Washed motor, fried something! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2010, 09:12 PM   #1
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Washed motor, fried something!

Haveing some issues with the 5.7 vortec in my jeep! I washed the mud out from under the hood a couple weekends ago! Drove my rig out to my pole barn and parked it for the week. Went to drive it up town last weekend and when I try to go down the road it spits and sputters. Sitting in neutral, it will rev fine, but when you put it in gear and put a load on it, the sputtering begins! It will start, and idle fine. I just went out and started it and shut the lights off in the shop. I see a little bit of arching on the coil! I'm thinkin i'll start with a new coil! Any other good idea's? It's got new rotor, plugs, wires. the motor came out of a 98 chevy pick-up. Help, please!!!
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 19th, 2010, 09:18 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

if you have been in the mud and got it on the plug wires just spray them down with some silicone spray while its turned off. do not do it running. it uses propane and is flammable while in the air. I used to carry a can when snow plowing. once in a great while I would get into light mud and splash it up on my wires. if there any mineral in the dirt like salt or others stuff it will short the wires. dunno why but the spray helps. if it cure yours I suggest a better grade of wires if its a regular to the mud.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 09:35 PM   #3
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

x2 on the wires being bad.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 09:44 PM   #4
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I dont go purposely mud bogging, but I do charge a few mud puddles from time to time! I got the plug wires at Autozone, I think they are Duralast. Not top of the line, I know! I would'nt think I should be seeing any spark around the coil, witch I am!
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 07:15 AM   #5
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

change that coil wire and see if your problem goes away. either the wire is bad or the coil could be cracked.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 08:06 AM   #6
OL RED
workin hard to play hard
 
OL RED's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: look behind you ;) or sanford
Posts: 778
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to OL RED
Default

buy it all new acdelco shit and then listen to it purrrr. i dont know why but mine runs like shit unless its got delcos. just a gm thing i guess
OL RED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 10:46 AM   #7
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OL RED View Post
buy it all new acdelco shit and then listen to it purrrr. i dont know why but mine runs like shit unless its got delcos. just a gm thing i guess
x2
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 07:15 PM   #8
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Put new coil on it, still runs like shit! I still have My old plug wires, maybe i'll go swap coil wires.
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 08:46 PM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

as an example I once had a battery fall into the fan on my car. it wasn't tied down and the case got a tiny hole in it. I didn't think much of it at the time. by the time I got home the car was running like crap. I thought I had blown a head gasket it ran so bad. I said screw it and tore off the heads and redid both head gaskets in about 7-8 hours with hand tools. by the time I went to restart it. it was now dark out. as I tried to start it the whole top of the distributor lite up with a blue halo. I couldn't get it to run any better then it had before the heads were pulled. I turned it off and sprayed it down the wires with silicone. it took right off and ran. no blue halo. come to find out I had just enough dirt and battery acid to short the whole ignition system out and the wires were like new. I have since saved myself many times over remembering this and it works well. its one the first things I try on stuff that doesn't run right with no solid explanation.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 08:55 PM   #10
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Still haveing trouble! Sprayed cap and wires with silicone, no change. Checked spark on all plugs, good. Changed fuel filter. sprayed intake with carb cleaner to check for intake leak, no change in idle speed. swapped maf sensor and tps sensor off my buddys truck, no change. Last time it threw a code, (maf sensor input low), and (#4 cyl. missfire). That was before I swapped out the maf sensor. It's really starten to piss Me off! I just might have to break down and take it to a shop with a computer. It's makeing a weird chirping sound on the front of the motor, can't figure that out either! Sometimes It seems to run ok, other times I have to jack the throttle off to keep it going. Any more idea's! Maybe a bad ground?
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2010, 11:22 PM   #11
fatty6042
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: Flat rock
Posts: 133
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

did u take the cap off and see if there is water inside it sounds like there is
fatty6042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2010, 09:01 AM   #12
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No water anywhere! I just dropped it off at a shop with a fancy computer. Hopefully they can tell Me what to fix next.
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2010, 09:06 AM   #13
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,193
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatty6042 View Post
did u take the cap off and see if there is water inside it sounds like there is
x2

Spray down the entire inside of the cap and rotor with WD-40, it should displace any water that may be in there.

Many times you can't see the moisture, but it is there no the less
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 03:12 PM   #14
Judo
Science Patrol
 
Judo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-26-10
Location: Pinckney
Posts: 130
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Last time I had issue like that it was my O2 sensor. I know that that diagnosis doesn't seem to fit given the wet engine. I would think ignition specifically the cap and rotor. But My old truck has bad O2 and would idle fine but put any load on it and it hogged right down.

X2 on the Delco parts

Please report back what you find....
Judo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 10:01 AM   #15
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,116
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

if its an early vortec it might be the injectors.
skife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 10:23 AM   #16
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judo View Post
Last time I had issue like that it was my O2 sensor. I know that that diagnosis doesn't seem to fit given the wet engine. I would think ignition specifically the cap and rotor. But My old truck has bad O2 and would idle fine but put any load on it and it hogged right down.

X2 on the Delco parts

Please report back what you find....
x2 on the O2 sensor just went through the same shit on my XJ
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 10:38 AM   #17
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinking View Post
No water anywhere! I just dropped it off at a shop with a fancy computer. Hopefully they can tell Me what to fix next.
my curiosity is peaked. I will be waiting to hear what they found.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 06:58 PM   #18
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I found out I have the old problematic injectors! I talked to Jim at Jims performance and told him My issues and he asked what injectors I have. Sounds like I'm going to have to buy the new style! Whats another $320 anyways! Wifes pissed! I'll keep ya all posted.
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 10:39 PM   #19
rinking
rinking
 
Join Date: 03-21-09
Location: Gaylord/mich
Posts: 195
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

New injectors, didn't help! Did compression test, 140-145 in all 8. did a fuel pressure test, When I turn the key on to cycle the fuel pump it spikes to 60 psi and then drops to 55 psi. When the motor is running it stays around 51-52 psi! My book says 60-66 psi. Is My pump on its way out?
rinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 11:10 PM   #20
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,762
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is there a relay or fuse link under the hood that could have water in it?
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.35121 seconds with 80 queries