Google Chrome - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 2nd, 2010, 07:33 PM   #1
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Google Chrome

I've been having issues opening up any pictures in Chrome over the last few days. It is the same way on any computer that I use. This may be an issue that only Google can fix with a new version but just wanted to make sure there isn't an issue with the site. This is the only forum that I surf that is having the issue as far as I know. This is what I see when I click on pictures.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen shot 2010-11-02 at 8.32.01 PM.jpg (23.3 KB, 60 views)
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 2nd, 2010, 10:35 PM   #2
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,782
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

No issues with Chrome on my PC. I ditched FF, and use Chrome exclusively now.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 10:36 PM   #3
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,504
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Is that appearing randomly? Are you running the newest version of flash?
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:35 AM   #4
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes, latest version of Flash. It happens in OSX and in Windows on my mac. My brother has the same issue in Linux and Windows on his laptop. It also happens on all the computers at work (Winblows XP).
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:39 AM   #5
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I have this issue too. It's only on this forum, and it's not all of the pictures. There was a post a few days ago with 5 pictures and 2 of them showed up correctly.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:47 AM   #6
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've gotten to the point where I just open the pictures in new tabs then view and close that tab.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:52 AM   #7
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,504
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Can you give me a link to a page that is showing this error in chrome.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:54 AM   #8
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,504
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I just disabled what I believe is the cause of chrome having issues. Can you see if it is corrected right now? I'll have to turn it back on, but at least I will have a starting point on the problem.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:58 AM   #9
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Now it is opening pictures as a new page but same tab. Every picture I clicked on worked though.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 07:03 AM   #10
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,504
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st3d5 View Post
Now it is opening pictures as a new page but same tab. Every picture I clicked on worked though.
I don't know if that is good or bad. When I open pictures, it pops up with highslide.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 08:19 AM   #11
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Tires: Boggers set (5) 37 13.00 r15 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

The first picture is fine, but the second has the problem.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 08:21 AM   #12
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redhead_823 View Post
Click on the first then go to the second. Then back to the first and it has problems as well.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 08:24 AM   #13
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st3d5 View Post
Click on the first then go to the second. Then back to the first and it has problems as well.
Yeah, I just noticed that. I cleared my cookies and cache and one pic worked again.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 08:29 AM   #14
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

When using incognito mode (where cookies and caching are disabled), the pics seem to work fine.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2010, 06:48 AM   #15
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I finally figured out the issue here. It is actually with the adblock and adthwart extensions. Something to do with the way they block adds and the way things are downloaded from the web. You have to completely disable the extension to fix the issue. You can't just add the site to the exceptions list.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21455 seconds with 67 queries