Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:24 PM   #1
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default How can you tell for sure when i torque convertor is bad?

I have a 94 Dodge Ram that i recently had the motor rebuilt. The truck idles and runs fine except i just don't have any power at low rpms. I was told by the guy who tuned it that it could be the o2 sensors or the torque convertor. It's not throwing any codes so i don't think it's the o2's.
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:25 PM   #2
BAD93SBLZR
HILLBILLYWAY
 
BAD93SBLZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-09
Location: Kawkawlin, Michigan
Posts: 847
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you need to post more info than that
BAD93SBLZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:37 PM   #3
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's a 318 30 over fuel injected "computer's been tuned" comp cam that is slightly bigger than stock....i have to find the info on the cam. I believe the heads were ported...i have to look into that also. I had the motor built 3 yrs ago but recently was able to finish getting it together. I rebuilt the motor because it was wore out and i could practically turn the crank over by hand
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:46 PM   #4
JimNut
Senior Member
 
JimNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-09
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 572
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I am good friends with Matt and know the truck pretty well and the problems he is having. The motor is a 318 magnum with a slightly larger than stock lift (Matt should be able to post specs on the cam if needed). The truck runs smooth at idle and is running on all 8 cylinders. At low RPM's when you take off the truck will barely get out of its own way. For example if your stopped/going really slow on loose gravel and floor the truck it wont even spin the tires. (35" all terrains w/ 4.11 gears). In the upper RPMS the truck picks up fairly well but still does not feel like it should IMO.

Matt had heard that it could be a bad torque converter. (the truck sat outside for over a year with the torque converter in the bed of the truck and exposed to the elements) Could a bad torque converter cause these type of issues? I have a feeling that its the fuel injection system not function properly but it is not throwing and codes and the gentleman that tuned it said all of the parameters are in spec and look correct. The truck just doesn't have any power.

Hope this information helps.
JimNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 09:32 PM   #5
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sorry guys it took me so long I have a cam with a .480 lift it's an xtreme energy comp cam
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 09:53 PM   #6
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,132
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Converter or trans could be bad. You could do a slip test to check for sure.

Gently put the front bumper against an imovable object such as a telephone pole or large tree. Put the truck in gear and slowly accelerate. If the truck starts squeeling the rear tires or stalls out, the problem is not in the converter or trans. If the truck continues to go up in RPM's but does not feel like it is pushing, you have a bad convertor or slippage in the trans.
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 06:22 PM   #7
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I"ll check that out this week thanks!
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 06:17 AM   #8
ohiocowboy1277
the master of disaster
 
Join Date: 03-18-10
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

a better way to check it would be just to 2 foot it like your trying to power brake it if it overpowers the rear brakes the trans and torque converter are fine if it continues to rev you got a prob. does it do it all the time ? or just when hot ? or just cold ? does it rev up quick but just take off slow ? or does it take a little bit to rev and seem like its working hard to accelerate?
ohiocowboy1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 05:27 PM   #9
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It revs up and doesn't wanna stall out just won't spin the tires
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 11:23 PM   #10
ohiocowboy1277
the master of disaster
 
Join Date: 03-18-10
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well then its either the trans or torque converter im leaning more towards the torque converter myself
ohiocowboy1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 11:53 PM   #11
4RDtough
Senior Member
 
4RDtough's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-08
Location: mi
Posts: 291
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You just got the thing running after being rebuilt? as in first time since the motor was fired up? Did you see the timing chain install? A retarded cam can make no power and idle fine. I know converters go bad but i have never really seen one. How high does it rev when your stall it up 1500 rpm? 3500 rpm? If its only stalling stock rpms but not turnin the tires over could be just lack of power? We had a v10 rebuilt by a guy and both timing chains were retarded 20 or so degrees and it ran but was super lower on power till 5000 rpm plus. Idled great.
4RDtough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2010, 09:47 PM   #12
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's been running for a few months. I haven't been driving it much due to the leaks i'm working out. I don't think it's the trans or torque convertor anymore it's definitely lacking power right now. I didn't see the timing chain installed. I didn't look at the rpm's when i did it but i can tell you for sure it wasn't very high maybe 2200 rpms if that.
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2010, 05:58 AM   #13
ohiocowboy1277
the master of disaster
 
Join Date: 03-18-10
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the rpms changes things a little if it was reving way high like 4 -5000 rpmd i would say trans or torque converter but since you posted that it was around 2200 its not either one . definetly sounds like more of a timing issue as someone else mentioned . check the spark plugs also they should be a tan or grayish tan color if they are black and sooty it is running rich white and blistered looking it is lean . if plugs look ok then check the timing and set it at either the cam manufaturers or factory specs if that is ok then check cam timing make sure the engine is at tdc on the compression stroke then check to make sure that both dots are lined up with each other . some cams do like to be either up to 3 degrees advanced or retarded again check with cam manufacturer for their reccomendations. also check for vacuum leaks bad sensors trouble codes and do a compression check and check for exhaust restrictions . what cam did u use ? if you used a big cam with a rough idle but otherwise stock rebuild parts you will hurt your power more than help it because a stock engine will never see a high enough rpm to be within the cams power band and as a result will hurt your low rpm and mid range power
ohiocowboy1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2010, 12:32 PM   #14
Matt1104
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Sterling Heights MI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1104 View Post
Sorry guys it took me so long I have a cam with a .480 lift it's an xtreme energy comp cam
That's the kind of cam that I had used. The motor is .30 over with the a little bit of head work done "i'd have to look at the paperwork to see what was exactly done to it".....i'm not too impressed witht the guy that put it together....i keep springing leaks and finding little things wrong.
Matt1104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2010, 12:15 AM   #15
ohiocowboy1277
the master of disaster
 
Join Date: 03-18-10
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you are having probs with leaks and stuff I would say he probably did a halfa$$ job on the build and i would be taking it back and making him fix it or getting atleast some of the money back ad then pulling it apart and fixing his mess ups . i am thinking given the info you have on here that it is an engine prob most likely the cam is out of time . The engine that is in my 78 I built myself about 10 years ago and it still does not leak 1 drop of anything and i have not pulled anything apart on it since it was built .
ohiocowboy1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17340 seconds with 40 queries