Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 17th, 2011, 09:50 PM   #681
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 5,935
iTrader: (37)
That sucks. Sorry for the bad luck.
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Barn sale! Check out what's left!
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2011, 09:50 PM   #682
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Make sure he knows which O2 sensors you are using, as apparently, the computer flash needs to know exactly which, and there were may different ones used over the years..
This may be part of the issue as well, when he flashed the computer he didnt ask which 02 sensors, obviously, because the ones on the motor were square and the harness came back with the triangular connectors. Bought sensors to match harness.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 03:57 AM   #683
silverxj
team 14b
 
silverxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Davisburg
Posts: 5,619
iTrader: (64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyJ View Post
That sucks. Sorry for the bad luck.
x2
silverxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 09:27 AM   #684
liv2mx
i like jungle gym's.
 
liv2mx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: silver lake
Posts: 11,136
iTrader: (4)
i will say she was in a way better mood then i thought she would be.
liv2mx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 10:39 AM   #685
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Ok, here's the problem.......the computer I have does not even have the IAC driver. Talked to Jim this morning, popped the cover off the computer, where there's supposed to be prongs for this, there aren't. Apparently this is a first for him and this computer # will now be put to the list to be checked before flashing. Unfortunatly it happened at my expence. Regardless the computer I sent would not have worked, wish he would have opened the cover tho.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 10:49 AM   #686
Grassman
Recovering Bogger user
 
Grassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-08
Location: Belmont, Mi
Posts: 18,023
iTrader: (15)
sounds like the responsibly should be split between both of you, he should be able to do something to help you in this situation.

$.02
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 ton tj on 40's View Post
every circle needs a pivot man
Grassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:06 AM   #687
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grassman View Post
sounds like the responsibly should be split between both of you, he should be able to do something to help you in this situation.

$.02

I agree, i never got to test drive it. My bad to load up and go like that.

On another note tho, he gave me the number of a guy in Ohio who does nothing but computers, toild me to get one from him and shipped over, the first 2605 he pulled the cover off of also didn't have the IAC driver....hmmmmm.....sounds like it's not that uncommon after all.

I realize the computer i sent would not have worked regardless, however if he would have taken 2 seconds to open the cover and look, i would have sent a diff one and this weekend wouldnt have been an issue. He's a nice guy, great turn around time and return calls........but this little skipped step cost me a lot. Not real happy .......
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:08 AM   #688
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,403
iTrader: (52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
Ok, here's the problem.......the computer I have does not even have the IAC driver. Talked to Jim this morning, popped the cover off the computer, where there's supposed to be prongs for this, there aren't. Apparently this is a first for him and this computer # will now be put to the list to be checked before flashing. Unfortunatly it happened at my expence. Regardless the computer I sent would not have worked, wish he would have opened the cover tho.


Did he say anything about the O2 sensors?
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:28 AM   #689
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post


Did he say anything about the O2 sensors?
Said they weren't an issue and he will never change the adaptor ends to diff on harness unless asked to.



This is the solution we came up with. He told me to call Spare ECM in Ohio and talk to Rodney. I did, he popped the top off a 2605 he had.........also, no driver for IAC. This makes me believe it is more common of an issue then Jim believes and is more his lack of checking. I called Jim back, he said he would refund money and I could forget I knew him if I wanted......Told him that's not what I wanted, he should just get the computer from Rodney and flash it and send to me (under 100) that splits the blame right down the middle of the flash cost. He reluctantly agreed as long as I send him back my computer. I agreed.

Also sounds like the computer and harness weren't tested together before shipping. Probably would have caught it then if they were.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:33 AM   #690
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
If you are converting a motor from drive by wire to cable make sure the circled area on the top left have the prongs. (location on a 2605 anyway)

See how easy that would have been to check, 4 bolts .......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	computer tj 052.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	162.3 KB
ID:	77554  
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:33 AM   #691
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 20,002
iTrader: (21)
Wow, I never want to deal with you............. you drive too hard of a bargain.

Glad it's getting resolved.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:37 AM   #692
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Wow, I never want to deal with you............. you drive too hard of a bargain.

Glad it's getting resolved.


Eh, he should have checked, I should have test drove before heading to Badlands......i'll take half the blame


If it's an issue when I get the next computer back you may hear a different story.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:42 AM   #693
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
Eh, he should have checked, I should have test drove before heading to Badlands......i'll take half the blame


If it's an issue when I get the next computer back you may hear a different story.
I agree with you. This is why you paid someone to do the harness and computer as opposed to figuring it out yourself. But all humans make mistakes.
Bleay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:47 AM   #694
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,112
iTrader: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
Also sounds like the computer and harness weren't tested together before shipping. Probably would have caught it then if they were.
It's easy to play monday morning quarterback but you don't even understand the game of football in this instance so critiquing should probably be kept to a minimum IMO. How would you check the computer and harness together? You think he has a bench stand setup with every year/sensor/wiring combo out there to magically plug in and tell him everything is working? Glad to hear it's getting taken care of. It sounds like an honest mistake to me though. I'll still be sending my harness to Jim, I won't even bother to hassle with it for what he charges.
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:53 AM   #695
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feva4u View Post
It's easy to play monday morning quarterback but you don't even understand the game of football in this instance so critiquing should probably be kept to a minimum IMO. How would you check the computer and harness together? You think he has a bench stand setup with every year/sensor/wiring combo out there to magically plug in and tell him everything is working? Glad to hear it's getting taken care of. It sounds like an honest mistake to me though. I'll still be sending my harness to Jim, I won't even bother to hassle with it for what he charges.


I took half the blame, not taking one bit more. I paid $570 .....Kevin had to add 2 pieces to the harness that were missing when we got it back. Jim told me himself that he didn't even open the computer to see if the drivers were there. This alone makes him responsable as well. His customer service is top notch, never knocked the guy. I do however believe this all could have been remedied when he had the computer the first time and I will put it out there so anyone who has to send their stuff in can be VERY specific on what needs to be done. When we told him it was being converted...IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN CHECKED FOR DRIVERS. Period ...the end.
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 11:58 AM   #696
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,112
iTrader: (11)
Fair enough, it's good information, thanks for putting it out there.
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 12:10 PM   #697
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 20,002
iTrader: (21)
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........
First gir's rig build on the forum.
First mistake by Jim I have ever heard of.

Coincidence?



Sorry Becky....... I had to.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 12:10 PM   #698
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,312
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
If you are converting a motor from drive by wire to cable make sure the circled area on the top left have the prongs. (location on a 2605 anyway)

See how easy that would have been to check, 4 bolts .......
Who did you get to remove the four bolts for you....
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 12:15 PM   #699
jeepbrattt
HER RIG
 
jeepbrattt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-08
Location: waterford mi
Posts: 7,031
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........
First gir's rig build on the forum.
First mistake by Jim I have ever heard of.

Coincidence?



Sorry Becky....... I had to.


Yea....I was waiting for that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post
Who did you get to remove the four bolts for you....

I did that all by myself!
(however i'm having a hell of a time trying to get the harness to disconnect )
__________________
- - - HER RIG - - -
jeepbrattt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 12:33 PM   #700
samurai2240
Adrenaline my drug choice
 
samurai2240's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-05
Location: muskegon
Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (6)
Also remember to screw the Idle Air Control Valve back in. Good luck.
samurai2240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.21878 seconds with 51 queries