Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 3rd, 2010, 08:54 PM   #1
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
oil pressure problem

My oil pressure on my truck is showing low on the gauge. (95 f150 5.8l)
The needle does not move wether it is idling or running down the highway.

Yesterday it was in the middle of the gauge in the normal, now it is to the left of it.
Sometimes it junps right back up to normal though, then drops back down and stays there, even though there is no change in speed or rpms

Any ideas?
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2010, 08:57 PM   #2
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,584
iTrader: (15)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
I'd say oil pressure isn't your problem...
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2010, 08:58 PM   #3
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
the sensor? The wires? The gauge maybe?
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2010, 09:58 PM   #4
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
remove the wire from the sender and ground it...see if the guage goes all the way up, or only goes halfway. Ford has used a retarded setup that used a resistor on the back of the guage so it would only go to the halfway point, and then used an oil pressure switch (not a sender, it is either on or off)

Im not sure if your truck would have that or not

If it does, it can easily be converted to a true guage by removing the resistor and replacing the oil pressure switch with a sender...wiring all stays the same
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 03:47 PM   #5
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
Well I removed the wire and the gauge dropped right off, then I attached it to the ground and it was right where it was yesterday. Horray!
So i need to un-solder the resistor on the gauge cluster amd replace the switch on the side of the engine?

it is a 95, if that helps
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 05:08 PM   #6
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
like I said, I'm not sure if your truck would have that system or not, but if it does, then yes, that is all you need to do
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 08:57 AM   #7
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,143
iTrader: (34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
like I said, I'm not sure if your truck would have that system or not, but if it does, then yes, that is all you need to do
this truck does not have that setup, it is an actual sender.

It's located behind the p/s pump,on the block, if you are having trouble locating it.
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 03:37 PM   #8
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
I am under the impression that the gauge is either bad or has a bad ground. I'll take out the gauge cluster and swap in another and see what happens.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 07:52 AM   #9
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 252
iTrader: (1)
Its a ford thing for sure, my 96 is doing the same thing and now it says i have no oil pressure. does anyone no of a spot besides where the sender goes in at to check the oil pressure?
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 03:31 PM   #10
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
i cut off the resistor and soldered the 2 ends together. I then grounded the wire again, and it only goes to halfway. Perhaps the gauge is stuck there or that is as far as it goes?
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 05:39 PM   #11
chevyk10
Ford/Chevy guy!
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell / Ann Arbor
Posts: 803
iTrader: (0)
Its a Ford thing, the oil pressure gauges always go bad in the 90's Fords. Same thing happend to my 95, 89, and my 94 F150 and the gauge would be all over the place. I would just get a manual gauge.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14054 seconds with 34 queries