School me on Yotas - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2010, 04:29 PM   #1
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default School me on Yotas

Ok long story short. New project is 97 Jeep Tj with 1.9 TDI engine. I can use a acme adapters toyota kit with a G series toyota bell housing and input shaft on my ax5. But why not put the whole stronger transmission in the jeep and reduce the number of adapting parts. So I am wondering If there is a transmission I can use with my 231 jeep tcase or is there a GOOD yota tranfer case with a driver side drop that I can use with my stock axles. Dont really want a aftermarket $2000 tcase. Also what year yota trucks can I get a G series drive train out of. Any info and opinions would be great.

Last edited by tcxtreme1000; October 24th, 2010 at 05:14 PM.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 24th, 2010, 07:28 PM   #2
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

I would use a w56/gear drive case if I was you...but the only chance of using a toyota dr drop case would be chain driven(found in tacoma's with a R150 5sp in front of it....good trans,t-case is so so) unless you went with this(which hits your 2k mark)
http://www.inchwormgear.com/store/pr...e66c0883fae485

tons of toyota info here
**********Toyota Bible/FAQ 2.0********** - Pirate4x4.Com Bulletin Board



Good choice on the 1.9TDI....are you running the computer with it or are you going to mech. injection????

I have a 1.9 TDI to swap in....just saving up for the mech pump and Acme adapter
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 08:05 PM   #3
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Not sure what year yet but gonna be 96 or newer. Planning on buying a whole car so I should get most every thing I need.

Do people put a dana 300 behind the g series transmission.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 08:11 PM   #4
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

these should answer a few of your ?'s

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...highlight=d300

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...highlight=d300
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 08:25 PM   #5
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so can you put a r150 transfer case behind g series transmission?
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 09:29 PM   #6
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

I do not know alot on that....I have kept up with the W series and gear drive cases,I just bought a truck with the g series that I am doing the swap in...but will be going to W series in that too.I just did a search to find those links
just found this
This could be an option for you if you want to go with the D300 for dr drop and you can run a toy crawl box to double up you low range

http://www.inchwormgear.com/store/pr...oducts_id=1003

the bad thing is drivetrain length being in a jeep with such a short wheel base.
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 09:50 PM   #7
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ya I saw that. I see there is a advanced adapters kit to run the 300 also a flip kit for the gear driven tcase. $800 ouch I will keep looking. What tdi did you get and if its a computer version whats your plan for ecu. I would do the older one but hp gains look alot easier on the newer stuff.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2010, 10:07 PM   #8
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

1.9TDI AHU

will not be running the computer
going to run a mechanical injection pump.

http://www.mtdiinjectorpump.com/RebuiltMTDIPump.htm
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 08:48 AM   #9
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you run the mechanical pump you can not flash the computer for an xtra hp/torque. Do you plan on pumping it up some other way.

Last edited by tcxtreme1000; October 25th, 2010 at 09:59 AM.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 10:40 AM   #10
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

can mod the pump a bit...run bigger injectors,turbo,IC.....will not be able to get as much as a computer tuned with mods.....somewhere in the 175-200hp and 300ft lbs range.

I am only going to bump up the pump a bit and run an IC...main reason for me wanting to do the MTDI is I like the idea of no electronics to go wrong,2 wires and its running...stock power is over twice of the 22r in the truck now
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 12:52 PM   #11
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

That sounds good. Can you do a mtdi on any of the newer like 96 and up.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 03:37 PM   #12
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcxtreme1000 View Post
Ok long story short. New project is 97 Jeep Tj with 1.9 TDI engine. I can use a acme adapters toyota kit with a G series toyota bell housing and input shaft on my ax5. But why not put the whole stronger transmission in the jeep and reduce the number of adapting parts. So I am wondering If there is a transmission I can use with my 231 jeep tcase or is there a GOOD yota tranfer case with a driver side drop that I can use with my stock axles. Dont really want a aftermarket $2000 tcase. Also what year yota trucks can I get a G series drive train out of. Any info and opinions would be great.
Editorializing a bit, seems a little small of a motor for a TJ. But thats just me. I almost used a 2.0TDi in my CJ but ended up getting rid of it due to the wiring headaches.

