at 09:06 PM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 11:15 AM   #752
fabricator
throttle jockey
 
fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-06
Location: twin lake
Posts: 1,215
iTrader: (33)
the 4l80e has 2 speed sensors on the trans. 1 in the front half of the case and 1 in the rear half. they are 2 wire plugs and i think they are purple. make sure they are both plugged in and didn't get knocked out when they were doing the exhaust. i think the 4l80 is the only trans with the 2 speed sensors. i believe the 4l60s need the speed sensor from the t case also.
fabricator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 12:34 PM   #753
Mr. Beefy
Randy did it.
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 10,037
iTrader: (19)
Just wanted to point out that there are like 8 pictures in this thread with 753 posts
__________________

Dakota Truggy Tons and 43's
07 CTD tow pig With the goodies

Thank you to Jeeperz Creeperz Off Road

Cool stuff at Ironman Offroad
Mr. Beefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 04:05 PM   #754
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabricator View Post
the 4l80e has 2 speed sensors on the trans. 1 in the front half of the case and 1 in the rear half. they are 2 wire plugs and i think they are purple. make sure they are both plugged in and didn't get knocked out when they were doing the exhaust. i think the 4l80 is the only trans with the 2 speed sensors. i believe the 4l60s need the speed sensor from the t case also.
hecked, thay are conected. The front one has wires that are laying damn near on the linkage, don't know if that may be an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Beefy View Post
Just wanted to point out that there are like 8 pictures in this thread with 753 posts

Ok smart ass...here's another pic for ya.



This was the only plug I found that wasn't connected to anything around the trans. Anything? Or is this where a scanner hooks to check for issues?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trans plug.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	78088  
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 04:11 PM   #755
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,485
iTrader: (11)
Says PnP switch.
Should be park/Nuetral Position Switch located on left side of the transmission. PCM does not know what you want it to do!!!!!
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 04:13 PM   #756
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
Says PnP switch.
Should be park/Nuetral Position Switch located on left side of the transmission. PCM does not know what you want it to do!!!!!
Got under it to see if the plugs Kevin mentioned were hooked. Also was a round larger plug between the two connected. Looked around and saw this. So I need to find where this plugs in directly on the trans right?
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 26th, 2011 at 04:44 PM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 04:43 PM   #757
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Couldn't see anyplace where this would plug in, altho I couldn't see alot with the skid and everything else in the way. Thanks for the call Dale!

Thinking maybe switch needs to be changed? Motor is 04, trans Sean guessed around 93. Ideas?
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 05:20 PM   #758
Grassman
Recovering Bogger user
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 17,971
iTrader: (15)
none that dont involve a large hammer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 ton tj on 40's View Post
every circle needs a pivot man
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 07:11 PM   #759
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
none that dont involve a large hammer

I'm almost to that point!

Talked to Kevin, he said Jimsperformance told him that plug is only needed to run back up lights on a 4l80. It plugs into a stock 4l80 shifter (which im not using. The wires that attach to it are coiled up by the back of the intake.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:44 PM   #760
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,028
iTrader: (25)
I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.21022 seconds with 51 queries