Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 5th, 2005, 11:33 PM   #1
Pongking23
CHOP'S Idol
 
Pongking23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: NY.....Formerly Ferris State
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pongking23
Default Gas Pedal Frozen 99TJ

Lately i have had a problem with my 99TJ and the gas pedal, it freezes when it is cold out, i cant push it down at all, it takes about 20-30 minutes of warming the car up before i could push it down..............any way to lube the cable, or anything else, and has this happened to anyone else before.......
Pongking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 11:44 PM   #2
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

you can try to put wd40 on it but I don't think it will get in very far. Also I would triple check your grounds it could be a sign of a bad ground .
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 06:23 PM   #3
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER"B&quot View Post
you can try to put wd40 on it but I don't think it will get in very far. Also I would triple check your grounds it could be a sign of a bad ground .
good point, but I think its a bad cable. I have seen lots of Burn't ones from what killer b mentioned. mostly they burned up parking brake cables and detent cables, the gas pedal cable is insulated better then most
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 10:05 PM   #4
Pongking23
CHOP'S Idol
 
Pongking23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: NY.....Formerly Ferris State
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pongking23
Default

i have no idea......in the mornings, when obviously it is freezing outside i cant push it down, and i warm the jeep up for like 15 minutes.....still does nothing, and about 3 minutes into my ride to school, the gas pedal finally starts to go down a little bit at a time...........................................
Pongking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 01:42 PM   #5
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I wonder if you have a bad throttle shaft, can you wiggle the shaft with the plate turned up off the idle position? it could be its wearing a grove in the throat of the bore and its digging in because its moving around on the shaft.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 02:04 PM   #6
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

I use Cable Lube with the adapter that i bought for my cycle. Best thing out there as its white lithium grease based. The adapter clamps on one fitting end and you blast into it forcing lube down the entire cable.

Here's an adapter: http://www.motoworldracing.com/Appli...Lube-Tool.html
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 02:05 PM   #7
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

The test is when it's doing that nonsense, pop the hood and see if you can open the throttle by hand without the cable.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 09:31 PM   #8
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,983
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Default

Sounds like water in the cable to me.
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 12:36 PM   #9
Pongking23
CHOP'S Idol
 
Pongking23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: NY.....Formerly Ferris State
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pongking23
Default

thats what we think, but i dont know how to get it out....anyone have any suggestions
Pongking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10754 seconds with 28 queries