The G-series pertty much *IS* an AX5, so I don't know that swapping the whole thing gets you much.

The G series transmissions run like 1984-1988 or so. The carb'd 2 cyls got them, where the EFI's for the W56's, which were a little stronger.

The better option would be to get a R151f/22RTE bellhosung into an AX15 trans and then run that with the standard NV231.

Go to pirate4x4, search for threads in the toyota forum started by kiwipushrod, or PM him there. There are a few threads that really detail the swapability of the Aisin transmissions, since the JEep and Toy trans are mostly the same, but there are some input gear differences and stickout length/bellhousing depth issues.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 04:05 PM   #13
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

http://www.jeeps-offroad.com/showthread.php?t=4740
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 08:13 PM   #14
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks I think I have read almost everything on the web about swaps. my brain is throbbing. and I am driving the wife crazy.

After talking to the guys at acme adapters I have decided to go with there toyota kit which is $600 but I need to swap over my input shaft and bell housing from a trans out of 22r. Dont know if that includes the w series or if I can use the r series with a driver side drop. I think this would be a way to stop the need for an sye kit also.

As for power the guys with the 4runners and yota trucks seem really happy with a stock or hopped up 1.9 and the mid 30s for Mpg sounds fun too. I really want custom and already had v8s and 4 liters and just want to try something different.

I looked at the cummins 3.9 4bt engine but there expensive and with a weight of 765lbs compared to the 1.9tdi 365lbs and 2.5 liters 425 lbs. The tdi seems like the logical choice.
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 08:19 PM   #15
tcxtreme1000
Mud Slut-Hit Every Hole!!
 
tcxtreme1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-25-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 2,142
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here is an email I sent to acme adapters
I have had alot of people tell me great things about your products. Do you guys have any intension on tapping the tdi into a Jeep Wrangler swap market? There is tons of web talk about it and I would be one of the first in line.

Thanks Cory



Here is what I got back.

Hi Cory,

Yes, maybe someday for a complete kit but not today, too busy with the suzukis. It has already been done. The jeeps can be converted easily if you have the AX-5 or AX-15 5 speed transmission using the Acme kit for toyota transmission and toyota 22R 4 cylinder bellhousing, you would be on your own for the engine mounts and any other bracketry and wiring to complete.

Originally these adapters were used in our suzuki applications for use with the 22R 4 cylinder style transmission 1979-1996, then over to toyota trucks. At this time we only have the basic kit to mate the VW engine to the toyota transmission, you will need to fabricate the other bracketry as needed. This kit enables you to reuse your original style toyota clutch set and starter.

With this kit you receive the adapter plate, machined toyota flywheel, selflubricating oilite pilot bushing, bolting hardware and instructions. These sell for $595 plus shipping.

There have been a few of these done, mostly in pickups and most seem happy with it and are using the Canadian 1.9TD AAZ engines. If you are wanting to use a TDI they are a bit more complicated than the earlier model diesels due to VW's immobilization and wiring. Below is a link to a toyota forum where a few diesel conversions have been done in the toyota trucks.

you may have to copy and paste the links to get them to work




http://www.toyotadiesel.com/phpBB2/v...d45724eb8f419d

http://www.yotatech.com/f162/vw-diesel-build-up-135203/

Here are a few links to a 2001 TDI in a 4x4 pickup

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...0&highlight=vw

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...=814008&page=2


Here is another link for a 2x4 model build and a 4 runner

http://bbs.zuwharrie.com/content/topic,48503.0.html

http://bbs.zuwharrie.com/content/topic,48959.0.html

Lawrence Hacking takes Acme to Dakar 2010 with 1.9TD and toyota 5 speed
http://www.lawrencehacking.com/specialprojects.htm
http://offroadracecanada.com/lawrenc...kar-2010-rally

let me know if you have any other questions

Regards
Jeff Kerr
www.acmeadapters.com
VW Conversions for your Suzuki Samurai and Sidekick
tcxtreme1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2010, 04:24 PM   #16
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcxtreme1000 View Post
That sounds good. Can you do a mtdi on any of the newer like 96 and up.
the motor I have is from a 2000....so yes...there are a few building the pumps...the best guy is out of canada(he is also the most expensive)
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.31350 seconds with 71 queries