. - Page 38 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:44 PM   #741
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:46 PM   #742
Grassman
RFK
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 18,704
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Default

chevy dealer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 ton tj on 40's View Post
every circle needs a pivot man
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:48 PM   #743
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
chevy dealer

sorry, I lost my sense of humor 3 pages ago.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:52 PM   #744
BigTony
Rock Rebel
 
BigTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-22-07
Location: Twin Lake
Posts: 575
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You need to have the PNP switch plugged in. Or wire a relay in, but I think I did that to unlock the torque converter.

Are you using a stock harness?
BigTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:52 PM   #745
NitzPixs
It Lives once again!!!!
 
NitzPixs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-08
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,326
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Pm Benny87 as he had a place local that was going or may have even did a tune on his....
NitzPixs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:00 PM   #746
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTony View Post
You need to have the PNP switch plugged in. Or wire a relay in, but I think I did that to unlock the torque converter.

Are you using a stock harness?
No, Harness was from 2 seperate motors and redone at Jimsperformance.

There is no place to plug the pnp in on the trans. According to Kevin it plugged into the stock shifter. That's not what i'm using. Trannytom will be here tomorrow. I will ask him about that. Kevins just going by what Jimsperformance told him.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:03 PM   #747
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,225
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
I think Benny knows someone.
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:06 PM   #748
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitzPixs View Post
Pm Benny87 as he had a place local that was going or may have even did a tune on his....
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschaffer66 View Post
I think Benny knows someone.
Sent him a pm.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 04:11 AM   #749
John D
Senior Member
 
John D's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-08
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 575
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
There is no place to plug the pnp in on the trans. According to Kevin it plugged into the stock shifter.
That does plug into the tranny just above the shifter lever. I wonder if your computer is looking for something from it, maybe the 4L80e sends something to the computer via another method.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
Baker Engineering in Nunica. They did a friend's LS1 XJ and he was very happy. $250 for 5 pulls on the Dyno with tuning in-between each pull. He picked up 10 HP, 20 foot pounds torque and better mileage.
John D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 05:52 AM   #750
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John D View Post
That does plug into the tranny just above the shifter lever. I wonder if your computer is looking for something from it, maybe the 4L80e sends something to the computer via another method.


Baker Engineering in Nunica. They did a friend's LS1 XJ and he was very happy. $250 for 5 pulls on the Dyno with tuning in-between each pull. He picked up 10 HP, 20 foot pounds torque and better mileage.
I was told it actually plugs into the stock shifter itself, which I don't have. I'll have Tom look, he'll be here tonite. Dale(ironman) and I both are thinking the same thing.......will see I guess.

I'll look them up , thanks!

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 27th, 2011 at 05:55 AM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:32 AM   #751
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

This is what the PNP plug should plug into. it will be on the d.s. of the trans where you connect the shifter to the trans.

Tranny Tom will figure it out for you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PNPSWITCH.jpg (73.4 KB, 47 views)
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:33 AM   #752
fabricator
throttle jockey
 
fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-06
Location: twin lake
Posts: 1,240
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there is a relay on the firewall right by the computer that is wired in to the brake light switch and is hooked to the trans via the computer. it uses a relay because it needs power all the time and gets turned off when you hit the brake pedal. just backwards of the stock brake switch.
fabricator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:35 AM   #753
fabricator
throttle jockey
 
fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-06
Location: twin lake
Posts: 1,240
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleay View Post
This is what the PNP plug should plug into. it will be on the d.s. of the trans where you connect the shifter to the trans.

Tranny Tom will figure it out for you.
yeah, her trans doesn't have anything like that. maybe because the trans is so old?
fabricator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:39 AM   #754
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleay View Post
This is what the PNP plug should plug into. it will be on the d.s. of the trans where you connect the shifter to the trans.

Tranny Tom will figure it out for you.

I have faith and my fingers crossed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabricator View Post
there is a relay on the firewall right by the computer that is wired in to the brake light switch and is hooked to the trans via the computer. it uses a relay because it needs power all the time and gets turned off when you hit the brake pedal. just backwards of the stock brake switch.

Aren't you glad it's not in your garage anymore? I'll let ya know what we find out tonite.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:42 AM   #755
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

[QUOTE=jeepbrattt;2637619]I have faith and my fingers crossed!




And if it has to come out, you know we can do that on a trailer anywhere without much sleep.
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 06:52 AM   #756
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleay View Post
And if it has to come out, you know we can do that on a trailer anywhere without much sleep.
Sure do!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabricator View Post
yeah, her trans doesn't have anything like that. maybe because the trans is so old?
That's what Dale was saying, there may need to be a switch replaced to adapt because of it being older.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 07:16 AM   #757
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Did it look more like this: #711
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 40663.jpg (38.8 KB, 46 views)
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 04:12 PM   #758
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Talked to Coreys hp tune guy in Marine City. He asked what motor and trans.I have. I told him '04 6.0 and a '93ish 4l80E. He asked if the computer was newer and set for drive by cable. Yes it is. His answer..."there's your problem" The 93 4l80 is a type specific trans. and will not work with the newer drive by cable computers. He said I need to use a stock computer and have it set it to pull no codes. He still wants Tom to look at the trans tonite before I bring it to him to make sure it is fully functioning and not part of the issue. Once that's done he can go over specifics with me and either make a program and computer for me to put in or bring it to him to put in and tune there.

I had Kevin call Jimsperformance this morning to pick his brain. When I called Jim back after talking to Coreys guy he said he hadn't even talked to Kevin and had no idea why the 93 would be any different. Regardless he agreed to send the $200 back that he charged for the computer.

So after Tom checks it out tonite I will call the new place back and give him the findings and figure out the game plan. Probably will just trailer it down there to have him do it all so I won't have to worry. Wish I knew about this guy first but at least we are on the right track now.

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 27th, 2011 at 10:21 PM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 04:27 PM   #759
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like you are on the right track and finally found someone that knows what is going on. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. I'm sure the headaches are getting annoying.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 04:30 PM   #760
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 7,047
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st3d5 View Post
Sounds like you are on the right track and finally found someone that knows what is going on. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. I'm sure the headaches are getting annoying.

They certainly are. My kid is so pissed off about missing the blessing too. But happy to move on to a Michigan based company that I can go right to the shop.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.32872 seconds with 81 queries