Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:26 AM   #1
noon_crue
Member
 
noon_crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-09
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 73
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 4.3l blazer issue

I'm having an issue with my 96 blazer. Its been acting up ever since I did a tune up on it. Here is what it is doing:

It's misfiring on slow acceleration between 2500 and 3500 rpm. It's running rich as well. It only started doing it after I changed the spark plugs, wire, cap and rotor. It's not bad but its affecting performance and fuel economy. No I don't have the wires on wrong. It's throwing PO154 code (o2 sensor bank 2 sensor 1 no activity detected) I changed the o2 sensors in december. and I switched the sensors around and the code is still there, so I know it's not the sensor. So far to date, I have cleaned my EGR valve, replaced the fuel filter, PCV valve, temperature coolant sensor, cleaned the connections on the o2 sensor plugs, and cleaned the TPS sensor.

I have posted on s10 and blazer forum, and the only things people have told me to try are the things I have replaced. I can't think of anything else to try to correct this problem. No matter how many times I clear the code, it keeps coming back too. So if someone could PLEASE give me something to go on, that would be MUCH appreciated.
noon_crue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:34 AM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well if it did it after doing a tune up and didn't do it before then maybe you have a problem with your tune up parts.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:38 AM   #3
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would go right back to the beginning...you stated you did a tune up on it and then it started running bad! Double check, triple check and even quadruple check everything. I have seen many people complain that their vehicle don't run right after a tune up, many times a plug wire is not on all the way, bad plug wire even though it is brand new, burnt plug wire because they did not use wire separators and keep them away from manifold/header, used cheap parts or wrong parts, ect, ect. Put all your old parts back on and see what happens!
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:39 AM   #4
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,078
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
well if it did it after doing a tune up and didn't do it before then maybe you have a problem with your tune up parts.
x2 and my 99 kept throwing that code for the o2 too and the wire had fallen on the manifold an melted
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:46 AM   #5
noon_crue
Member
 
noon_crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-09
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 73
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i thought so too. but I"m friends with the manager at my local parts store, and he looked at it, and he sent me to his buddy's shop and they couldn't find anything wrong with the wires plugs, cap or rotor. Cause I thought it might be the rotor arcing on the cap. But there was no sign of it. And the wires aren't arcing either. I just can't keep affording to sink money into it right now. Parts for this truck over here in Canada seem to be twice as much as in the States. I'm just hoping its not something really expensive or a dealer only part.
noon_crue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:49 AM   #6
noon_crue
Member
 
noon_crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-09
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 73
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaterk5 View Post
x2 and my 99 kept throwing that code for the o2 too and the wire had fallen on the manifold an melted
was it the wire on the sensor, or the wiring on the truck itself? cause thats going to be the next thing I'm gonna check.
noon_crue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:49 AM   #7
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noon_crue View Post
I just can't keep affording to sink money into it right now. Parts for this truck over here in Canada seem to be twice as much as in the States.
Ummmm that's why I said put old parts back on and see what happens.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2010, 05:03 AM   #8
noon_crue
Member
 
noon_crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-09
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 73
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well since most of the part changes were last month or before, i dont have any of the old parts
noon_crue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2010, 05:26 PM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,382
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Water...

...you need to use some on the plugs and wires. I would bet you have a cracked plug insulator. do it in the evening when the suns down or in a garage. I use a 2 liter pop bottle with about 1/8" hole poked in the top. hose down the wires and watch for sparks and cracking noises. get in close to the plugs and spray what you can get to. if you get one that really goes bad then you may have found your culprit
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 01:44 AM   #10
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,078
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noon_crue View Post
was it the wire on the sensor, or the wiring on the truck itself? cause thats going to be the next thing I'm gonna check.
the clip broke and the wire truck's harness fell on to it which is why we went through 2 befor we started looking around and found that but it did not cause a miss on mine
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.12618 seconds with 30 queries