Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 17th, 2010, 07:45 PM   #1
cmays03
BUILD BY ME NOT BOUGHT!
 
Join Date: 02-20-09
Location: frankenmuth
Posts: 472
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Temp gauge question

Ok I want to put a trans temp gauge in my off road rig and was wondering if a normal temp gauge will work or if you have to get the trans temp gauge one? The normal trans temp gauge is 1/3 the price of the trans temp and really dont want to spend that much if i dont have too. thanks
cmays03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 07:49 PM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the only difference i know of is that temp gauges usually stop at 260. trans gauges go to 300.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 08:03 PM   #3
cmays03
BUILD BY ME NOT BOUGHT!
 
Join Date: 02-20-09
Location: frankenmuth
Posts: 472
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah but the trans shouldnt get that hot anyways thou right. mine dd never gets over 170 and thats with hauling heavy loads
cmays03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 08:36 PM   #4
jbsjunk
Cop Rated
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 12,885
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

With all the Auto-meter gauges I've done, the only difference I've seen is the gauge face. It's the same sender for water, trans, etc and the temp gauges have the same temp range, at least the ones I've used. There are obviously electric. Mechanical still wouldn't be a problem other than where to plumb the probe. You can get a block that would go inline with your trans cooler lines. Or you can weld a bung in the pan.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 09:24 PM   #5
cmays03
BUILD BY ME NOT BOUGHT!
 
Join Date: 02-20-09
Location: frankenmuth
Posts: 472
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well i have a aftermarket trans cooler so i was going to make a block and run the lines thru that and then the sender to it also. just wanted to make sure before i went and bought another temp gauge and it didnt work and then have to go buy the trans one. Thanks guess i will make that block tomorrow and get that installed. I'll post on there once i get everything done and cant test it out. that should be awhile since i dont have the motor or anything in it yet and still have to build my motor. thanks for the info thou.
cmays03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 08:27 AM   #6
phittie1100
Senior Member
 
phittie1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-26-05
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 1,772
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Not sure how much cheaper a water temp gauge is, but I just picked up a kit at NAPA - wiring, t-connection for the sender and gauge for $55 or so, universal fit.
__________________
Paul - 2005 Wrangler Unlimited
KD8PAV
phittie1100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 11:34 AM   #7
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,172
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmays03 View Post
well i have a aftermarket trans cooler so i was going to make a block and run the lines thru that and then the sender to it also. just wanted to make sure before i went and bought another temp gauge and it didnt work and then have to go buy the trans one. Thanks guess i will make that block tomorrow and get that installed. I'll post on there once i get everything done and cant test it out. that should be awhile since i dont have the motor or anything in it yet and still have to build my motor. thanks for the info thou.
for the most accurate info, you trans temp gauge sender should be located in the pan
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 12:46 PM   #8
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,470
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsumotorhead View Post
for the most accurate info, you trans temp gauge sender should be located in the pan
I have always scene/thought it should be in the "hot" line coming from the tranny.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 04:46 PM   #9
jbsjunk
Cop Rated
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 12,885
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

For all of the electric gauges I've done, I've used one of the test ports on the trans. Unscrew the plug and screw the sender in. They make a short sender for limited depth applications.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10299 seconds with 28 queries