D30 Axle swap - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 20th, 2010, 08:32 PM   #21
thrca
UberGeek
 
thrca's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 569
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

a nice sized cheater. The crush sleeve requires about 400 ft lbs to crush.
thrca is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 20th, 2010, 08:33 PM   #22
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,084
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lastmanstandin View Post
Cool deal!
Well I'm getting the gears and master install kit. Is there any special tools I am going to need?

Yes.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 08:35 PM   #23
Jesse-James
Midwest Mudslinger
 
Jesse-James's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-21-08
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrca View Post
a nice sized cheater. The crush sleeve requires about 400 ft lbs to crush.
HP D30 uses preload shims, LP uses crush sleeve.
Jesse-James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 09:04 PM   #24
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse-James View Post
Dial indicator & magnetic base.
I have access ta a dial indicator but no magnetic base...
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 09:06 PM   #25
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrca View Post
a nice sized cheater. The crush sleeve requires about 400 ft lbs to crush.
Got that covered...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
Yes.
Thanks....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse-James View Post
HP D30 uses preload shims, LP uses crush sleeve.
Are the preload shims easier to work with then the crush sleeve?
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 03:28 PM   #26
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Well got my gears and master install kit, gonna read the directions and see if I can do this...
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 11:54 AM   #27
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

What can I use for gear marking compound?
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:17 PM   #28
thrca
UberGeek
 
thrca's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 569
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm not going to try and talk you out of anything, but I have been working on my own stuff for many years, and gears are the one thing I always take to a shop because its very difficult to do them right, and quite costly if you do them wrong.
thrca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:49 PM   #29
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrca View Post
I'm not going to try and talk you out of anything, but I have been working on my own stuff for many years, and gears are the one thing I always take to a shop because its very difficult to do them right, and quite costly if you do them wrong.
I hear ya. But I don't have much into this so if I fukc it up it really won't be that costly. I'm going to take my time and not rush anything. The yukon directions say a novice can do it...
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:54 PM   #30
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,342
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lastmanstandin View Post
What can I use for gear marking compound?
A "master install kit" should have gear marking compound.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:55 PM   #31
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlockBlazer View Post
A "master install kit" should have gear marking compound.
Yea I just went out and opened it up and it does, also has a paint brush and a bunch of other shit.
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 04:41 PM   #32
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Well this might be a little more complicated then I thought....But I'll figure it out. The booklet tells me what needs to be done but not how to do it. Does this axle have shims or a crush sleeve? I can't find shims anywhere.





lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 05:32 PM   #33
thrca
UberGeek
 
thrca's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 569
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lastmanstandin View Post
Shims
thrca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 06:14 PM   #34
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Ya I figured out what the shims are after a couple hours of looking on line. I wish I could find a step by step tutorial, that would make it alot easier.
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:06 PM   #35
thrca
UberGeek
 
thrca's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 569
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I looked at the yukon installation guide and its pretty much step by step. Like most things involving gears, it assumes you kinda know what you are doing. (Same with locker installation guides)
thrca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:06 PM   #36
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

How do I meassure pinion depth? From what I understand you get your depth from meassuring from centerline of the ring gear to pinion face. What I want to know is how do I do this without the ring gear in there?
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:10 PM   #37
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,004
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

rough idea here

http://www.superchevy.com/technical/...ten/index.html
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:18 PM   #38
HVYRTFT
Reed my teef
 
HVYRTFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-07
Location: Whitehall,MI
Posts: 2,441
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lastmanstandin View Post
I hear ya. But I don't have much into this so if I fukc it up it really won't be that costly. I'm going to take my time and not rush anything. The yukon directions say a novice can do it...
judging by your past posts, I am guessing you don't have the experience to install gears CORRECTLY. And If you do fukc it up, it actually will be costly. It may not explode the month or so after you 'install' them, but it eventually will.
HVYRTFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:20 PM   #39
thrca
UberGeek
 
thrca's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 569
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Which means new gears, new carrier, new bearings, possibly new axle shafts, possible new differential, and depending what speed you are going, if it locks up completely, possibly new transfer case and transmission. But yet, thats not much into it.
thrca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 09:40 PM   #40
lastmanstandin
EvL 1
 
lastmanstandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-09
Location: Coldwater Michigan
Posts: 3,566
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to lastmanstandin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVYRTFT View Post
judging by your past posts, I am guessing you don't have the experience to install gears CORRECTLY. And If you do fukc it up, it actually will be costly. It may not explode the month or so after you 'install' them, but it eventually will.
I believe I can install them correctly if I can get the information I need and take my time and do it right. Everyone has to learn sometime and I have alot of faith in myself. If I could get answers to my questions I could have it done by tomarrow....


Quote:
Originally Posted by thrca View Post
Which means new gears, new carrier, new bearings, possibly new axle shafts, possible new differential, and depending what speed you are going, if it locks up completely, possibly new transfer case and transmission. But yet, thats not much into it.
To be honest with you it really doesn't matter if the whole jeep blew up, I have less then a thosand into it Not that I would want that to happen.

I understand that this is a job that requires alot of knowledge but it's by no means hard.........
lastmanstandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.24578 seconds with 80 queries