. - Page 37 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2011, 08:24 PM   #721
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranny Tom View Post
For some reason there is no power going to the trans. It needs to be scanned and checked for power.

anyone have a scanner they can stop by with?
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 25th, 2011, 08:25 PM   #722
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 5,049
iTrader: (63)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
Default

No problem, I hope it gets working for ya soon!
bbaXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 08:47 PM   #723
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

scanner will be here tomorrow afternoon

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 25th, 2011 at 10:06 PM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 12:15 PM   #724
fabricator
throttle jockey
 
fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-06
Location: twin lake
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the 4l80e has 2 speed sensors on the trans. 1 in the front half of the case and 1 in the rear half. they are 2 wire plugs and i think they are purple. make sure they are both plugged in and didn't get knocked out when they were doing the exhaust. i think the 4l80 is the only trans with the 2 speed sensors. i believe the 4l60s need the speed sensor from the t case also.
fabricator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 01:34 PM   #725
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,212
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Default

Just wanted to point out that there are like 8 pictures in this thread with 753 posts
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 05:05 PM   #726
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabricator View Post
the 4l80e has 2 speed sensors on the trans. 1 in the front half of the case and 1 in the rear half. they are 2 wire plugs and i think they are purple. make sure they are both plugged in and didn't get knocked out when they were doing the exhaust. i think the 4l80 is the only trans with the 2 speed sensors. i believe the 4l60s need the speed sensor from the t case also.
hecked, thay are conected. The front one has wires that are laying damn near on the linkage, don't know if that may be an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Beefy View Post
Just wanted to point out that there are like 8 pictures in this thread with 753 posts

Ok smart ass...here's another pic for ya.



This was the only plug I found that wasn't connected to anything around the trans. Anything? Or is this where a scanner hooks to check for issues?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trans plug.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	78088  
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 05:11 PM   #727
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,557
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Says PnP switch.
Should be park/Nuetral Position Switch located on left side of the transmission. PCM does not know what you want it to do!!!!!
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 05:13 PM   #728
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
Says PnP switch.
Should be park/Nuetral Position Switch located on left side of the transmission. PCM does not know what you want it to do!!!!!
Got under it to see if the plugs Kevin mentioned were hooked. Also was a round larger plug between the two connected. Looked around and saw this. So I need to find where this plugs in directly on the trans right?

Last edited by jeepbrattt; April 26th, 2011 at 05:44 PM.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 05:43 PM   #729
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Couldn't see anyplace where this would plug in, altho I couldn't see alot with the skid and everything else in the way. Thanks for the call Dale!

Thinking maybe switch needs to be changed? Motor is 04, trans Sean guessed around 93. Ideas?
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 06:20 PM   #730
Grassman
RFK
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 18,977
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Default

none that dont involve a large hammer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 ton tj on 40's View Post
every circle needs a pivot man
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 08:11 PM   #731
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
none that dont involve a large hammer

I'm almost to that point!

Talked to Kevin, he said Jimsperformance told him that plug is only needed to run back up lights on a 4l80. It plugs into a stock 4l80 shifter (which im not using. The wires that attach to it are coiled up by the back of the intake.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:44 PM   #732
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:46 PM   #733
Grassman
RFK
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 18,977
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Default

chevy dealer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 ton tj on 40's View Post
every circle needs a pivot man
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:48 PM   #734
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
chevy dealer

sorry, I lost my sense of humor 3 pages ago.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:52 PM   #735
BigTony
Rock Rebel
 
BigTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-22-07
Location: Twin Lake
Posts: 575
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You need to have the PNP switch plugged in. Or wire a relay in, but I think I did that to unlock the torque converter.

Are you using a stock harness?
BigTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 09:52 PM   #736
NitzPixs
It Lives once again!!!!
 
NitzPixs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-08
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,384
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Pm Benny87 as he had a place local that was going or may have even did a tune on his....
NitzPixs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 10:00 PM   #737
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTony View Post
You need to have the PNP switch plugged in. Or wire a relay in, but I think I did that to unlock the torque converter.

Are you using a stock harness?
No, Harness was from 2 seperate motors and redone at Jimsperformance.

There is no place to plug the pnp in on the trans. According to Kevin it plugged into the stock shifter. That's not what i'm using. Trannytom will be here tomorrow. I will ask him about that. Kevins just going by what Jimsperformance told him.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 10:03 PM   #738
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,276
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
I think Benny knows someone.
mschaffer66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 10:06 PM   #739
jeepbrattt
New car smell.....Mmmmmmm
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: mi
Posts: 6,463
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitzPixs View Post
Pm Benny87 as he had a place local that was going or may have even did a tune on his....
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschaffer66 View Post
I think Benny knows someone.
Sent him a pm.
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 05:11 AM   #740
John D
Senior Member
 
John D's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-08
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 581
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
There is no place to plug the pnp in on the trans. According to Kevin it plugged into the stock shifter.
That does plug into the tranny just above the shifter lever. I wonder if your computer is looking for something from it, maybe the 4L80e sends something to the computer via another method.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I'd like to take the jeep in to a place that can hook it up to a laptop and tune it correctly. Anybody know of a good place?
Baker Engineering in Nunica. They did a friend's LS1 XJ and he was very happy. $250 for 5 pulls on the Dyno with tuning in-between each pull. He picked up 10 HP, 20 foot pounds torque and better mileage.
John D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.25691 seconds with 81 queries