Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:27 PM   #1
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
Exclamation full size 8.8 diffrence

iv got an 8.8 out of a 96 f150 that has the 5on5.5 bolt pattern to match my front 44, I picked up a freebi 8.8 out of another f150 and the bolt patern is a little diffrent, but i believe this to be caused by the 7/16 stud size verse my 1/2 can i just put in dffrent studs and then the shafts will all have matching bolt paterns for spares of did i just pick up another lawn ornament? is there somthing im over looking?


also can i use explorer disk brakes and have the rotors redrilled to 5on5.5 to swap onto the fullsize8.8 backing plate to switch over to disk brakes?

thanks for any inout
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:34 PM   #2
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,001
iTrader: (75)
change studs and redrill rotors yes, calipers yes as well.
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:36 PM   #3
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
change the studs on the new 8.8 to match the other 8.8 or??
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:38 PM   #4
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,001
iTrader: (75)
change the studs to match your 44.
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:43 PM   #5
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
alright thats what i figured wanted to make sure that would work before i spent the money on studs..... what did u build another 44 for?
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 09:55 PM   #6
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,001
iTrader: (75)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew91xj View Post
alright thats what i figured wanted to make sure that would work before i spent the money on studs..... what did u build another 44 for?
got rid of all my big parts, putting a 35" jeep together until after the wedding and move then build one from scratch and still be able to wheel this one.
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 10:05 PM   #7
demon-fx4
03 FX4 LEVEL II on 32 KM2
 
demon-fx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Comstock Park, MI
Posts: 732
iTrader: (1)
u should have got a 31 spline 8.8 4.10 gears with disc brakes off the back of a explorer
demon-fx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 10:08 PM   #8
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,001
iTrader: (75)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Demon II View Post
u should have got a 31 spline 8.8 4.10 gears with disc brakes off the back of a explorer
slow your roll big boy before you know what you think about his build. He is full width jeep with 5.13's!
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 10:16 PM   #9
demon-fx4
03 FX4 LEVEL II on 32 KM2
 
demon-fx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Comstock Park, MI
Posts: 732
iTrader: (1)
lol oh well nevermind srry i didn't see a pic of it in that case u should have got my dana 60 or my dana 44 lol
demon-fx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 11:47 AM   #10
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
lol no big deal not alot of ppl i have seen run fullsize 8.8's.... but i understand where yor coming fom that what i would have done eventualy but got a decent deal on fullwidth matching axles so i picked those up instead
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 11:49 AM   #11
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
got rid of all my big parts, putting a 35" jeep together until after the wedding and move then build one from scratch and still be able to wheel this one.


should have said somthing i might have been able to come up with a matcing set lol......hope this one gets finished....you still using the yj tub or did ya pick up a diffrent chasis
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 12:10 PM   #12
demon-fx4
03 FX4 LEVEL II on 32 KM2
 
demon-fx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Comstock Park, MI
Posts: 732
iTrader: (1)
cool cool lol and i'm getting mad cuz no one will buy my axles and engine lol i need cash
demon-fx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 12:11 PM   #13
demon-fx4
03 FX4 LEVEL II on 32 KM2
 
demon-fx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Comstock Park, MI
Posts: 732
iTrader: (1)
and do u have a pic of ur rig
demon-fx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 12:22 PM   #14
blade262us
Senior Member
 
blade262us's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-10
Location: Grant/MI
Posts: 255
iTrader: (6)
Bolt pattern

1997 up F150 ford 8.8,s are 5 on 135mm thats why it doesnt fit the same . The studs are metric .
blade262us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 12:31 PM   #15
95Bronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-25-10
Location: Sturgis MI
Posts: 829
iTrader: (9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade262us View Post
1997 up F150 ford 8.8,s are 5 on 135mm thats why it doesnt fit the same . The studs are metric .
Beat me to it.

You can add exp disks to the fullsize axle...Some on Fullsizebronco.com have done it. I'll try to find a link to the write up
95Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 09:31 PM   #16
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
red demon: its the one on my avatar pics axles arnt in it yet hopfully in a few weeks going to twisted the 24 of july for a first run...


blade and bronco: can the half inch studs be pressed in to make it match of was it drilled slightly diffrent? any additional help would be appreciated
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 10:14 PM   #17
demon-fx4
03 FX4 LEVEL II on 32 KM2
 
demon-fx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Comstock Park, MI
Posts: 732
iTrader: (1)
nice rig
demon-fx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 10:51 PM   #18
95Bronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-25-10
Location: Sturgis MI
Posts: 829
iTrader: (9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew91xj View Post
red demon: its the one on my avatar pics axles arnt in it yet hopfully in a few weeks going to twisted the 24 of july for a first run...


blade and bronco: can the half inch studs be pressed in to make it match of was it drilled slightly diffrent? any additional help would be appreciated
I would imagine you can just pull the shafts them selves and swap those into the newer axle.

I would be complicated to re-drill I would imagine. At least to the point it would be cheaper to either use the earlier shafts or get a set of earlier shafts. I've got the new and old pattern at home So I'll have to check when I get home.
95Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 11:04 PM   #19
blade262us
Senior Member
 
blade262us's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-10
Location: Grant/MI
Posts: 255
iTrader: (6)
Axles

Yeah the pattern is off completely so you would have to redril in the blank spots . If they are the same length as the older ones you could just swap in the older axles like mentioned before . Who knows why ford did this they did the same thing on the superduty went from the old standard 8 on 6.5 to 8 on 170mm just enough to mess it up .
blade262us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 08:20 AM   #20
drew91xj
Senior Member
 
drew91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-06
Location: fremont, michigan
Posts: 1,726
iTrader: (9)
Send a message via MSN to drew91xj
so basicaly the shafts are diffrent and cant be used as spares in my 96 axle...that sucks looks like iv got another lawn ornament...plus side the brakes are good so i can swap those i guess right?..

red demon thanks, it will be better when i get these axles under there and into my rust free 4 dr thanks again buddy
drew91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14481 seconds with 50 queries